2006 Renault Clio Reviews

2006 Renault Clio 1.4 16 V from Lebanon

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.4 16 V Automatic
Distance when acquired149850 kilometres
Most recent distance153600 kilometres
Previous carRenault 12

Summary:

Wonderful

Faults:

I'm paying a lot of money for fuel.

One liter = 7.5 kilometers; is that normal? My friends they said about their cars: one liter = 13.0 kilometers.

They told me to change the oxygen sensor, but it doesn't work.

I would like to know what should I test to make it better?

General Comments:

It's great car. I like it too much. I think in the future I will buy another one from the same company.

I like Renault cars; it's very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th April, 2011

2006 Renault Clio III Expression 1.2 16v from Turkey

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles

Summary:

Economic, reliable, stylish little city runner

Faults:

One of the tail lights went off at 200 miles - replaced under warranty.

The catalytic converter failed at 6000 miles - the part was delivered faulty from the factory according to the service people. Replaced under warranty.

The overheat warning light came on at 10000 miles - service mistakenly left the fan's electric connector disconnected.

General Comments:

I've been driving this car for over one year, so I think I'm qualified enough to evaluate it.

First of all, I think it's a pretty decent little car with low running costs. The car's performance is satisfactory considering it has a tiny engine.

Handling is better than I thought. The car rides very smooth on highway. Shock absorbers work nice on bumpy roads. Stability at high speeds is very satisfactory. The top speed I reached was 140 mph and the car was still stable. Car doesn't take much noise inside the cabin, until you hit 80 mph.

The trunk capacity is far from small for a super mini.

Safety stats were a big buying point for me.

Fuel economy is phenomenal for a gasoline car. I get about 35 MPG in city and 45-50 highway..

I like the design of the car. Being an aerospace engineer, I consider myself meticulous about the car's design, largely about aerodynamic performance, drag coefficients etc. But I think Renault designers did a really nice work on Clio's front end design.

Despite the car being considered overall good, it still has some negative points: There's no sign of comfort in the back seats. Long uphills become a pain shortly; a 1.2 liter engine is no good for mountain climbs.

Although it has a few drawbacks, I like this car and am completely satisfied with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2009

25th Nov 2010, 00:27

140 MPH?. That is a lot quicker than my Mark 3 1.5 Diesel!. Maybe should have been KPH, not MPH??

28th Jul 2013, 06:33

Well there was a slight downward slope when I hit 140. That tiny 1.2 engine by no means capable of reaching 140 on its own of course.

28th Jul 2013, 08:15

I don't think it would hit 140mph even if you threw it out of an aeroplane...

15th Sep 2013, 11:34

I can barely get 110 out of mine; 140 is a massive doubt.

2006 Renault Clio Campus Sport 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance3945 miles

Faults:

Hiya, my more or less brand new last of the old new shape clio's has developed a rather mysterious fault, the problem first manifested on the outside lane of the m4 (at 80mph) the car developed a splutter and the revs and throttle jammed at 3,000rpm this was a bit of a hairy issue as it occured in rush hour traffic.. try coasting through 2 lanes of lorries with no power! The oil light disappeared then occasionally flickered up with either 0 2 or 4 bars (normal) at this point I wondered if it was an overheating problem, why don't Renault or manufacturers on the whole sell an overdrive kit!? I was however able to restart the car and limp to my destination braking revving and dipping the clutch at the same time is bloody awkward though! Later the car completely cut out on me and refused to restart, it in my humble opinion seems/ed to be fuel starvation, but this is different from the nightmarish situation that occured on the motorway! I've still got to try the Renault dealer, that's tomorows job. Though reading these posts should I just blow the car up?? Its only 6months old!!

Will.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th February, 2007

19th Sep 2007, 13:53

Hi there, after reading the previous comment on the Clio Campus Sport, I would like to add my opinion as I do not feel that this car has been given the justice it deserves. I'm sorry to hear you haven't had much luck with your Clio though.. maybe you were just really unlucky.

I bought a Clio Campus Sport brand new in April 2006 (06 plate) and I can honestly say it has been a fantastic car, and I haven't had a single problem with it; even after 18000 miles, (apart from needing a new back window fitted after the valeting company scratched off my heating element whilst cleaning my car) but that's another story!

Everything from the word go has been perfect:- wonderful service, a bunch of flowers from the dealer when I picked my new car up, a follow up phone call to check everything was OK, and the complete re-assurance that if there were any problems, no matter how small, just to bring the car back and it would be covered under warranty for 3 years.

Being the Sport model, the car has a very good spec with metallic paint, electric windows, CD player, body coloured bumpers, trip computer, sports seats, central locking, leather s-wheel/gearstick and much much more as standard, and as it is only a 1.2, the insurance is also very reasonable.

The car drives lovely and it definitely doesn't sound like a 1.2 when it is sitting on the motorway, as the engine is quieter than most cars in its class.

I would honestly recommend this car to anyone as it is brilliant for the price (I paid approx £9000), and like I mentioned, I haven't had one problem with it; which I certainly can't say for any other car I have ever bought!

The only negative factor I can think of is the rate of depreciation, as at 1 1/2 years old, my car has lost almost half of its value if I was to trade it in against a new one. If you plan to have the car for a few years though, then this shouldn't worry you in the slightest as everyone knows the biggest margin is within the first year.

:)

10th Oct 2007, 16:12

You shouldn't have pushed the car on to its destination, particularly if the oil warning light was on. You should have had it recovered.

As the car is only six months old I would have thought everything would be covered under warranty.

3rd Apr 2008, 13:30

Had similar problems with 05 model Renault Clio 1.2 found the problem to be with the Lambda sensor in the exhaust. It took them two attempts to find but I got a free set of plugs out of it. Hope this is of help.

21st Sep 2009, 03:52

Mate. It's the alternator valve, happened to me...

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews