1988 Renault 5 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1988 Renault 5 Campus 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles

Summary:

Characterful!!

Faults:

Blown head gasket.

Worn driveshafts.

Niggly electrical problems.

Rear wheel brake cylinder.

Dirty fuel system (due to neglect by the previous owner).

Leaking sunroof.

General Comments:

Delightful to drive... nippy around town.

Reliability can be fine, but you must keep an eye on it!!! Very economical and easy to self-service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2001

1988 Renault 5 GT Turbo 1.4 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Fast

Faults:

Accelerator cable.

Fuel mixture screw.

Electric window motor.

Steering rack.

Wheel bearing.

General Comments:

Awesome performance but shame about the reliability and the small amount of people who want one, but aren't prepared to pay for it.

Also attracts Novas etc. like flys around crap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2000

1988 Renault 5 GT Turbo 1.4 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

My car's better than your car...

Faults:

Engine blown on the way home, the seat bolsters snapped, not much more I can break whilst it's immobile.

General Comments:

This car will work again one day, £560 for a new engine, £210 for new Recaro seats and a whole other load things that need doing but at the end of the day it still canes all my mates cars and it still looks dark, get one if you have a need for the finer things on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd October, 2000

1988 Renault 5 GT Turbo 1.4 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Monster Speed! Monster Cost!

Faults:

Cracked the engine block.

Replaced the engine.

Head gasket blew.

Snapped both drive shafts.

Replace the anti-perc motor.

Blew around 50% of the hoses in the engine.

Replaced the alternator and battery but still get bad electrical current!

General Comments:

This car is a nightmare when it comes to reliability! With huge servicing and repair costs it can empty your wallet extremely quickly!

However when everything is going good it is unbelivable. I have never driven a car that puts such a big grin on your face, and the speed, you can take almost anything stupid enough to have a go! If you buy one, make sure you have the number of a good mechanic!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2000

1988 Renault 5 Campus 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Faults:

Have had really strange brake problems, out of balance all the time - fails MOT every year!

General Comments:

I've spent a lot of time and money on my R5 but I love it. Only broken down once in 3 years of ownership (snapped clutch cable in the middle of a busy London street) but apart from that it just goes on and on!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd March, 2000

1988 Renault 5 GTL 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.1
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10

Faults:

Everything, it is the biggest pile of crap I`ve ever had the misfortune to buy, even the bloody seat has broken.

General Comments:

Be prepared for endless starting problems, and general engine trouble. So go and buy a Clio or a Fiesta instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th October, 1999

3rd Dec 2000, 16:19

I have just bought a lovely little Renault 5 GTL, which is superb. It only has 62,000 miles on the clock (not clocked either) and has a beautiful interior for its age (1987). I am very pleased, and have fallen in love with it!

25th Jan 2001, 18:47

I've had a Renault 5 since 1987, my partner has had 2. All 3 cars have been very reliable. Over 5 million were built, and evolved over several years. I wouldn't touch a Fiesta with a barge pole.

1988 Renault 5 Event 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.2
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Rust spots in all the usual places and the throttle cable broke, needed a new alternator but everything else is fine - no leaks or anything. A slight hesitation in accelerating around corners, think there maybe something blocking the fuel flow. A few dash lights such as the electric window light on the passenger side have stopped working also.

Needed a good engine clean out.

General Comments:

Great little car, accelerates very well for a 1.2 and looks good too (Blue Grey colour). It is a 3 door Renault 5 with central locking with a zapper and electric windows. Very plush interior apparently it is a special edition at least that's what the Renault garage said (THE EVENT). I don't know if anyone knows anymore about my car mail me at: 20012162@nene.ac.uk

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 1999

1988 Renault 5 Campus 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

Nothing major. I have had no problems with it at all. The worst I have had is a flat battary. A few rust spots are appearing but nothing that can't be sorted.

General Comments:

A great car for the first time buyer. Very slow but it handles like a gem. It has no overtaking power so you have to time your run ups carefully.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th February, 1999

3rd Nov 2001, 01:58

In contrast to your findings I found the Renault 5, particularly the GTS and the GTX (both non turbo variants) rather nippy, which as I have found are easily capable of achieving speeds in excess of 60km/h (38 mph) in second gear, going up a hill!

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 25 reviews