1982 Porsche 924 Reviews

1982 Porsche 924 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired152000 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Cheap sports car with a great name badge

Faults:

Horn not working, washer bottle leak.

General Comments:

Very reliable classic car, gets the looks when you drive by. Not the fastest car by todays standards, but a great drive none of the less, a proper drivers car, plus it says porsche on the front.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st September, 2007

1982 Porsche 924 Lux 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Bullet-proof (so far)

Faults:

Electric window only on passenger side not working.

Brake light keeps filling with water.

Electric wing mirrors don't work.

General Comments:

Finally bought my long lasting dream, sometimes dreams don't live up to what you expect, but this little 924 really does, I've driven faster cars, but for some reason it lets you know what's going on underneath you, no power steering so the wife doesn't want to have a go he he.

The front is really spacious, but the back is quite cramped and with no seat belts the kids can't come either (another good point). I'm still smiling now after taking it for a spin this morning, and being Christmas day, there was not a bit of traffic on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th December, 2006

1982 Porsche 924 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Brilliant performance and handling with minor league supercar looks

Faults:

Exhaust manifold stud broken inside block.

Tailgate boot seal leaks.

Heated rear window does not work.

General Comments:

My Porsche 924 turbo is 22 years old and is still in excellent condition with very little signs of rusting.

The performance and handling is still a match for many modern cars although it can be a little slow off the mark due to the awkward gear change from 1st to 2nd gear. However, when the engine gets in its stride at about 3,000 revs the acceleration is brilliant.

The interior is still in first class condition with no signs of wear on the seats. The heater is superb and keeps me warm even in the coldest weather.

The seats are quite comfortable even on long distance motorway journeys.

Most parts are cheap and easy to obtain although any jobs connected with the turbo can be quite labour intensive. Overall it has been quite cheap to run and maintain and it has been very reliable.

The car still turns heads and attracts admiring glances. The 924 turbo models are becoming increasingly rare and I would definitely recommend them as a good entry level model to Porsche ownership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2004

1982 Porsche 924 2L petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2L petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres
Previous carAudi Fox

Summary:

If you can find one - buy it

Faults:

Water pump failed.

Sunroof seals broke.

Various electrical failures.

Cold start problems.

Ripped the oil sump out the car going over a pothole too fast.

General Comments:

Handles beautifully despite limited acceleration and stopping power.

Fairly cheap to fix and maintain these days, and insurance costs are very low.

Despite the derision of some Porsche 'purists', this car is a joy to own, and one that I would be very reluctant to ever sell.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2004

28th Feb 2005, 02:56

Liked your post. I have a 924 Porsche 1984, parts and maintenance cost a lot, I recently worked the body and interiors of my 924. The engine is working fine and the gearbox never seemed to have problems. The major part was with the electric parts when dissmantling and re-assmbling of such parts, I had a 60 year old mechanic work at it!! got it fixed.

I had a sticker printed with the word PORSCHE at the back after the new paint, I can't remember the size/font and place of the original sticker. Hope you an help me out.

Have a safe 924 drive...

1982 Porsche 924 Turbo 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

A very quick car for very little money

Faults:

Nothing other than routine service items.

Owners must realise that the 924 turbo is a very different car from the normal 924. The turbo has a genuine porsche designed cylinder head, suspension, and brakes.

The only expenses have been routine, engine mounts are a routine service replacement on these cars not a failure as some people think. This is a high performance sports car and should be maintained as such.

General Comments:

This car is a real Porsche, it has blistering performance and handling to match.

The weight balance is about 50/50 so the handling is naturally well balanced, new bushes and shocks at front and rear have further improved handling.

The power delivery is in a very 'all or nothing' manner as is typical with turbo-charged cars of this era. The kick from the turbo can catch you out on roundabouts or tricky junctions. A delicate right foot is required.

The car is at home in traffic or on the open road and is light and easy to drive. It really comes in to its own on fast A roads. The car is easily unsettled by poorly surfaced roads and can become quite a handful on rough tarmac. I used to drive this car in to the city of London traffic regularly and never suffered with overheating or difficulty in hot starting.

This car feels more solid and has been more reliable than my every day modern car which is only 2 years old and on 35000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2002

1982 Porsche 924 2.0 fuel injected from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 fuel injected Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A high class, very cheap car!!!

Faults:

This car needed regular maintenance and a tune up.

Interior is cheap, I had to redo it.

Timing belt went (first time ever) around 110,000 and clutch at 112,000.

Other than that, the fuel injection is VERY reliable.

With Porsche 924's, 90% of them have hot start problems so "O" rings had to be changed.

Other than that, it's a very sporty car with a loud sound for peanuts, I hardly paid anything for it.

General Comments:

It handles very well at high speeds, because it's rear wheel drive. It is loud, but though it's a hard car to drive, everything is manual, no power steering.

Overall, I would rate this car honestly 6.85 out of ten. A very nice affordable car for people who want a Porsche, but don't want to spend an arm and a leg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2002

25th Mar 2004, 20:35

Hey, I just have one comment on the 1982 924. Does this car have power steering? If not email me at spike6339@msn.com.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews