Proton Proton Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1992 Proton Proton GLS 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carFiat Multipla

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car, although the windscreen wipers smear a little!

General Comments:

This is a really average car that handles averagely, brakes averagely, accelerates slowly and will always start and get you to work and back.

It used so little fuel that it is actually cheaper than walking!

I've done 12,000 miles in 4 months and it's great - I bought it for £200.00 from a guy in Stevenage whose number I got on the Internet. Had to unsieze the rear brakes (it'd been stood in a driveway for 1 year) and drive it back to Nottingham for the MOT - I thought I had a bargain (and the tank was full), but the fuel gauge was broken and reads 'full' all the time. Still think I've got a bargain!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2002

1989 Proton Proton SE 1.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 miles
Most recent distance196000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf.

Summary:

Best kept Escort bashing secret

Faults:

Nothing. I bought the car as an old wreck with a years MOT for £400. After a good scrub and a clean it came up really well - no exterior rust at all.

The engine is a little rattly, but has been 100% reliable. I've given it a good service and a change of camblelt, and it is sweet as a nut.

General Comments:

An incredibly characterless vehicle, but I'm immensely impressed with its staying power. If you want a reliable vehicle which provides reasonably economical, very well equipped and comfortable transport, then you won't go far wrong with one of these.

If you want everyone to look at you then don't bother. Escort owners laugh at me for some reason, but it's bigger, better equipped, better engineered and cheaper to run that any Fraud Escago.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2001

1991 Proton Proton GLS 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carProton Proton

Summary:

Solid, reliable motoring

Faults:

The rear drum needed changing, due to running with a leaking tire for 3000 miles.

The thermostat was changed after 6 months, previous owner didn't put any antifreeze in the car so it seized.

Both faults were on the car when purchased & I blame them on lack of servicing by the previous owner.

My previous Proton clocked 70,000 miles in 4 years with no faults.

General Comments:

This was my second blue Proton GLS saloon. Both cars died early deaths in accidents.

Seriously solid motoring.

Ultra reliable.

But not up to modern comfort standards.

Be sure to get one with full service history.

Watch out for rust on the back metal bumper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2001

1990 Proton Proton Aeroback 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Very good; I won't be selling it for a long time

Faults:

Nothing mechanical: The sunroof leaks occasionally and that's all (some silicon sealant fixes that in the winter!).

General Comments:

Quite quick for a 1.3 and fairly economical (I get 36 mpg around town, more on a run).

Very reliable; always starts first time (even in sub-zero temperatures when my husband's company Rover struggles). Regular servicing (esp. oil changes every 3000 miles) probably helps.

Spares are cheap but I have to travel to get them as dealers are few and far between. Service parts are readily available from local factors, though.

Feels quite old inside but everything continues to work quite happily. Very good heater, lights, and so on.

The only downside is that the front seats aren't very comfortable if you're 'broad in the beam'!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2000

1990 Proton Proton GL 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

It always chugs along happily

Faults:

Bought cheap and needed some suspension and body work - apart from that, not much at all.

General Comments:

Moves like a tank, will fit a small banana republic in the boot with room to spare - haven't seen the sandwich box since buying it but there you go.

Solid, reliable, dependable cheap motoring but often gets mistaken for a private hire taxi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2000

24th Jun 2002, 05:38

I am a 17 yr old who has just passed my driving test. I was given this car for my birthday and all though I haven't had much chance to drive it yet I think it's a class car. Any one says it looks and drives like a load of rubbish probably have never even driven the thing.

8th May 2004, 07:59

I have had a Proton for just under a year now, and I have had absolutely no problems with it. It is cheap to run and is extremely reliable, always starts first time. It is not the most attractive of cars, but the reliability makes up for it!

3rd Jun 2007, 08:22

I have had a Proton for 7 months and find the car to be extremely reliable, cheap to run and cheap to repair.

I would recommend the car to anyone, I know it doesn't look the best, but a more reliable car is hard to find.

21st Nov 2008, 08:57

We have just bought a 1992 J reg Proton GL with 46,000 on the clock. It's getting on a bit now, but we thought we would go for it as it had such a low mileage for the year.

The bodywork is in amazing condition and the interior looks almost new! It drives very very well and is very quiet and smooth.

The only problem that we have is that the drivers window won't work properly as the inner track has rusted badly; this is probably due to water getting in over the years. We are trying to source a replacement. Other than that... what an amazing car... I wonder how many more of this sort of age are still being used?

1992 Proton Proton Aeroback SE 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.5
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing mechanically, but the area under the hatch floor where the spare tyre is kept fills with water! I think this is a common fault with this model.

General Comments:

I`ve had this car 2 years and have covered 30,000 miles and it has never let me down.

It is well equipped and nice to drive but perhaps a little rough around the edges regarding fit and finish, still, nothing has fallen off yet.

Service parts can be dear, £14.00 for an air filter.

Buy one, keep it serviced and it'll run forever. All those minicab drivers can't be wrong.

And you get a free paddling pool.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2000

10th Aug 2001, 04:30

£14 quid for an air filter? You want to stop buying your parts at Harrods. £3.89 for a Fram air filter at my local parts factor. A Halfords oil filter was only £3.99 and is actually made by Fram.

2nd May 2006, 20:23

I was a student and had not much money. Bought one cheap and when all over UK with it and it never fail me. Gave it to a friend before going home.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 10 reviews