2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 V6 from North America


Luxury sports car that's made for a family, but suits a 17yr old the best


Nothing has gone wrong with the car yet.

General Comments:

I love this car. It's everything I've always wanted. It's silver with black leather interior. It also has a sunroof. This is the best car I've ever had. It's quick and quiet. I really like the head up display because ever since I've got the car I've gone the speed limit. Probably because it makes me conscious of my speed. I love this car and I hope to have it for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2005

2nd Jan 2006, 01:01

I wrote the previous comment on this car. This is an update. Unfortunately, as of December 26th, 2005, I no longer own the 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GT. This is only because I was in a car accident. I was T-boned by a semi-truck and the car was totally destroyed. The short 7 months I owned the car I was good to me. I did have to replace the wheel bearings in the front. Also under a recall, I had to have the catalytic converter replaced. There were a few other minor things wrong, but nothing serious. After replacing the catalytic converter the car was even faster than before. I wouldn't mind owning another Grand Prix, it suited me perfectly.

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 2.6 from North America


Transmissions STINK


TRANSMISSION... My transmission is completely gone and I only have 48500 miles on the car. I have called Pontiac and there is nothing they can do because I am over the Manufacturer's warranty of 36000 miles. The cost of a new Transmission is 2,500 dollars. So my only complaint is that the Transmissions SUCK!! Other than that I LOVE MY CAR.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd May, 2005

20th Dec 2005, 21:48

I agree. My trans went with 52000 miles. Other than that I love the car too. My dad and brother both have GP too, they haven't had any probelms.

16th May 2006, 20:55

I previously owned a 1992 Grand Prix with no problems. 7 months ago I purchased a used 2001 Grand Prix. I love the car. The room, its looks and the power, but I started having transmission problems at about 45,000 miles. So I had it replaced. Well I now have 75,000 miles on the car and yes you guessed it. The transmission is starting to slip again. Now dont you agree that this is a bit excessive? So please GM. Help us working stiffs out. We cant afford this.

15th Jun 2006, 19:46

The transmission of my 2001 Grand Prix went out at 55900 miles. The left front hub bearing and tie rod had to be replaced at 43825 miles. Now, at 67000 miles, the tie rod and hub bearing are making the same popping and grinding sound as before. Back to the dealership. I am also listening very closely again to the transmission as I am sensing that it is not shifting and sounding just right again. I really "baby" this car so the problems are not connected to the way I drive.

12th Oct 2007, 15:05

I've had the same transmission issues with my 2001 Grand Prix GT. It slips when cold, and starts to whine once it's warmed up and shifts really hard. Also, when going up hills, the lock-up torque converter locks and unlocks causing a pulsing in the motion of the car unless I let off the gas and depress the accelerator again.

The dealership replaced the transmission control module and it helped for about 2 weeks, then back to the same problem only worse.

I also have a problem with the ignition in the steering column not turning completely off, so my key is stuck with the car in the "on" position even though it kills the engine. If I tap on the top of the steering column, I hear a click and then I can turn the key in the "off" position. Dealership can't duplicate the problem!!!