1993 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 6 of 8

1993 Renault Clio RSi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

110BHP dodgem

Faults:

All 4 discs had to be replaced.

Aerial seal leaking causing water to pour into the car when going round corners (thought this might have been the sunroof).

Alternator packed up at 70K miles (had to get it reconditioned due to cost).

General Comments:

Quick wee car especially when fitted with a K&N induction kit and a magnex exhaust (absolutely destroys Golf GTi's and the like).

Corners OK, but the suspension could/should be better.

Pick-up on motorways is most impressive, overtaking is fuss free, and the RSi will sit at 100mph+ without pushing the car too much (although this will eat the petrol in no time!!!)

Overall, a fun car to drive with the added bonus of the insurance not being crippling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2001

1993 Renault Clio RSi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Cheaper than a 306 and more fun

Faults:

I have not had any problems. But the previous owner had lots of problems with the sunroof LEAKING, he spent a total of £500 on fixing it. He had all the history of the car and that seems about the only problem.

General Comments:

This car is great fun to drive, brings a BIG SMILE to my face every time I drop it down a gear and boot it. I will be doing a few modifications soon, but it's not cheap? K/N filter (£80.00), but the extra bhp could be fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2001

28th Jun 2001, 03:59

Do it! I've got a Clio RSi and after the modifications (K&N induction kit (£76) and full magnex system (£186)), as well as a sweet induction noise and throbbing exhaust note, there is a lot more throttle response too, go for it...

If you can get it lowered do it, I couldn't stand the massive gap between the wheel and arch's - 40mm drop is perfect (wheels now fill the arches).

10th Aug 2001, 09:18

I would have to say... go for a Pipercross filter.. they cost less and "I think" they are better over a period of time.

You may also want to look at the Scorpion range of exhausts!

1993 Renault Clio RSi 1.8 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Lots of problems, but still a great drive

Faults:

Wheel bearings (3 times).

Front discs replaced (4 times).

Gear box bearings at 42000 miles.

Distributor cap cracked at 48000 miles.

Alternator blew up killing the battery 52000 miles.

Clutch cable snapped at 32000 miles.

Sun roof leaked + jammed open (electrics corroded).

General Comments:

As you see above, a few problems!

Thing is, I still love it.

Looks good, handles good, goes good.

The most fun car I have owned.

Be prepared to pay high servicing and repair costs.

The driving position will not suit all, especially 6 footers (height not feet!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th April, 2001

1993 Renault Clio RT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36800 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carRenault 19 TXE

Summary:

Economical, well equipped and very comfortable

Faults:

Sun roof leak.

Track rod ends.

Top suspension mounts shot.

General Comments:

Pleased with the car for the 22 months that I owned it.

I found it very reliable and a pleasing car to drive, with high 30's MPG and comfort and performance. The addition of a low group 5 insurance was also a bonus.

The equipment spec on the RT is excellent for such a small car and outshines its rivals in terms of equipment and comfort.

The driving experience is also very pleasurable with 80 bhp on tap it keeps things cooking nicely and allows comfortable cruising. It is quite a bit more sprightly than other 1400cc cars in its class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2001

24th Jan 2002, 06:18

I have had the same problem with my sunroof leaking. Were you able to rectify the problem and if so how was it done?

26th May 2008, 08:04

Hi there I have a Renault 19 1.4 8v I was just wondering as your car got the energy engine because mine as and its doing about 40mpg in less you got a heavy foot.

1993 Renault Clio Fiji 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Good when the problems are fixed

Faults:

First things I had to change when I got the car were the brake pads as they were worn right down to the metal.

A hundred miles later I was going through too much petrol and had to get the engine krypton tuned and air filter replaced.

New exhaust 8000 miles later.

Wheel bearing replaced a few hundred miles ago and new strut and spring.

There was water leaking in the sunroof and doors after my car was broken into and the thieves stole my sound system.

Next for the Clio is a K&N air filter and lowering the suspension to improve the road holding.

Max Speed: 110.

General Comments:

The car is very fast for a 1400cc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2001

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 40 reviews