Proton Proton Reviews

2001 Proton Proton Gli 1.5 SOHC from Brunei

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 kilometres
Most recent distance52000 kilometres

Summary:

Cheap with medium quality

Faults:

No Problem at all because I serviced my car every 5000 km or every two months by dealer.

General Comments:

It's fun to drive at 120km/h to 180km/h.

But it's too noisy from inside.

Handle well.

Priced about $19000 (Brunei Dollars)

More cheaper if you bought it for cash!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

1990 Proton Proton 1500GLS 1.5 OHC 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 OHC 8v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Motoring's best kept secret!

Faults:

Radiator was leaky and replaced with one from a breakers for £10 Same with drive shaft and CV joint, carb was replaced with a 1991 item, sunroof leaked, before a terminal electrical failure.

Excluding petrol and consumables, I had 53000 miles of motoring in 18 months for less than £200 including the purchase price.

General Comments:

I bought the car for £100 with a long MOT, it always ran beautifully with a surprisingly eager engine, the fuel economy dropped off and I replaced the carb with one off another proton that I had bought for £20 for parts, normal service resumed once more, apart from replacing the rad and the drive shaft, she was boringly reliable and sailed through an MOT, until one night all electrical power was lost, the MOT was nearly up and I had just bought another car so I left her and walked away, I had no losses to cut!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2003

13th Jun 2003, 05:35

Left her where?

Hopefully in a scrap yard and not at the side of the road to become a dangerous eyesore.

6th Nov 2007, 17:51

Left it where it lay down, but phoned the scrappy and it was away within the hour, even the AA doesn't recover that quickly!

1999 Proton Proton Perdana V6 2.0 petrol from Malaysia

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1811 kilometres
Most recent distance147891 kilometres
Previous carProton Wira

Summary:

Value for money

Faults:

The car's absorbers wear off too early. Slightly after the third year, the true colors of the suspension system will prevail.

General Comments:

The interior specifications should offer digital effects impact such as digital climate control for its air condition, refined speed meter that comes with an option of digital or mono, the car seat should be more bucket-like for front passenger and driver, front and rear bumper equipped with sonar sensor (because most Perdana will surely get dented and scratches when coming to parking the vehicle. These little things will make more value for money as well as reliability for every owner owners to be. I further would like to stress that the horse power should be increased by an additional of 30 to 50 horse power. Than you are even better than Honda (Accord 2.2)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th May, 2003

1992 Proton Proton GLS 1.5 triple valve from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 triple valve Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired122332 miles
Most recent distance126661 miles

Summary:

Good family saloon

Faults:

The radiator leaks, and has done since I owned the car, but I plugged it with barr's radiator seal.

The gaskets are creating too much pressure, resulting in the radiator hose blowing at 125000 miles.

Sunroof leaks.

Driver's side window won't go down.

Passenger side window will go down, but falls off the tracking.

Doesn't like going into first gear.

General Comments:

Although I have a rather large list of faults for my Proton, I bought it because family members have owned the same model, and never had any problems.

Personally I found it very average to drive, with poor acceleration, but good power from 15-60mph.

The interior is nothing special, and the seats are comfortable. There is plenty of room inside the car, but head room is lacking, and that's coming from someone who is 5'9.

The car handles reasonable well, but shifts its weight poorly in corners.

It's unleaded.

Does 100 miles for 13.35 liters.

Low tax group.

Group 8 insurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th February, 2003

25th Mar 2003, 04:34

Not a bad review, had the same problems with my own proton.

The person who sold it to you was running it with no water in the radiator.

20th Jan 2006, 14:08

My 1991 Proton 1.5 GLS Aeroback has been in our family from new as I inherited it 4 years ago from my Mum who bought a Mercedes. The car has been converted to LPG and has now clocked 146,000. It has a few minor problems with a leaky sunroof and corroded window mechanisms, otherwise it is fine with very good bodywork. I drove from Cornwall to Worcester last week and it cost less than £30 return. They are great reliable cars with absolutely no image or street cred! The only things I have replaced are the clutch and the gearbox (from a scrappy). Provided you service them they will go on forever. I am hoping for another 50,000 miles out of mine!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 10 reviews