2007 Proton Gen-2 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2007 Proton Gen-2 1.6 Cam Pro from Egypt

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Cam Pro Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance4500 kilometres
Previous carAudi 80

Summary:

A really powerful car

Faults:

The air condition is not really working well.. I hear the compressor go on for 5 seconds only, and then go off, and then on for 5 seconds only and so on.... is it normal? Does anyone have the the same problem ?

This is only a problem with my car? .. Please, I need the help of someone who has a Gen 2.

General Comments:

Everything is nice. It has a really good engine and I don't feel it is so loud. I like driving it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th April, 2007

28th May 2007, 23:38

Hi there... Of course its not normal for your compressor to behave that way, sorry if you like this car you will hate it because of the service center, always no spare parts, not enough engineers and workers, they don't listen to your problem and they just do the routine check up only.

I am from Egypt and I hated this car for two reasons, because its very problematic and because of the service center...

I have a friend who has a Hyundai Matrix and deals with Ghabbour service center, he is very happy with his non - problematic car and he is happy also with a wonderful service center...

2007 Proton Gen-2 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2007
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Faults:

I sat in a lot of proton cars before, but never bought one. I drove a few proton models before, but never considered one. I wanted to get a proton now, but there are other imported models that are more reliable... so how?

Not that I don't want to support my country, but their Proton personnel with their luke warm attitude towards the customers made me mad. The quality made me mad. 22 years of proton and now its going to the grave. Please do something...don't let proton die... lets revive it. Maybe can rename it Putu. (Mayam)

I was proud when Malaysia roll out its first Proton Saga...20 years ago. I am shy when Malaysia roll out its Waja some years ago. 22 YEARS and still not able to rectify much of its problem..

My advice, keep the proton. Maybe value will rise after 50 years if the car still runs as it will be considered an antique.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th April, 2007

15th Apr 2007, 21:53

There is nothing to be proud of, there is nothing that we missed. However, we can consolidate all the models that we built and put into the Museum Negara and show it to the nations that how shameful are we as a Malaysian. Malaysian BOLEH??? Really BOLEH??? I am sure you know what I mean.

2007 Proton Gen-2 1.6 from Egypt

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Lanos

Summary:

I adore this car, please improve QC to be excellent

Faults:

No essential problems.

All problems were minor like centre lock, check light appear twice.

General Comments:

It's a good car compared with its price,and if they improved the quality, it will be perfect car.

Really I love this car very much because of the excellent shape, red lights interior, more options, nice body, perfect handling and riding; you can take any corner at any speed. I always drive it at 170 km/h. Perfect stability with straight roads or not.

And if I had any problems, I didn't hate this car, because I bought a cheap car with more options, and it's Malaysian made, and I respect Malaysian made because they want to improve their products year after year.

So ANYONE THAT HAS THIS CAR, PLEASE TOLERATE ANY PROBLEMS BECAUSE IT'S A NEW CAR, STILL UNDER EXPERIMENT.

Oh, I forgot the fuel consumption is too high, especially in automatic cars 1.6 L (like me) :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2007

9th Apr 2007, 08:59

HI ya shabab.

I got mine among the 1st patch of Gen2's arrived to Egypt, its very nice with many gr8 options, but I need to cool it more, do you know someone has its accessories other than the service center.

12th Apr 2007, 01:30

Hello All.

These days Iam thinking to buy a new car, I considered Gen-2 (1.6/FO/AT) in my list. But some have told me it has problems in the resell as it is not too popular in Egypt. Also I have no info of how well its automatic transmission is operating; and I know nothing about the availability and price of its spare parts in Cairo, Egypt. So if you own this car let me know about its running costs which include, but not limited to: fuel consumption, fixing and repairing costs, and spare parts availability and costs.

Best regards,

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews