1979 Porsche 911 Reviews

1979 Porsche 911 SC Man from UK and Ireland

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Man Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Life is simple - eat, drink, drive a Porsche

Faults:

Fuse to the fuel pump blew - apparently this is common on 911s of this age. Replaced the fuse and it's been fine since.

A brake caliper started leaking fluid. This is the fault of the guys who replaced the discs before I bought the car. Easily remedied.

The battery can go flat fairly quickly. Leave the head-lights on for ten minutes and it's a call to the AA to get her started.

General Comments:

This car takes a bit of getting used to, but when you're used to the tempermental gear box and unusual handling, it's a blast to drive.

My 911 is 26 years old and still turns heads, particularly when I open her up and that throaty roar makes itself heard.

She effortlessly leaves all, but the most powerful competitors in her dust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2005

7th Jul 2005, 14:14

I have to agree about the temper-mental gear box. The old cable shift can be a little tough to get into second gear when the gear box is cold. This problem was improved in the mid 80s when they switched to a hydraulic shift. Besides that, I absolutely love my 81 SC... A true classic.

6th Feb 2006, 08:22

So 1 year on and I'm still driving my 79 911. I still love her too.

The main observation I'd make is that you need to be prepared for those small parts that fail with age. I had to replace the head lamp and hazard light switches, the electrc window motors and switches, and the ignition switch. Apart from the obvious inconvenience I didn't mind as I am realistic about the fact that the car is nearly 30 years old, and used or new parts are easily sourced and well priced.

26th Sep 2007, 14:38

I have just purchased a 79 911 sc in white with full history I love it, at this present time it is a carcoon that's what week ends are all about,

23rd Jun 2010, 11:44

I have a Porsche 911 SC 1979. I love my car, however, 2 years ago something went wrong and we just parked it in the garage. I want to get it fixed!

There is a man wanting another project, and wants to trade his 1999 Boxster for my car. Hope it works out. I love the Boxsters too.

The comments made are helpful for what we might have to do to get my car back running. My license plate is SPOILHR.

Yes I am.

1979 Porsche 911 Turbo flat 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission flat 6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo GTV

Summary:

Race breed machine. Perfecto!

Faults:

Nothing major other than the clutch was replaced. Typical high cost to operate a well tuned sports car.

General Comments:

When the Turbo awakes this 911 turns into a true super-car. Blinding speeds observed frequently.

High quality interior and comfy seats. Real German craftsmanship throughout the whole vehicle.

Shifter feel is a bit ambiguous at first, but you get used to it in time.

A real eye catcher, too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

1979 Porsche 911 SC - Targa 3.0 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1979
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing. I purchased this car six years ago, raced it on the track and in autocross events, drive on weekends or to work (10 miles) on a nice day and it just runs great. These cars defy the laws of physics once you learn how to drive them. I had a 928S-4 for a while and it was expensive to run but god-awful fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 1999

13th Sep 2001, 17:14

This is an amazing car and mine is actually quite cheap to run, it's very fast and corners likes it's on rails, so I hope you have fun with yours.

Jonathan.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 3 reviews