2005 Pontiac Montana Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2005 Pontiac Montana Non SV6 3.4L 3.4 SFI from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4L 3.4 SFI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carPontiac Trans Sport

Summary:

Just get in, start it, and drive. That's all there is to it

Faults:

Nothing. Oh wait, a fog light went out, but that was due to me nailing a garbage can that had blown out in the road in a wind storm.

General Comments:

My family has had our 2005 Pontiac Montana now (*this is NOT the SV6 model**) for just a little over a year now with not a single problem to report. I seems as though Pontiac finally got it right with the 2004 and 2005 Montana, but now they are cutting off the Montana line altogether after 2006 : (... My last vehicle was a 1997 Trans Sport Montana and it was equally as dependable, although we did have to replace the Intake Manifold gasket once at 113,000 miles. No issues with that one either though.

I'm really surprised to see so many people complaining about their Trans Sports/ Montanas. My family is on our 3rd one now and they have all been great. Such a shame...

Our Montana has suited our needs very well. We have the seating for eight, with the 3 seats in the middle and a fold flat bench in the rear. It offers great comfort, and really good performance too. It has the 3400 V6, which I hear from other posters is a bad engine, but I don't think so at all. It has always been extremely reliable for us, and in our previous Trans Sport, took us to 289,000 miles with no trouble at all, other than the one time intake gasket issue. That motor has plenty of pep, even more so than our 1994 Trans Sport that had the 3800 V6. Oh well, to each his own I guess.

I'm really glad to have the Montana, because with today's horrendous gas prices, it really doesn't do too bad. We manage to average about 22 MPG, which in that figure contains about 70% stop and go city driving. The gas will last a little while. We will be keeping this one for as long as it will last us, since '06 is the last year for the Montana. Thanks for the well constructed dependable Pontiac (s) GM!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2006

26th Nov 2006, 01:45

I'm glad to see that others have enjoyed their 04/05 Montana. It's too bad that GM has remodelled the Montana into a cross between a van and a SUV. Looks ugly!

I have a 2004 Montana and have not had any major issues with the van. Hopefully nothing major as the head gasket will happen, but it seems there has been an issue with previous models.

Keep loving it, as these are the last ones of a good minivan.

3rd Nov 2012, 21:56

We bought a used 05 Montana ext wheel base, 3.4, 200,000 kms from GM dealer here at home, gets 30 MPG, but within few days of buying it, the transmission jerks when starting out sometimes, and shifts hard sometimes. I am a licenced mechanic with no automatic experience, took it to a GM dealer, they said no use wasting time with a rebuilt, they can install a NEW trans, with a 3 year 100,000m kms warranty. Just paid them $3000 for the van, now another $3000 for a tranny??? Will drive till it quits. I serviced the trans, and we went on a 2000 kms trip to BC and back; worked great except for a few hard shifts?

Had a 92 Dodge Grand Caravan AWD for 480,000 kms, never let us down... going to find another one I think, a low mileage old Caravan.

2005 Pontiac Montana sv6 3.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance3700 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Buy at your own risk

Faults:

Trans stalled.

General Comments:

For years I tried to stay away from American cars due to serious reliability issues. I fell prey this time to the Pontiac Montana due to very lucerative incentives. At km3,700 the car's transmission stalled and the vehicle would not move. My wife and kids were in the car while the outside temperatures were -5C. I wonder if I were responding to a call from the ER and this happened.

Reliability continues to be an issue with these cars. It's a "buy at your own risk".

Interestingly, when on-star was called, they located my vehicle on I-76 in PA, over km800 from where I was in Canada. The call did disconnect twice.

I started doubting the reliability of on-star too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th January, 2006

7th Feb 2006, 18:22

I've just purchased a 2006 SV6. Could you please elaborate more on the transmission problem you encountered. You stated that the transmission stalled, I'm not sure what you mean by that. I'm wondering if I should mention this to the dealer just in case GM is aware of transmission problems with this van.

I too live in Canada and I definately don't want to be stranded miles, ops sorry, kilometers, from nowhere. Also, would you please advise what size engine is in your van just in case there are different model transmissions.

Kind Regards.

14th Feb 2006, 08:40

I also have a 2005 Pontiac Montana and have continuous problems. With 13,000 miles I started having problems with my transmission. The dealer kept saying (for 4 months) that it was a transmission programming issue, so they set up a "case number" with GM. After I kept complaining, the dealer opened the cover of the transmission, only to find metal shavings. They told me that I would have been broken down within a couple of weeks. Now the transmission works good after being replaced, however I have issues with the radio (which was replaced), and ABS/traction control lights keep going on.

20th Jan 2009, 12:07

I bought my 2005 Pontiac Montana new and there has been nothing but trouble since the beginning, first I could not believe the price to replace a new tire $225. and the old one only had 1500 kms on it. I have no heat in the rear of the van, I live in Canada so guess what the people in the front roast just so that the people in the back get some heat. WHAT A JOKE... Now yesterday I am told my head gasket is gone. 2305. to fix that problem. The ride is much better on a tractor and the gas is awful for a van. DO NOT BUY ONE OF THESE VANS.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 9 reviews