1983 Porsche 944 Lux 2.5 from Australia and New Zealand


Just love it - when it dies I will throw it out and be happy


Front brake rotors split and had to be replaced.

Shockies at 110k miles.

General Comments:

This car has been, and still is great to drive, OK almost all the quick (and not so quick) rice burners are quicker. But cover 400 miles and you want to turn around and go back - just for fun. (still 2007)

I did remove the drive belt for the balance shafts. Might have made the engine a bit lumpier, but it was lumpy to start with. Again I love this.

I love the low steering wheel and restricted leg room, which has often been cited as a fault. It also has no power steering.

Economic - oh yeah.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2007

1983 Porsche 944 2.5 from North America


There is no greater bang for the buck


No problems.

General Comments:

If you can find a well maintained or low mileage 944, buy it and drive it everyday. There is no better value for the fun you will experience in a daily driver. The manual rack and pinion steering alone is my testimony... you can feel it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2006

1983 Porsche 944 2.5 from North America


The drivers seat riped a little.

The rear hatch seal wore out.

Painted chipped because the car is so low.

General Comments:

I love my 944.

It could use about 20-30 more horsepower, but other than that the car climbs hills like no other.

Second gear is more fun going thirty miles-an-hour than fith gear going 130.

The handling on this car is the best in the world.

Would I buy this car again? In a heartbeat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2005

1st Apr 2005, 09:04

You are right about everything. Good job.

1983 Porsche 944 2.5 from North America


An affordable performance machine for a purest


Alternator diodes blown due to body man hooking light wireing up wrong, 40.00 dollar rebuild.

Hatch seal leaking.

Drivers seat tracks not very strong.

General Comments:

I love the performance of this car, although not as spirited as the 928S,nor as pricey to maintain it is very enjoyable to drive.

It, as far as sports cars go, is very inexpensive to work on if you will take your time to research parts and can do a lot of the work yourself, I.E. rear wheel bearings are 180.00 for the factory and 20.00 at the local parts store as they fit an oil field pump jack, very common in the Midwest.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2004

1983 Porsche 944 Lux 2.5 from UK and Ireland


The best car for £3K you can buy


Power Steering Pump went after a week, had it replaced under warranty.

Driver Electric mirror broken by some lout kicking it

Creak from Suspension, just needed greasing

Power Steering Belt was loose

Slight wear in drivers seat.

Electric Ariel stopped working.

General Comments:

Not as quick a some hot hatches of today, but hey its not a shopping cart in drag like hot hatches

Handling out of this world

1st gear a little short

Vibration at idle a little annoying

924 style dash looked down upon by newer 944 owners, but I think its more sportier than the oval dash model anyway

Never skimp on a 944 its not worth it, always fit the best if possible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2003

18th Dec 2005, 13:39

Your vibration at idle is most likely due to a worn engine mount, a relatively inexpensive repair ($100-200).

1983 Porsche 944 lux 2.5 litre 8v from UK and Ireland


A modern classic offering 'new car' appeal


N/S Torsion Bar snapped during first week!! (Scary)

Interior wetter than a mermaids bra. (Due to rust hole under battery tray)

Electric window motor stopped working however just required dismantling, freeing & and cleaning.

Front ball joints replaced.

Belts replaced whilst investigating oil leak at rear of cam housing. (Bolts rattling loose caused rear cover gasket to fail.)

Starter motor solenoid sticks occasionally.

General Comments:

The car is fairly tail happy in the wet if driven too enthusiastically.

The engine produces a considerable amount of 'drone' at motorway cruising speeds.

The 'Air Metering Device' controlling the fuel/air mixture, causes considerable restriction when attempting to fit a 'free flow induction kit'.

The car is strong as an Ox, and continues to provide me with hours of posing and racing fun.

Aftermarket or 'pattern' parts are readily available and high quality, making ownership affordable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2002

1983 Porsche 944 2.5 from Russia


Easy and fun to drive


Gearbox mount was broken.

Brake discs were replaced.

Right engine mount was replaced.

Gearbox was rebuilt (3-4 gear was stuck).

Starter was replaced.

Gearbox dumpers were replaced.

General Comments:

Car is as hard as a rock, even in extreme conditions of use (bad roads, racing, problems with quality of service).

Cornering is superb. Even in comparison with the 911. I have tried many sport cars, and this is the best for hard corners (at least for me).

The engine is a little under-powered in terms of performance, but the torque is superb too (I even start from 3rd gear in winter).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2001