2002 Pontiac Sunfire SE 4 DR 2.2 from North America


Bad quality with worse reliability


This car is very poorly built. The air conditioning compressor went out at 48k.The transmission needed to be replaced at 50k.The seat backing springs have been replaced for breaking 5 times and the lever for the seat recline broke off. It squeaks due to lower control arm bushings that started to go bad at 36k.The rear door panel won't stay on even with new pins. The steering wheel material separated from the steel ring which is dangerous. This car is just very poor quality which is disappointing. I bought it for my wife and had planned on keeping it forever, but I just don't feel it's reliable for her. I work on my own cars and do all the maintenance on this car, it just doesn't have the build quality.

General Comments:

I would not recommend this car to anyone. It may seem inexpensive to purchase, but GM will make their money on it for years to come due to repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2006

2002 Pontiac Sunfire 72,000 2.2 from North America


It is a good car, but the electical system needs a major recall


I have had to replace the heater fan at 25,000.

I now have now day time running lights and no bright lights at 42,000 is when they stopped working and it will cost $365.00 to fix them.

General Comments:

GM maked a good car, but it's electrical system needs a major recall.

I would like all other Sunfire owners to report their problem to GM by calling 1-800-762-2737.

The more GM knows about this problem we can all get this fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th November, 2006

28th Nov 2006, 00:35

Why bother! sell it & move on. There are millions of good to excellent used cars, for probably a lot less than you paid for that. GM, do they really care???

I say I don't think so, they made it, I think to break!!!

29th Oct 2008, 15:30

My windows on my 2002 sunfire have had several problems in the past. I have had the motors changed out several times, and gm said that they would not fix it any more since my vehicle is out of the warranty. yet they will not recall this device.

12th Feb 2011, 03:06

GM and every other vehicle manufacturing company never will recall any vehicle part that doesn't present a safety hazard. Vehicle manufacturing company's only recall parts that present a safety hazard! Or affect more than half of the certain model/year overall production total!

2002 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2L L4 from North America


I love it


It sets high up in the back so it is hard to see when you back up.

The cup holders are in front of the controls.

General Comments:

The car is fun and easy to drive.

This car is good for a new driver or a student.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th October, 2006

2002 Pontiac Sunfire 4-Dr SE from North America


Wish they still made it!


I have been recently having problems with all the lights coming on on the dash. They won't go away, unless I turn the car off (not too good in traffic). The car seems to sputter when this happens. Sometimes, it stalls (so far, only when first started up). I did have the driver window not go back up once (same time all the lights were on). Thought it might be a catalytic converter at first, but the window thing now makes me wonder if it is electrical. Everywhere I have taken it to says that it needs to be happening when I bring it in for them to troubleshoot. Can't find anyone open at 6:50 in the morning or late at night (which is when it usually happens). Other than this, I have had no problems whatsoever with the car.

General Comments:

Wish they still made the 4-door, as I love my car!

Drives and handles great (and my other cars are a Corvette and a Trans Am), so I do know about handling.

Comfortable on long trips, we just love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2006

2002 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.4L from North America


It's a great little car once fixed up :)


I've only had the car for a month and already ran into problems with it. Has been back to the dealer 3 times, thank god for the 30 day warranty.

About 2 days after I got it, the engine light came on. Brought it in, they checked it, they said "nothing's wrong", OK no problem.

The light was gone for a day and a half, then the engine light came back on. Took her back in. They still don't know what was wrong.

Then the car stated to rev up on its own. Like every time you would push the clutch in, it would rev up to 3000 RPM's. I recall putting her in park. Had the emergency brake on, and letting go of the clutch in 1st gear, and the car stayed at 3000 RPM's. Brought her in again, and they couldn't figure it out.

After 3 weeks, I brought it back into the dealer, and found out the computer module for the revving was gone, the MAP sensor was gone, the catalytic converter was gone also. Plus they had to replace the 2 strut springs, and fix the A/C in it. If I would have had to pay for this, I calculated it would have run me up to $2500.00 dollars.

General Comments:

This car is my first new car, and even with all the problems, I still like my car very much. Just for the fact that it's a newer car for me. I've always had older cars. Like an 87 Fire Bird, a 84 Chev 1/2 ton, and the latest one, a 78 Z28 Camaro.

This car is great handling, comfortable seats, great room in the back. It has big trunk spacem and lots of room in it. Great stereo system in it. :)

Easy to put a car seat in it, has 2 safety hooks for the car seat.

For a 2.4L she can pull, and has great pick up when fixed up :). I got it for an OK price, but hey that's what you have to pay when you go through a dealership. She won't be worth what I paid for in the end of my 5 year term, but I think she's a great little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2006