1998 Renault Espace Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1998 Renault Espace RXT 2.2dT 2.2-liter turbo diesel from France

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2-liter turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance102000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Espace

Summary:

Good deal, but service has to improve on

Faults:

A leak at the top of the fuel tank made the car difficult to start (air bubbles in the pipes). But it was fixed for free by Renault.

I am also experiencing several minor (but annoying) electrical problems : the seat belts warning light does not work, the radio sometimes goes off for a couple of seconds on bad roads, the lighting of some switches does not work,... But all this was reported by Renault as "too expensive to fix"!!!

General Comments:

Great car! The family (and the dog) love it. Comfortable, easy to drive, even in town, even with 7 on board, lots of torque,...

I just regret it is a bit noisy on motorways, say over 130 kph / 80 mph.

I sold my previous ESPACE 2000TSE with 241,000 km / 150,000 miles on the clock and intend to do the same with this one :o)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2002

1998 Renault Espace RTX -Auto 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carRenault Espace

Summary:

Nice, but expensive to keep on the road

Faults:

Auto Box replaced at 55,000.

Head Gasket / Valve burnt at 78,000.

Many seat belt service required warnings - traced eventually (4 years) to poor connector under seat!

Now getting occasional Gearbox warnings again.

General Comments:

Very Comfortable, can travel 600 miles in a day with ease.

Auto box version needs a bigger engine.

Excellent dealer support! (I must be one of the lucky ones)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th September, 2002

1998 Renault Espace RXE dT 2.2 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carFord Galaxy

Summary:

A very nice car

Faults:

I have had repeated problems with the airbag computer saying it needs a service. It gets one then announces a couple of weeks later that it needs another one. I'm a bit concerned that the airbag might go off for no reason, and the dealership were checking very carefully so maybe they think the same.

Also the footwell carpet fasteners come adrift. But that's minor niggle.

General Comments:

It's a very quiet, smooth car, and the 2.2 diesel engine is excellent with plenty of low speed torque for around town yet it will cruise comfortably at 100mph - oops, in theory I mean of course.

The build is not bad but I suspect it will start falling apart after 3 or 4 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2000

22nd Dec 2000, 08:31

I've been seeing similar issues with the computer showing a faulty airbag. What did you do to remedy this?

17th Jan 2001, 19:45

I have the same problem on a 3.0 RXE. Sometimes the 'service Airbag' screen will show and other times it shows 'OK'. Has anyone discovered the problem?

29th Jan 2002, 12:47

Look at the connector under the seats.

The solution on my car was checking and cleaning the contacts that go to the pyrotechnical belt holders.

1998 Renault Espace RTX 2.1 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.1 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carRenault Espace

Summary:

A very costly mistake

Faults:

Constant problems with the clutch pedal and gear changing, resulting in a new clutch assembly after 3 months and a complete new gear box after 4 months.

Door closure problems right from new, uncounted new door seals, driver's door out of line, seal sticking. Still ongoing after two years.

Tailgate door wrongly aligned and difficult to close.

Poor tyre wear. Front tyres changed after 3,000 miles. Renault paid.

General Comments:

Feel badly let down by Renault, I previously drove exactly the same model for three years prior to changing to this new model. The gear box had changed, and now renault have reverted back to the old box. I have lost count of the number of times I have been back to Renault. I feel the service has been poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th September, 2000

27th Nov 2002, 07:46

I also had 2 new door seals on a 3yr vehicle. Seems to be a common problem.

1st Apr 2003, 07:22

Extremely upset, I need a new gear box in my '98 Automatic Megane... Costing €4,000... Disgraceful...

1998 Renault Espace RXE TD 2.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carRenault Espace

Summary:

Poor quality for a top of the range model

Faults:

Faulty oil warning several times - see comments.

Front doors out of alignment.

Leaking sun roof.

General Comments:

Oil warning light kept appearing from the first 1000 miles. Renault as of today, some 2 years later, have still not got it sorted. They have however given me a 3 year extended warranty for my inconveniance

This is my second Espace for which I paid over 26,000 pounds, I don't think I shall have another!

The car is not what I would expect for a top of the range model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2000

1998 Renault Espace RTX 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

Steering judder when braking between 50 and 65 mph, started at 15,000 miles. Problem known about by Renault - solution replace front disks and pads.

Outer door seal on front door sticking.

General Comments:

Good design, bit concerned about build quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 1999

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 10 reviews