1998 Renault Espace Reviews

1998 Renault Espace rxe 2.2 dt from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 dt Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55542 miles
Most recent distance63896 miles
Previous carCitroen Xsara

Summary:

Nice, but expensive to run, with no value

Faults:

Value has dropped dramatically. they don't hold their value. haven't had problem with computer yet. tried to sell car, but no one seems interested. very hard to sell. I wouldn't buy another, although it is an extremely comfy bus, and can be very economical on a run. I did a run of 1013 miles and it cost £130 in November 05. fantastic. only buy one if you are going to keep it 100 years!!!

General Comments:

Car is quick without you noticing it. can be doing around 90-100 and think I'm doing 65. very dangerous if there are any cops/speed cameras. very comfy & spacious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2006

1998 Renault Espace RX-T 2.2 DT from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 DT Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carRenault Espace

Summary:

Too costly a mistake

Faults:

Headgasket blew at 72000, Cost £900 After owing for the for just a week (2nd hand).

Hydraulic Clutch Failed at the same time, Cost £600.

Door seals need replacing.

Needs new injectors, Renault said the engine need to come out for this.

Disgraceful tyer wear

General Comments:

A very nice car to drive let down by built quality and cost to look after.

The 2.2DT give amazing performance, you think your in a much smaller car at times and it even puts out 40mpg, add this to all the space and comfort you get and it should be the best car on the road, ITS NOT!

When things go wrong they cost a FORTUNE and due to the restricted space under the bonnett they also take WEEKS to fix if its anything major.

Car Cost £3500 plus trade in on my old mark 2 "L" Reg LPG Espace, I wish I had not done it now, So much so this is now for sale.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd October, 2004

5th Oct 2004, 12:25

Just to add I have now traded in the espace for a peugeot 406, I was so fed up with the espace I decided to cut my losses, and I lost around £3000, not happy.

6th Oct 2004, 15:08

Renault... YEP are utter C+++. I have never known a new car to have so many faults, and your right they cost a fortune to repair. What is a shame, being that Renault build GREAT looking cars.

Thankfully we sold the piece of junk (Scenic), some other POOR sole will be enduring it.

4th Mar 2005, 05:54

I'd have to agree, my friend and I both have a Renault grand espace, we now class ourselves as being in the "£500+ club" because every time we end up at the garage with our espace it costs £500 or more.

Computer clocks - £583

Air conditioning unit - £630...TWICE!!

Unless you've recently won the lottery it's not the car for you... if there's a fault with the computers your stuffed, only Renault can deal with it, and they know it!!!

4th May 2005, 11:37

I am the author of this review.

I have now sold the Pug 406 (very good car, but too small so our needs)

We have now purchased a Peugeot 806, thought I would add comments here as the is no section for a 806 review, We have the 8 seat 1.9tdi model, it has done 170k miles and is so much better than the espace in all, but 1 area, the looks, you can beat the look of the phase 3 espace, the 806 is a great car though, so good I am considering making my next car a new lower mileage 806, EXCELLENT.

1998 Renault Espace RXE 2.2td from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2td Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

When it goes, excellent

Faults:

Heating matrix expired at 36719 miles.

Water pump expired at 45060 miles.

Heating matrix expired again at 64000 miles.

General Comments:

Renault paid for the repairs for the first two problems, and admitted there was a generic problem. However this time, the third, no interest from Renault customer relations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2004

1998 Renault Espace RT 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Pajero

Summary:

Far too expensive for the standard received.

Faults:

The gear selector broke at 65,000 miles, causing the timing belt to break, that in-turn bent the valves and damaged the pistons.

The complete exhaust needed replacing at 68,000 miles.

Corrosion on wiring to front offside headlight at 70,000 miles.

Steering problems at 71,000 miles.

General Comments:

Replacement parts have to be from Renault. This is very expensive and time consuming.

When all seats are in use there is no luggage space. However, the removable seating is very useful.

It is a good large family vehicle. That is comfortable, but expensive to run and maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2004

23rd Mar 2005, 15:37

I feel sorry for anyone who has unexpected expense for car repairs, but I feel lucky (so far) with my current Renault Espace, which has now done 159000 Km. I am about to collect a replacement Espace this weekend which I hope to run for at least four years without any problems. The Renault Espace is ideal for my situation and I prefer the Renault to any of the large number of similar vehicles available. They also hold their secondhand value better.

17th Nov 2008, 13:58

I have a 1998 2.0 petrol rt-x and oh boy is it costing me. In the last 4 months it's had a replacement gear box, which still ain't 100%.

Back box just fell off, £97.

Was told the whole exhaust won't last much more than a few months.

Two brake discs at £63 EACH. And all the relevant bits total £224. And not to mention the amount ofn ££££ that go in the tank.

In my opinion a lovely, comfortable car with enough room for a large family, but if you have a large family like me, how do you run it? Very costly ££££££££

26th Mar 2012, 16:53

Any idea how to find a diagram online to fit a new fan belt?? Or do you have a Haynes manual you would sell me or email me said page out of?

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 10 reviews