1993 Renault Clio Reviews

1993 Renault Clio Williams 2.0 16v from Portugal

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired109900 kilometres
Most recent distance118600 kilometres
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

The best hot hatch ever

Faults:

Alternator gone at 111000kms.

General Comments:

Best hot hatch ever.

Best steering feel I ever saw.. better than a MINI Cooper..

The engine is full of torque, with a close ratio gearbox and 950kg.. it's fast without rpms (rev limiter 6500rpm).

Drives on rails... in 3 wheels.. ;)

I will never sell it!!!

Grab yours before prices go up..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2010

1993 Renault Clio Oasis 1.9D from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9D Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Great little Car

Faults:

Master cylinder went at 70mph so no brakes.

Rust on boot lid and rear arches.

Painted to a lovely shade of pink.

Wheel bearings didn't last long.

General Comments:

I bought this car from new in 1993 and had it until the day it died which was my fault as the cam belt snapped as I forgot to get it changed. otherwise I'm sure it would have had a few years left in it.

The car was not the most refined in the world, but it served it perpose and served it very well.

It was cheap to run and had plenty of power for a small car.

We loved this car and took it on long journeys very often without many problems.

The car returned about 50mpg which I was very happy with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2007

1993 Renault Clio 1.4 from Poland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance184000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Really reliable car for 500-1000 USD

Faults:

Comfort is poor, noisy, squeaky, rough ride.

General Comments:

Unbreakable, never went down seriously, only minor, but quite irritating defects. 5,5 - 6 l/100 km in summer, up to 12 (!!!) in city drive in winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th May, 2007

1993 Renault Clio RN 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles

Summary:

Very cheap to buy and run, an ideal first car

Faults:

Needed to pass most recent MOT:

Both front brakes realigned

Small amount of welding on the underside

New Exhaust.

Stalls at idle when at low temperature (<10 minutes after starting) unless you give it gas.

Clutch either on or off, no in between

General Comments:

The crappy clutch allows for gear shifts in a fraction of a second with no jerking of the car (3rd to 4th for example)

Nippy when there's only the driver, when fully loaded with people, slow of the mark.

Really good fuel economy, goes far on the 9gal tank.

Small and maneuverable.

No power steering on the RN, but light weight and size means the steering is only heavy with maneuvers, not driving.

Cheap parts readily available in the UK.

My first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th June, 2006

1993 Renault Clio RN 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Previous carRenault 5

Summary:

Good apart from the clutch and heater

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 100-000 miles.

Heater went at 50.000 miles.

General Comments:

Given it is a early basic model it was good value for money when I bought it 7 years ago...however...

Something I have never managed to understand is the absolutely awful clutch action (I believe in the trade is is called 'the bite') even now after 7 years I am still stalling the bloody thing! I have had two new clutch assemblies put in, but nothing much changed.. the clutch action can be more or less described as; it is either off or on! there is very little in between.. how could renault design such an awful clutch... BEWARE EARLY MODEL CLIOS WITH SEVERE CLUTCHES!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th February, 2006

1993 Renault Clio 16v 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Great performance, good looks and fun to drive!!!

Faults:

Noticed that the sunroof leaks and causes roof lining to get wet.

Drivers seat has worn badly down the right hand side.

Also the fan fuse keeps popping causing the car to overheat, very faulty wiring on the Clio.

General Comments:

Overall the car is great fun and so rare to own, a real head turner although its been quite expensive to maintain! The performance is great and the insurance is reasonable too! it is a hot hatch to be remembered for sure!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th December, 2005

1993 Renault Clio 16v 180 from UK and Ireland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 180 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Generally good cars, but my one is ****

Faults:

Many things have gone wrong with the car. Clutch, steering rack, engine mountings, throttle sensor, lambada sensor, rear calipers lock on passenger side and blew my pads off and 70mph on the motorway. Loads more stuff that I can't even remember! There has been so much stuff!

General Comments:

Really fast little hot hatch. Faster than a 172 and the same as a williams. Handles like a dream!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th November, 2005

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 40 reviews