1990 Porsche 944 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1990 Porsche 944 S2 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired251000 kilometres
Most recent distance258000 kilometres
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

I STILL can't walk away from it without looking back

Faults:

With the high mileage - many things have failed - but are easily fixed by a DIY person.

These include...

Power locks.

Alarm.

Heater control.

Fan speed control.

Rear defroster.

Clock.

Wiper motor, etc.

General Comments:

The S2 is the best of the 944 breed. Faster than a Turbo around town - but with the smooth Turbo look.

Cheap to buy - but expensive to maintain properly (not as bad as Turbo though). Take care of the car and it will amaze you EVERY day.

There is an outstanding on-line community, where you will find so much help, that the actual cost of owning the car is reduced to research and repair time - a handy home mechanic can fix 90% of all problems with little cost. Visit rennlist.com for more details.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2003

1990 Porsche 944 S2 cabriolet 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carNone None

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

Several things though no show stoppers and not bad considering the age and performance...

Front wishbones (normal wear and tear) @ £700 fitted each!

Whine from gearbox @ £800 (also fixed 2nd gear synchro).

Overheating due to rad temp sensor for fan failing in the summer which then made the thermostat fail.

Sticking electric windows - still a problem!

Almost snapped cam belt - several teeth missing, but still hanging in there somehow!!! DO NOT FIT A CHEAP ONE.

General Comments:

Superb looks - does not look 14 years old!

No signs of any rot.

Excellent performance - engine totally reliable.

Surprisingly good handling - shame on 911 owners!

Dull German cabin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2003

1990 Porsche 944 s2 3.0 from Germany

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance122000 kilometres
Previous carPorsche 944

Summary:

I own the car for a really long time now but I think you can`t get a better sports car then a 944 S2

Faults:

I had a gearbox problem at 60k, but I got it on guarantee from Porsche after 4 years in 1994.

General Comments:

The engine has the best Performance I have ever seen for a 4 cylinder. There are not many cars on the German Autobahn where you have no chance in the acceleration. Especially over 4200 RPM you have a really great acceleration. If you read about test drives of the car of the year 1989 all reporters said that this Porsche is better then every 911 because of his handling (front:rear 50:50). I always thought about buying a 968 but you have to pay much more money for the same car ("it looks a little better")

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2003

1990 Porsche 944 S2 Cabriolet 3.0 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 4 Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carLincoln LS

Summary:

A stunning looker at a great price

Faults:

Have had no problems with the car as owner. Well serviced at Weissach Performance in Vancouver. The history of a car means everything!

General Comments:

The car surprised me. With only four cylinders the car has a lot more jam than I expected... especially over 4,000 RPM.

The handling is phenomenal, the drive to Whistler, BC is more enjoyable than ever (very winding road)

Very solid... can feel the road with this car better than most coupes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2003

1990 Porsche 944 S2 3.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carFerrari 308

Summary:

Cracking drive for the cash - hard to beat

Faults:

Timing chain 110K miles.

General Comments:

I got it very cheap, because it had been severely neglected by the previous owner and have painstakingly renovated the car over the last 3 years, to the point where only the final cosmetic stuff needs done. Other than that it has run well and been very, very reliable for a 12 year old car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2003

1990 Porsche 944 Turbo SE 2.5 turbo petrol from Germany

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance158000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 318i

Faults:

Nothing. Worn front brakes/wheel bearings. Worn tires. Unburstable.... and I have tried. 78mph average on empty Irish lanes really tests a car, try that in a Ferrari/Lamborghini/Maserati!

General Comments:

Very fast car. 250 bhp and 268 lbft of torque. Driven at top speed (260kph) 165mph daily. 0-60mph time of 5.5 seconds used at every single traffic light... nearly anyway! Used at Nüurburgring regularly.

This car is totally underrated, which is fine with me, because it makes it a performance bargain. It is faster than a 1989-1993 Carrera 2/4, in a straight line, around corners and it also has superior braking performance (due to better brakes). All this and half the purchasing cost. Handling is excellent, but extremely neutral and very dependent on tires for feedback and progressiveness, the wrong tires make this car quite difficult to drive on the limit. The ride is hard but it is so well damped that combined with the solid build quality it makes the car feel quite comfortable.

Don't get one of these cars... it's a Ferrari F355 beater for Fiesta money... and I want it to stay that way. With some mild tuning, 330 bhp is possible with total reliability. And when Ferrari owners speak of reliability, take it with a pinch of salt... have you ever actually seen a Ferrari being driven quickly.. to be frank have you ever seen a 911 being driven quickly either?

A 944 Turbo is a performance car... not a posing one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2000

29th Jan 2001, 18:21

Is this Shane from from Evo forum?? Good review anyway.

P.S. What tyres do you use on this car?

20th Jun 2001, 05:03

I own a 1990 944S2 with 92k on the clock. I have owned the car for over 2 years now and apart from a broken water pump (£75 replacement from dealer!!!) and having the cylinder head skimmed and new gasket, I have had no real problems at-all!

I stripped the brake callipers and fitted new pads both front and back, this is not a tricky job and I don't see where £300 per pair to do at a dealers comes from!!??

There have been one or two slight problems such as the bonnet light and tailgate catches not working properly, but that is about all!

I use my S2 on a daily basis, but don't really do that high mileage, but it is great fun to go for a long blast round some of the nice roads around the North Yorkshire moors.

I recently fitted 4 new Michelin Pilots which have made the grip amazing, I have 225/50/16 ZRs all round and will definitely replace with the same when the time arises!

The S2 represents excellent value for money and running costs are no more than a big family car, even insurance through Peart Associates is only £700 fully comp protected, which at only 26 years old I don't think is too bad!

If you are considering a 944 S2 I can seriously recomend one, puts a smile on yer face everytime you drive it!

15th Aug 2004, 17:46

I drive a 1988 911 Carrera hard every weekend, and so does the 4 others I know who own a form of a 911.

14th Nov 2004, 05:50

I used to own a skyline, but I want one of these now. they pants a skyline in a straight line and around corners. I will be buying one soon.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews