2005 Porsche Cayenne S V8 from North America

Summary:

Porsche; there may be a substitute

Faults:

First problem I encountered was at the dealer. I have never seen salesmen that act like they don't need to sell cars. At first, I thought it was me, but my friend had trouble purchasing a 911 turbo, and had to threaten to have his attorney get involved with the transaction. They then started acting like they had some sense.

The one thing the dealers never inform the buyers of, is the horrible gas mileage. You will need to change brakes every 12000 miles, and tires every 10000 miles, and that's pushing it. You need to understand that this is a very heavy SUV.

The SUV ran fine until 34000 miles. I didn't have stereo problems because I changed my system for a Alpine DVD/nav system.

My power steering pump went out not once but twice, and the dealer wanted to put me in a Toyota Corolla for a loaner. I said, "no thanks, I'll drive my Bimmer".

The ignition coil went out twice; once at 35000 miles, and then at 70000 miles. Finally, one day the transmission started shifting rough out of 1st gear; that's when I thought hauling my boat around with this SUV had caught up with me. This was a easy fix; just replace the gear oil.

General Comments:

This is a very fast SUV, the ride is comfortable, and the Porsche still gets respect for a 7 year old vehicle. Handling is good, and great for long trips pulling a trailer. The truck has never left me stranded, and when 22 inches of snow hit my area, the Porsche drove like it was on dry land.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2012

22nd Jul 2012, 12:29

Sorry to hear your Porsche was unreliable for you... I guess I'll just keep driving my Toyota Corolla! 70,000 miles and no issues!

What a pain that you had to change the brake pads every 12,000 miles... my Corolla has the original pads and rotors at 70,000 miles, and they still have another 35,000 miles left!

Tires every 10,000 miles? Gosh... my first set of tires lasted 57,000 miles.

But you must be right, a Corolla is a terrible car, so I guess I'll trade it in on a BMW... HA!

2004 Porsche Cayenne Turbo from Mexico

Summary:

Very over priced and very unreliable

Faults:

Transmission failure.

Engine failure.

Instruments failure.

Differential failure.

Stereo short circuit.

Lights short circuit.

In short... a serious failure every less than 1,000 kms.

General Comments:

Absolutely unreliable, would never consider it again. The worst part is that the brand is always making excuses for avoiding responsibility.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th July, 2010

9th Nov 2012, 22:41

I must be a lucky man. I did not have too many problems with mine.

I bought my 2005 Cayenne Turbo with 85000 miles. I now have 109000.

I replaced the brake pads, plugs, air cleaner, cleaned the mass airflow sensors. Installed K&N filters. Replaced 2 lower control arm bad bushings.

This is a great handling SUV. I go offroad with it; Pismo Beach in California, El Mirage Dry Bed Lake. Drove it at 157mph there. I love it, it is reliable and fun to drive.

It is very bad on gas; I only get 12 miles per gallon.

I would not buy it new. I think it is overpriced like most luxury SUVs. For $20k to $25K, it is a good value used.

19th Dec 2012, 17:04

When you replaced the lower control arms, did it stop shaking? My steering wheel is shaking at 60 to 85 mph. Nobody knows what it is. Thanks.

27th Jul 2013, 17:14

It must be a steering damper; get a mechanic to check your steering rod under the car.

2004 Porsche Cayenne Turbo 4.5L V8 turbo from North America

Summary:

A total waste of money

Faults:

Various bulbs continually burn out.

Blower/heater fan replaced, 85,000Kms. $450.00.

Plastic engine cooling tubes replaced, along with water pump at 87,000Kms. Metal ones are their replacement. $1500.00.

Driveshaft replaced, 92,000Kms. $1200.00.

Xenon light replaced, $300.00.

Continually requires brake parts.

New rotors by dealer under warranty.

New transmission by dealer under warranty.

New radio by dealer under warranty, poor reception still.

Brake switch replaced at 93,000Kms. Could start vehicle without pressing on brake. $100.00.

Ignition key/light left on warning buzzer not functioning. Not replaced.

Front heated seats not working.

Passenger side power seat not working.

Rear seat belt gets stuck when seat put down.

Lever to put rear seat down broken.

Stitching on rear arm rest coming undone.

Seems to miss when hard accelerating, not repaired yet.

Power steering pump leaking, 100,000 Kms.

General Comments:

I should have waited to buy a newer model. I've owned this vehicle for two years and have spent over $10,000 in repairs. What a money pit. I've tried to get Porsche to understand what a let down this year of Porsche is, only to find out that they don't stand behind their products. What a shame.

It leaves you wondering if Porsche wants repeat business. Even though I bought used, I'll never buy another vehicle from them again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th December, 2009

21st Dec 2009, 01:08

The Cayenne is just a fancy Volkswagen Touareg in disguise, so what did you expect?

10th Jan 2010, 14:31

What did I expect? Are you kidding me? It sounds like you work for Porsche. The truck is worth $140,000. What would you expect for that price range? It's got nothing to do with whether you think it's a Toureg in disguise or not. It's to do with what one should get in return for the price. Why would Porsche think it's acceptable to install such inferior parts on what is supposed to be a prestige automobile. I just wish Porsche would step up to the plate and admit they're wrong and recall my vehicle. But that's not going to happen any time soon because it would break them. It would be a miracle if they agreed that testing products on the backs of their clients isn't an acceptable practice. They're only scaring away clients. But with past experience with them, they couldn't care less.

21st Dec 2010, 18:57

The Cayenne is Porsche's highest selling vehicle ever, not combining the various generations of the 911. They've made a quick killing on selling that vehicle. But, the car's themselves were not all that great in terms of reliability. It was new technology for Porsche... and VW for that matter. They are not about to take responsibility for their learning curve. For those rich enough, you can buy a new IMPROVED version of the Cayenne and dump your old one. You can pick up used Cayenne Turbos for $35k US all day long.

7th Apr 2012, 14:10

I am a owner of a Porsche Cayenne Turbo, which I bought as new in 2004 in Denmark. Here the prices are up to 3 times those of the rest of the world because of tax, meaning that the car cost 500.000 USD, and that is the truth.

Unfortunately, I 100% agree with the other guy who also has a Cayenne. I have had practically all possible mistakes on my car, and Porsche has not taken responsibility for anything. Even most people I know with the same car have had the same mistakes, and expensive ones like change of transmission, change of cooling system, and all imaginable electric problems. I think I have changed everything that requires electricity in that car. All in all, a very sad story, even though the car drives like a dream when it is driving.

It is like the old story about Jaguar; you need two, so you have one to drive when the other is in the repair shop.