1990 Pontiac LeMans Reviews

1990 Pontiac LeMans LX 4 door from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles

Summary:

Cheap piece of junk

Faults:

Fuel system failed - car would jerk uncontrollably in traffic. Required about a $300 fix.

Design issue with brakes. Rotors and pads were replaced in rear for about $300 only to go out again immediately.

Passenger door lock was almost impossible to open/close.

Passenger window was almost impossible to open/close.

A/C went out - a fuse blew that controlled the fan, but after I replaced that the actual unit never seemed to work again either. It would blow but not cold (sucks in Florida).

Battery died.

No pickup at all.

Manual car but didn't come with tachometer.

General Comments:

It was my first car. I paid $1200 for a car that had only 65000 miles and was really clean, so I thought I was getting a nice deal. I put in at least that much money into repairs in the year that I owned it.

I guess it was an OK first car, but it wasn't really reliable. It did get good gas mileage though. Back in 2000 that really didn't matter because gas was cheap, but perhaps that would be a bigger issue now. Either way, I would not recommend the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd May, 2009

22nd May 2009, 19:25

Thanks! If anybody is ever in the market for a 19 year old - Korean built, Opel designed econo-car with a Pontiac nameplate, they will think twice before buying one now.

23rd May 2009, 18:05

Hey the review was for old times' sake. It was my first car, and I bought it by myself with no help from my parents :-) These cars are highly desirable, so it's my responsibility to get the info out to the consumers.

23rd May 2009, 18:57

Actually gas was a lot more expensive in 2000 than it was in the previous years, I remember gas was about $.35 higher in the summer of 2000 than it was in the summer of 1999, 1998 was the last time we've seen gas prices under $1 per gallon.

26th May 2009, 11:15

To 26th May 2009, 07:09 - regarding the "highly desirable"

He was being sarcastic... you were being sarcastic, weren't you?

1990 Pontiac LeMans 4 door sedan 1.6 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

Love it, love it, love it!!!

Faults:

This has been a tank for a little car.

I am very hard on my cars; I use them and abuse them, and this little car has what it took to stay with me... that is till I hit a rock that was probably 1' wide by 2' long, 6" thick, and it destroyed the transmission housing and the pan, but I drove it 50 miles home, stopping every 20 minutes to pour more fluid in the tranny. The car still runs.

I am currently looking for a tranny I can afford for this car... I love my LeMans... I give it an 8.5 overall...

General Comments:

I love this car!!!

I want a new tranny for my LeMans; anyone got a cheap one?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2007

1990 Pontiac LeMans from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles

Summary:

Unreliable

Faults:

Had to replace the alternator twice in a two week span.

The battery died.

The Catalytic Converter fell off.

It overheats fast.

It is leaking anti-freeze and water somewhere.

Headlights went out, due too bad wiring.

Alignment is off horribly.

Replaced brake pads and rotor at 90,000 miles.

It stalls periodically.

General Comments:

This car has been nothing, but problems to fix, and when I do have to fix it, the parts are really difficult to find, since they do not make the parts for it anymore. Although it does start, even in the very cold, it is not a reliable car anymore due to all the problems it has had in the past month and a half. It is not a quick or powerful car, due to the small engine. And, it is very fuel efficient. I guess that's what you get for $600.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th November, 2004

1990 Pontiac LeMans LE 1.6 liter from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles

Summary:

The car is very reliable and pimp-able

Faults:

A week after I got it, my tire almost blew out and I drove 5 miles home on my wires.

My spare tire went flat on me and I had to buy a set of tires for $140.

My thermostat went out and it cost about $8 for a thermostat and $9 for some coolant.

There was a crack in the side of my radiator where the hose is located. J.B. weld fixed it.

General Comments:

There are things that are possible to do to my car to make it look more sporty.

Since they aren't really common cars, I have to order body kits and things from the UK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2004

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews