1999 Pontiac Trans Sport Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1999 Pontiac Trans Sport EXT. 3.4 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 kilometres
Most recent distance116000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

I love my Mini Van!

Faults:

I have had my Pontiac Mini Van for 2 years now and except for normal wear and tear items such as brakes and windsheild wipers, I have not had any major problems.

But last week I had my first major problem which was my Intake Manifold Gasket on the engine wore out at 116,000 kms and caused my heater and de-frost to stop working. This is about a $400.00 job plus taxes.

My mechanic says that this is quite a common problem with the 3400 engine.

I am still in shock as my van has been so reliable except for this set back.

General Comments:

My van drives more like a car then a minivan.

The interior in the van could be a little better made as my driver's seat has already worn out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2004

1999 Pontiac Trans Sport 3.4 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125534 kilometres
Most recent distance125835 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Trans Sport

Summary:

I love the style

Faults:

Transmission went at

125000km.

ABS light comes on.

ABS makes loud noise.

Windows rattle.

General Comments:

The van has a quiet ride (except the windows rattling).The stereo sounds good and it is very spacious inside yet looks compact from outside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2004

1999 Pontiac Trans Sport Montana Package 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Mechanically - below average ; style - average to above average

Faults:

I am putting $2000.00 - 3000.00/ yr in repairs into the vehicle. The transmissions in these gm products are crappy. It starts with hard shifting which they claim is the control selenoid sensor. You can only access this by taking out the whole transmission. This was replaced for over $700.00. This did not fix my problem. I took it to a transmission shop and they rebuilt the whole transmission for $3075.00 (and they gave me a deal) Gm has, but out several bulletens on this transmission, but will not take responsibility in admitting that it is a weak transmission and lets the consumer pay for it. Be aware its not only in the Montanas. The transmission is in quite a few Gm product. My air flow sensor has had to be replaced and head gasket on the engine. Other repairs have been done as well, parts that should were better than they have.

General Comments:

Other than mechanical and transmission problems has great space. 8 passenger vehicle with removable seats is nice. Built in child seat, self levelling hydraulic on the back axel for towing loads, nice dark tinted windows. gas mileage is pretty good for a minivan. coffee holders sucks, but the dashboard and driving area is nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd April, 2004

16th Oct 2005, 23:20

I do believe that you have to give us the name of this transmission shop because we would never go there!!they've made a so called hold-up without a gun and with your approval!!..i have mine rebuilt (1997 transport) at 213000 km for 2100 CDN dollars (around 1500-1600 US dollars) near Montreal.

1999 Pontiac Trans Sport 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance89000 kilometres
Previous carn/a n/a

Summary:

A maintenance nightmare

Faults:

Notorious intake manifold gasket failure at 89000.

Water pump & serpentine belt replaced at 89000.

Tie rod end replaced at 70000.

Driving/fog lamp burned out at 70000; cannot easily be replaced by owner and requires front wheel and fender liner removal to do so.

Suspension bushing replaced at 70000.

Clunking in front end during third year of ownership; dealer couldn't diagnose and problem disappeared.

Air bag warning light has appeared intermittently since new; dealer has reset several times. I ignore it now.

Factory stereo volume control is finicky; volume sometimes goes up when turned down.

Tachometer sometimes stops functioning.

Driver's seat replaced during second year of ownership after plastic piece wore through the fabric from underneath.

General Comments:

Fortunately I keep an eye on fluid levels and caught the coolant leaks (manifold gasket, water pump) before the thing ran dry and could damage the engine.

This van was a pleasure to own for the first four years or so, despite the nagging faults noted above, as it is comfortable and handles well for a van. However after 70000 kilos it has become a maintenance nightmare, costing us over $2000 this year alone.

In my opinion the intake manifold gasket fault merits a class action lawsuit.

My advice to TransSport/Montana owners: get rid of it as soon as the warranty is up. I wish I had.

General Motors has lost a customer... for good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th November, 2003

29th Apr 2006, 20:30

How do you own a 1999 Trans Sport? Its last year was 1998; it was replaced by the Montana for 1999.

12th May 2006, 21:02

Firstly, I too have a 1999 Pontiac Trans Sport. The word "Montana" does not appear anywhere on my vehicle, or its documentation.

Head gasket, tie rod ends, wheel bearing. All under 100,000 miles.

Intermittent unusual road noise that nobody can diagnose, fuel gauge doesn't work, digital readout on radio doesn't work, seat belt ratchets are weak, rear door strap broke, rear window wiper doesn't work, passenger door power lock bezel won't stay in its socket, ongoing windshield wiper problems, noisy fan on low speed, spare tire jack collapsed under the weight of the vehicle.

If that isn't enough. The heated side mirror on the passenger door "exploded" recently. The vehicle was not moving, and suddenly, with quite the sound, the mirror came flying out of its housing, shattering as the force sent it into the passenger side window. The shattered mirror was left hanging by the wires. Good thing there wasn't anyone in the passenger seat with the window down.

Would I buy another? Not a chance. Will I buy GM next time? Not likely. I have a second vehicle which is GM, and I am not happy with it either.

1999 Pontiac Trans Sport Montana Gas from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired23900 kilometres
Most recent distance53050 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Good value and style for the money

Faults:

ABS light came on a few times in the winter; I think due to snow in the tires rather than the cold, as one reviewer suggested in an early model. However, the problem seems to have solved itself.

Brake rotors were replaced early, under warranty.

General Comments:

It handles comfortably enough; feels like a much smaller vehicle than it is. Solid amount of space. I can't imagine a costlier mini-van being worth the money. All around, a good deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2002

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 9 reviews