2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8 SC from North America


One sweet ride


Nothing has gone wrong with the car yet, just bought it a month ago.

General Comments:

I love the car. Rides nice, plenty of power, and all kinds of aftermarket goodies to play around with.

I love the display at night, the HUD also is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2003

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 from North America


Just might be my favorite car of all time


CD player jammed first day. Replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Darn fast for a family car.

Factory tires only lasted 35,000. Next set still look decent at 92,000.

Perfect car for me (I'm in sales). Roomy, good trunk.

Comfortable on long trips. Approaches 30MPG even at 70+MPH.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2003

30th May 2006, 06:23

I wrote this review 3 years ago and my car is now at 166,000 and still going strong. I've had a few repairs: both front wheel bearings and brakes & rotors all around. I considered trading it in, but I still like the car so much I decided to keep it on for a while longer and just put 4 new tires on it. Fuel economy is still in the high 20's and just yesterday I took a day-trip with my wife, admittedly driving at a leisurely pace, and got 31MPG -- not bad for a car this size. Now do I invest in a paint job? New England winters can be harsh on the paint.

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1L V6 from North America


Look elsewhere for a vehicle, GM does not get high ranks from me


My engine was just recently replaced (13,500 miles). The engine had a ticking sound for almost 2 years. After several trips and several excuses from the service center, they finally decided that they better do something about it. The major problem was that the 4th cylinder was scored. I have yet to figure out why it took them 2 years to find the problem. So far I haven't had any other problems.

General Comments:

This car's performance is lacking in power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2003

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP Special Edition 3.8 Super Charged from North America


Fast, sporty car that gets lots of looks!


I have had no problems with my Grand Prix GTP.

General Comments:

This is my 13th new auto I have purchased within eleven years and it is by far my favorite!

The comfort and power are unbelievable and the heads up display is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2002

31st Jan 2007, 08:21

I love to dual exhaust, lots of power and plenty of comforts.

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP V6 3.8 Supercharger from North America


Luxury and performance in one beautiful body!


Not a lot of things have gone wrong with it, but a few minor things have. First example is my rear spoiler is retaining water after a hard rain or a car-wash. Second, my heads up display tends to fade every now and then. Finally, I have had to replace my instrument panel due to the difference in the speed of the heads up display and speedometer.

General Comments:

I liked the Grand Prix back in the late 80's, then I really loved them when they changed it to this new body-style.

This car handles great, but can improve with a more sports car minded suspension. I understand that its goal was for touring, but this car has too much power to have that type of suspension.

I love the way the Grand Prix's interior is laid out. It can use a little help in making the interior a bit tougher. What I mean by that is it's fragile trim. It's easy to brake or scratch such as the door trim or hood release. Other than that minor fact, I love the comfort that the Grand Prix offers. Being that I am 6'5, I had to search for the car that I fit most comfortable in and the Grand Prix was a good discision.

The supercharger makes the Grand Prix a great muscle car replacement now that I hear the Camaro and Trans Ams are being discontinued. I also understand that Pontiac plans on making a 300 horsepower Grand Prix to bring the muscle car fanatics a car they can relate to. I am really looking forward to owning one of these beauties.

All in all, the Grand Prix has a little bit of everything under it's belt. The Grand Prix has luxury and performance that has pleased me. I would definitely recomend a Grand Prix to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2002

17th Mar 2004, 10:54

My heads up display dims too when driving. Does anyone know a fix for it other than that great car.

16th Aug 2004, 21:23

I believe that the mirror for it needs to be cleaned or something... But I'm not sure.

21st Dec 2005, 13:03

I had the same problem of my heads up display dimming to. Then one day it decided to quit on me completely. I thought I would need to replace it, but after checking the fuse for it in the passenger side glove box, I found the fuse prongs corroded. I used some sandpaper to get rid of the corrosion and now it works completely fine.