2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8L V6 from North America


This car is a very good value for a sporty mid-sized sedan


The only major problem I have had with this car was an exhaust gas recirculation valve that went bad around 50,000 miles. It cost around $400.00 for repairs.

The upholstery right in front of the brackets for the driver's seat started to wear after less than two years, but the floor mat covers it.

General Comments:

The 200-hp 3.8 liter V-6 has plenty of power for quick acceleration and passing on the freeway.

The car handles better than any other vehicle I have ever owned, and the ride is pretty smooth considering the tight suspension.

The brakes work very well -- I've hardly ever had to use the anti-lock brakes, and the anti-locks work like a charm.

One downside is an annoying buzz produced by the exhaust that is very noticeable on acceleration.

I spent the extra $500.00 for the Bose premium sound system and it was worth it!

The leather seats are very comfortable, even on hot days.

The trunk leaves something to be desired. It has a very small capacity and most large boxes/suitcases/crates, etc., don't fit.

Surprisingly, this car is very good on gas. I average around 25 miles to the gallon overall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2005

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 from North America


This car could be lighter


The transmission has had problems with the valve body. The main computer blew, but dealer fixed for free. Catalytic converter went, but also was fixed by the dealer of purchase for free. Front brakes went faster than expected. torque converter whines at almost 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car overall is an awesome vehicle. It just wants to be modded. Aftermarket parts are expensive, but well worth the cost. The car loves to spin tires when appropriately floored.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2005

24th Mar 2005, 12:45

You must have a great dealer who keeps fixing this car for free after you have been beating the hell out of it...

13th Jul 2005, 15:20

Hey, whats the VIN on your car? I just want to make sure I don't buy it after someones bean burning up the tires. That kind of regular abuse on a front wheel drive is not good. Especially with higher miles.

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 from North America


A good looking sport touring car


Replaced battery twice at 10000 and 15000 miles free of charge.

Recalled and repaired for possible coolant leak at 20000 miles free of charge.

No other problems to date.

General Comments:

This car is large and heavy and a bit under powered with it's 3.8 liter engine. Just not feeling the advertised 200hp.

Gas mileage is about 26 highway and 18 city, also less than advertised, but decent for such a large mid size.

It's the absolute best handling car I ever owned and also the roomiest. It's very fatigue free driving on long trips and surprisingly quite also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2004

27th Aug 2006, 21:39

I have my permit and I drive my moms 2001 Grand Prix... i really like it, the gas gauge has broken on it, lol, but it still runs nicely. Minor Problems, with 106,000+ miles on it.

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix SE from North America


Not the most reliable car thus far


First transmission went at 39,000.

Second transmission went at 70,000. Currently being replaced as we speak.

General Comments:

I purchased this car used in July of 2002 and have to say that I really enjoyed this car. It drove nice, handled well and was comfortable for myself and my family and all in all seemed like a good purchase.

I encountered my first problem at about 39,000. The transmission became noisy and upon inspection, it was found to be defective and was replaced.

Now here I am once again at 70,000 having the transmission replaced once again. This time there was no "noise" but I could feel the hesitation as my car would attempt to shift.

Needless to say, I am not thrilled at the fact of having two transmissions replaced within 11,000 miles and I'm keeping my finger crossed that this will be the last of my "major" issues with this car. Hard to say whether this was a "Pontiac" issure or just poor work by the dealership.

As far as handling, comfort and enjoyment (transmission problems aside) I really did like this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th May, 2004

25th May 2004, 12:47

I owned a GP SE and I haven't had any trans. problems.

3rd Jun 2004, 06:20

I have a 2001 Pontiac grand prix se... My problem is a ticking noise in the engine... I noticed it at 13,000 miles,let the dealership know. They found nothing. Again at 31,000, I brought it to another Pontiac dealership, again they heard nothing. Now at 49,000 miles, they hear the noise. They say the engine will have to be disassembled and rebuilt. At a cost between $3,000.00 and $4,000.00. Of course my warranty is no longer valid. I am dealing with Pontiac corporate customer service now. If the dealerships had dealt with the problem when I brought it to their attention, I wouldn't be going through all this grief now...