9th May 2006, 23:22

Jake- if you look back to April 25, you will find my experience matches yours.

Everyone always gives me the same old song: "It must be the way you drive." Baloney!! My driving habits are very consistent, and I consistently got 38-40MPG out of a 1988 Cavalier with a 2.2L engine. I could give you many more examples of higher-than-rated results achieved in other vehicles.

As for this car, they keep upping the recommended KM's required for break-in. This is frustrating, and I think it's time I contact GM Canada directly.

Not Happy Yet.

3rd Jun 2006, 15:42

I'm buying my Pontiac Wave 5 next week, I haven't sign any paper yet, all against it, speak now or forever hold your peace, please?

New buyer.

9th Jun 2006, 18:49

I'm in the final stages of the buying process I'm leaning towards a 2006 Wave 5. I will be doing mostly HWY driving in Toronto. This fuel economy and "break-in" stuff is kinda making me nervous... the other car I'm thinking about is the Honda Fit.. any suggestions... this will be my first new car and I'm not a car guy...


16th Jun 2006, 18:04

Here's the latest: I drove exclusively on the freeway for a full tank's worth and got 35.8 MPG (Canadian). That's the highest I have ever got, it's still a far cry from the rated 45 MPG for highway. (12,500 Km's on the clock)

I have now directly complained to GM. They are reviewing my economy figures to see "if they are within acceptable range". They have also now told me break-in is at least 15,000K!!! AAARRGHHH!

My suggestion? before you buy ANY car, get AUTHENTICATED mileage results from owners in the 'real world'. Even then, good luck, as no car company I know of will guarantee what you'll get.

STILL Not Happy Yet.

4th Jul 2006, 17:43

I just returned from a trip with my 2006 Wave Uplevel from Vancouver to Kelowna BC. I drove the Coquilhalla Highway and the Okanagan Connector there and the Hope Princeton back. There is not another piece of highway in Canada as hilly as these. I averaged 43.5 miles per imperial gallon for the whole trip. The best was on the stretch from Hope to Vancouver at 46.6 mpg (the least hilly) and the worst from Hope to Kelowna at 36.6 mpg with the steepest grades in North America. The car has 5000 km on it and has had the oil changed twice since it was new. The fuel economy has drastically improved since new.

This car uses about 10% more fuel than a Toyota Yaris, which similarly equipped costs $4000 or 30% more. The Yaris would use about $100 less in fuel a year. You do the math.

12th Jul 2006, 13:10

Thank you to the person who posted the results of the trip to Kelowna. These are exactly the results I would expect and be happy with. There is obviously something wrong with my car. If you are open to further communication on this, I would appreciate a note to: amazon@surffast.com.

17th Aug 2006, 15:54

Dear Wave Owners.

Thank you for your interesting stories about the Wave.

I am also a "victim" of the cool look of the Wave and planning to buy one for work in and around Toronto. Just like many of you I need a small car for better fuel economy. I checked the Honda Fit today and the difference in price is about $6,000 CAD. After reviewing some of the comments about the fuel economy of the Wave I am a bit confused and now my determination is somewhat shaken. My friend just bought a KIA Rio and he gets about 7-8L / 100km in the city without any engine break-in.



23rd Aug 2006, 14:45

I agree that the fuel economy on these cars is very bad. I have owned one since May 2005 and have kept careful track of the fuel economy.

When it was new, I could not get any better than 20 MPG or 9l/100km out of it.

I just took it on a long trip, all highway.

Day one was 570 km and efficiency of 35 MPG or 6.7l/100km.

Day two was 547 km and efficiency of 32 MPG or 7.23l/100km.

27th Aug 2006, 19:27

I have a 2006 Wave sedan with a standard transmission. I have had it since the end of February and it now has 10,000 km on it. I too have been disappointed with the fuel consumption. At first I thought it was the break in period. Then this summer I have been using the a/c almost continuously so thought that it was because of a/c use. My hunch is that the fuel economony isn't what it is advertised. I have also noticed that there is a wicked blind spot at the back right hand corner. Has anyone else noticed this issue? I am extra careful checking in mirrors and looking before changing lanes or merging into oncoming traffic. Yet, I really love the space (including head room) in this car and how sporty it looks.

18th Sep 2006, 19:29

To the person who posted on: 23rd Aug 2006, 14:45-

I am guessing that you are measuring in US Gallons. Converting to Imperial, you are getting between 42 & 43 MPG, which is not bad, but still not what I believe it should be.

15th Jan 2007, 23:55

I am recently looking at purchasing a new vehicle. This would be the first car I would be buying from brand new. I've found quite a few comments posted here very helpful so far. I've narrowed my choices down to two cars... the Toyota Yaris Sedan and the Pontiac Wave. I'm leaning towards the Wave, but I want to know from someone with experience how reliable it is. Any input would be appreciated.

15th Apr 2007, 18:40

I am looking at getting the Wave's sister, the Aveo.

So I'm glad to look at the reviews on the Wave.

I don't know if this will help on the fuel mileage thing, but I do know that the newer engines are built with much tighter tolerances than just 5-10 years ago. My 2004 F-150 5.4L 3v got poor mileage. OK duh.

But I was told that the break in period for that Eng was very long at 20,000 to 25,000 KL (12,500-15,625 miles). I was shocked that it could be that long!! BUT, guess what, at 21,000KL to 23,000KL my mileage went up buy 3 mpg. That's a lot for such a vehicle. My 0-100 time also went down. Not buy much, but it did go down. So all I can say is maybe that some other new engines today my need such a long time to free up. I do know that large diesel engines in rig's need a very long time like 45,000KL to 60,000KL to break in and have been that way for a very long time. These engines have no problem going 1 million KL. I wonder if that's what is going on. NOT saying these new car engines will go 1 million KL. Just a thought is all.

14th May 2007, 01:51

I now have 42,000 Kms on my 2006 Wave. STILL no better fuel economy, still around 31-35 MPG (Imperial) on the highway. GM won't do a thing about it. What a rip-off!

STILL not happy!

31st May 2007, 18:43

I have just purchased a 2007 suzuki swift+ (same as the wave) I am extremly! impressed with the look and space of the interior, if you have not test driven one yet I encourage you to do so, for the price you can't go wrong.