2003 Renault Clio Expression 1.4 from Greece


Very nice super mini which can easily travel


The alarm button was damaged at 32,000 Km. Replaced for 18 Euro.

Ignition cable cut off (probably due too bad tightening of the screw holding it) at 35,000 Km. 25 Euro for replacement.

A/B light was on, due to damaged passenger A/B switch. I had never used that switch actually, and we spent some time in order to locate the problem. In the 3rd visit to Renault they finally found it. 21 Euro for replacement.

General Comments:

I liked very much the car appearance.

Quick and good handling.

Not spacious due to its size (3,77m), but on the other hand very good when parking was the issue.

Economical and in general low running costs.

Decent quality.

Good safety kit (4AB, ABS)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2008

2003 Renault Clio Extreme 1.2 from UK and Ireland


Nice car let down by maybe a simple computer fault


Coil light comes on anywhere between once a month and 20 times a week.

General Comments:

Decent performance.

Nice looking car.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th July, 2007

2003 Renault Clio 65 Dci 1.5 from UK and Ireland


It sucks!


The preheating/electronic fault lamp comes on while driving, after which the car will lose power and fail to accelerate.

General Comments:

Good on fuel economy, and affordable insurance. Unfortunately, those are THE ONLY positives. On power and reliability, it's just crap!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2007

18th Jan 2008, 04:47

In contrast to this user I have had few problems with my 54 plate 1.5dCi (65). Acquired at 56k now at 72k. The fuse for the cigarette socket has blown a couple of times, although this may be due to the devices I use in it. The CD player plays up occasionally and I suspect will need to be replaced eventually. Fuel economy is amazing... best I have got is 87 mpg over a 40 mile journey. Averages 67 mpg in summer, but seems to drop closer to 60 mpg in cold weather. Even driving quite heavily I get mid 50's. At £35 per year tax, I can't complain. Biggest problem I have encountered is poor luck in needing brake pads and discs, service, cambelt and tyres at the same time. Mine is an Extreme3 which gives excellent value for the extra equipment. The boot space is massive for a city car.

2003 Renault Clio Billabong (Dynamique) 1.2 from UK and Ireland


Wish I would have bought a Ford


After 48000 miles, the car started to chug and cut out, runs very rough. I took it into a local dealer where they told me the car requires two new injectors, and a part for the engine managment system. Total cost £620!! This seems to be really excessive for a four year old car that has averaged 12000 miles a year.

Renault after sales care is appalling, and having read all comments on this website with regard to Renault Clios, it seems this is a common fault. I won't be buying a Renault again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2007

3rd Nov 2007, 13:56

My neighbour has an 04 Clio. Has called the AA out twice. 1st time no. 3 coil to injector; replaced. 2nd time no. 1 was replaced. This on a car with a genuine 14k on the clock. Cost £60 each time.

26th Aug 2008, 12:54

I wouldn't necessarily suggest Fords are any better. I've never received service from a Ford dealer that has been anywhere near the level of service I get from my local Renault dealers. Example - When the battery went flat on my Clio (after 5 years) the radio needed recoding - Renault did this for free, as opposed to Ford who when my battery on my Fiesta went flat after 8 months (from new) charged £25 + VAT!

2003 Renault Clio Dynamique Billabong 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland


A good but flawed car


Faulty suspension strut on the left side, rattling sunroof & brake discs warped.

General Comments:

I bought the car about a year ago & have found it to be a lovely little car. It goes well around town and on the motorway.

The fuel ecconomy is OK, nothing to write home about, usually get about 38mpg, rarely get 48mpg, that's with carefull driving.

The AC is nothing amazing & the sunroof rattles like hell.

The rain sensor is not brilliant at picking up rain on the screen.

I had the front suspension strut, brake discs & pads changed with my private mechanic & saved £200 compared to my local Renault dealer.

Besides all the problems, I like the car.

Does any one think that the windscreen wiper set up is bad?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th April, 2007