1990 Pontiac LeMans Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1990 Pontiac LeMans from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carPontiac LeMans

Summary:

Shaped like an egg, runs like it's on crack

Faults:

The power steering hose broke.

The transmission fluid spilled all over the highway.

The gas gauge reads wrong.

It rumbles at 35 mph.

The mirror falls all over the place.

The trunk shelf-thing falls all the time.

General Comments:

This car started out nice, but then things went bad.

I previously owned a 4-door 91 LeMans, now I own a 2-door 90.

I stayed with the kind of car because I like how comfortable it is.

My first LeMans cost me (with the new muffler and repairs) $350.

This "new" one from the dealership cost $1396 (+/- repairs).

I figure, as long as I can drive it to and from school, work, and in the fall, college, then I'll do fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2001

1990 Pontiac LeMans LE V4 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V4 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

Avoid the Pontiac LeMans!!!

Faults:

In the 7 months that we owned it, we replaced the timing belt/chain, muffler, cap, rotor, plugs and wires. Then the head gasket went a month ago. That's when we decided that the car just wasn't worth the money to fix. If we had decided to fix it, it would have needed new brakes.

General Comments:

This car never did run quite right. Sometimes when you would shift reverse to drive, it would stall. It was always very loud and rough which is very surprising for a car with only 77,000 miles.

The only good thing about it was it would always start right up and go, even in very cold weather.

We are trying to sell it, I have been starting it every couple of weeks, and it always started with the first turn of the key. But take my advice, don't buy a Pontiac LeMans

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th September, 2000

29th Sep 2001, 19:39

I have found my Pontiac to be an utterly reliable, high powered car that has never let me down. It has done 135000 miles and looks like it will keep going for a while yet.

GO THE PONTIAC!!!

1990 Pontiac LeMans LE from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Sucks! Sucks! Sucks!

Faults:

Alternator.

More interior plastic bits have come off than I can list, currently suffering from an unknown ailment.

General Comments:

DON'T BUY THIS CAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I've only managed to drive this car 3,000 miles in the year I've owned it -- and yes it has broken down again (now I know why it only had 80,000 miles on it when I bought it - they couldn't get it to go any further). This lemon is once again dead in the water and waiting to suck down more cash. Parts are expensive. Be smart - DON'T BUY ONE!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th September, 2000

16th May 2001, 11:38

I'm trying to change my alternator, but I can't get the alternator belt on!!! Can anybody help me??? None of the major stores have the repair book!!! Any help please email me at talldark6m@hotmail.com

It is a 2.0 1989.

26th May 2001, 11:54

Possible reason as to why LeMans are crap: they are the '84-91 Vauxhall Astra/Opel Kadett (GM Europe) made by Daewoo in Korea. And as my Hyundai has shown, Korean build quality is not up to Japanese or German standards.

Interestingly, LeMans comes out as "Lemons" when this comment was put through this site's spellchecker.

1990 Pontiac LeMans LE from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Gets us from point A to point B

Faults:

Timing belt/chain, and it woldn't start one time because it needed a tuneup. Also, the driver's side lock is stuck and it is going to need new brakes soon.

General Comments:

Good car, gets excellent mileage and has a pretty smooth ride. It doesn't really get good pick up, however.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2000

20th Jun 2001, 12:58

First of all the drivers side lock is stuck because it's made so that you can only lock it from the outside so that you can't lock your keys in the car. Now I got that out of the way, this has been a very good car for me. It hardly uses any gas. It takes about 15 dollars for me to fill it up and it lasts for at least two weeks. A few things needed repairs but so does every car. I love my car.

7th Jun 2003, 12:04

Lets See, hard to find parts for, hard to put breaks on, expensive to work on, and I can't find anyone who knows any thing about them!other than that my cars OK. its great on gas, rides pretty smoothly.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews