2002 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 5 of 6

2002 Pontiac Sunfire from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

The 2002 Pontiac Sunfire is a death trap waiting to happen! Believe me! Please

Faults:

Too dangerous to drive in the winter snow! I spent most of my time driving in low gear and this is an automatic. It would not handle snow on roads. I no longer own the 2002 Sunfire because it was written off as it started swerving on a straight road in winter conditions. It did a 360 at 30 MPH, hit a tree backward and continued on another 180 before ending up in the snow. There was no control and I contribute this to the special trans-control this car is suppose to have!!!

General Comments:

Save yourself a scary if not deadly ride. Do not buy this car if you plan to drive in any kind of snow. The special feature trans-control is no good!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd May, 2004

25th Jan 2005, 18:34

I live in Alaska and I know icy roads are bad. But if you don't have the right tires or if you don't have studded tires any car will do that. I have seen it many times to people who don't have their car winterized. And with front wheel drive and winter tires its crazy how much better it is.

2002 Pontiac Sunfire from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

The instrument panel has quit working. It won't register anything any more. The dealer says it will cost 8 hundred dollars to get it fixed. Big Lemon.

General Comments:

I was in love with this car before it started giving me problems.

I should have stuck with Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2004

2002 Pontiac Sunfire 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance33500 kilometres

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

A little connector box underneath the battery had totally corroded, and all the wires on the inside were shorting out with each other. This caused my lights, wipers, horn, and some other small things to function improperly, or sometimes to not even work at all. However, this was all fixed under warranty, even though the warranty had already expired... nice or what??

Other than that, I've never had any problems with it.

General Comments:

The car looks a lot faster than it actually is.

It drives comfortably for a while, but since I'm over 6 feet, I tend to get a sore back after about 3-4 hours of driving, because I sit all the way back, and that makes me sit in a less than comfortable position.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2004

2002 Pontiac Sunfire SE coupe 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Inexpensive good looking car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is the best car for a college student.

I have to drive about 50 miles to school and the same to work, Very easy on gas and easy to maintain.

Pontiac did very well.

Small, but comfort is OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2004

2002 Pontiac Sunfire Coupe 2.2 ecotec from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 ecotec Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance6875 miles
Previous carPontiac Malibu LS 1997

Summary:

Is a master piece

Faults:

All outside air gets into the car all the time, e.g. pollution, and there is no way to stop it.

General Comments:

This car is great has everything you may need of a car, power, economic, good looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2003

24th Sep 2003, 19:52

The outside air is supposed to come in all the time. This is true for any vehicle as it prevents CO poisoning from the exhaust. The only way to stop the outside air from coming in is to set the A/C on MAX (the first A/C setting).

2002 Pontiac Sunfire 4 door sedan 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired300 kilometres
Most recent distance43000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

All in all I believe it is a well made dependable car

Faults:

The radiator fan seizes and burns out when driving in loose deep snow. Rear wheel froze once in cold weather.

Mileage if quite a bit lower than indicated. Had it checked out at dealer, but there was nothing wrong.

My first set of tires wore out at about 28000 kilometers which was very disappointing. It appears vehicle was supplied with substandard tires.

General Comments:

The car has a lot of power for it's size and is relatively comfortable. I find the seat belt difficult to put on due to the buckle landing between the door and the seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd June, 2003

2002 Pontiac Sunfire 2.2 Ecotec Inline 4 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Ecotec Inline 4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Disappointing American Contender

Faults:

To start, the transmission shifts very harshly. The lack of overdrive finds it hunting for gears noticeably when accelerating. Also, when accelerating at about 2500 RPM, the car makes a distracting buzzing sound the reverberates throughout the cabin. Every single time. Didn't notice that on the test drive. The cheap interior plastics are subpar, considering the competition. The door feels like it weighs 300 pounds on the coupe model, a real chore to open and close. The seatbelt is near impossible to put on after the door has been closed, because the male end of the belt gets stuck between the seat and the door. I just get more disappointed with the build quality every day, which is not promising for a newer vehicle.

General Comments:

Pontiac has put some positive aspects into this car, including a decent sound system which does bass well, and a solid seat for the driver. However, the radio buttons cannot be seen well at night because the volume and tuner buttons, two of the most important, are not illuminated. Also, the seat has only one possible adjustment, and that is forward and backward. This cannot possibly accommodate every driver. The a.c. is disappointing, especially lately in this early summer heat. (We have not gotten a springtime in Northern California for several years, and the transition is brutal without a decent air conditioner.) I have decided that tomorrow I am off to the local Toyota dealer to purchase a Matrix, which has much better build quality and a better chance of making it to the end of it's warranty period, and likely much, much longer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2003

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 30 reviews