2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP supercharged from North America


Next best thing to a man


HUD is 3km out from the dash kilometer display. Also the car makes a strange grinding noise when I first start the car and go into drive. Whether or not my foot is on the gas. Not sure what it could be, it doesn't sound like an engine problem. Brought the car home from the dealership like this, so they should be fixing it. I hope.

General Comments:

I love the car, I used to own a Grand Am and this is like another world.

The ride is excellent, it is like being in an airplane when you accelerate. You don't feel a thing. So far I love it. Lots of room, the leather is great. And love the HUD. Only bad thing is the stereo, it is a little disappointing and I have the Bose system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2001

26th Jan 2002, 08:11

The complaint about a grinding noise at initial acceleration is the Antilock brakes self adjusting. This info is in the 2001 Grand Prix Owner's Manuel that came with the car.

21st Dec 2005, 13:10

I have a grinding noise to when I start moving the car in drive or reverse, so that could be it. I thought it might be a trans problem, so I'm glad there might be another reason. Thanks!

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 V6 200 hp from North America


With looks and power like this, who needs a sports car?!


Well for starters, the right muffler is making a weird noise. I was thinking that something inside of it sounds loose.

Also, when I first move out of a parking spot, as I'm turning the wheel to the left (to bring it back to the center), there is a noise that the steering wheel makes, like if it's rubbing against something. I'm not sure if it's me, but you can tell when a brand new car should make noise and not make noise.

General Comments:

I love the instrument panel, when all the lights are on at night time. Because it's not your everyday normal kind of lighting (other cars have a bright white, or green sort of appeal to them).

The car is so responsive, and powerful.

In a matter of seconds, I'm reaching speeds I couldn't reach, and corners I couldn't handle with any other car. Now I could conquer any highway at unreachable speeds, and brake fast enough before the cops can see me.

The cabin is very comfortable, and in the back seat even more. I'm a heavy set person, and when I was sitting in the back, I had plenty of leg room, hip room, head room (I'm 5"11", 215 by the way), along with 2 other people sitting next to me.

This car is gorgeous on the outside as it is on the inside. I get some much attention from girls with these hot wheels.

The horizontal lines across the tail lights give it that extra sporty look, that just make this car look so much better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2001

30th Aug 2002, 19:51

I have the same problem with the noise turning the wheel to the left and bringing it back to the center. The rubbing noise that the steering wheel makes, or I'm thinking it's one of the steering components has me wondering what it is to if someone has had it fixed please e mail me with the solution at lmpramparo@sympatico.ca GTP rules.

28th Oct 2004, 15:33

According to the owners manual, that rubbing noise when you first start the car and turn the wheel is normal. Obviously, if it's constant while you drive the car, you have a problem.

12th Sep 2005, 13:26

I have a 2000 Pontiac Trans Am that does the same thing, but it's when I curve to the right. Everyone has tried to tell me that is is my left front bearing, but after replacing the bearing, rotating the tires and getting a front end alignment, the problem still persists. I even asked GM about it and they said it was a wheel bearing also. So, I would also appreciate it if someone could tell us what the problem is. BTW, I think the Grand Prixs are nice also and just bought a 2001 myself!

9th Jul 2006, 23:09

To the previous comment: Auto Zone will gladly run a free diagnostic on your engine light for you for free. They are great about this type of thing. I had mine checked and was able to easily correct the (very minor) problem myself. Lots of luck.

23rd Oct 2006, 16:28


11th May 2007, 16:16

I also have a 2001 GRAND PR my wife wanted it. I added an extended warranty when we purchased it. Good thing, after 56,000 miles the transmission was replaced. I found that I also had the sound when turning to the left. After replacing the wheel bearing as I was informed by the GOOD WRENCH people needed to be done. It then needed an alignment. However to do so you need a camber kit, because the camber is factory set and cannot be adjusted without the kit. That was $300 I wonder what will be next. But the car really looks nice!