1985 Renault Fuego Turbo 1.6 ohv turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Really fast and awesome

Faults:

Spark plugs adjusted to the wrong gap IE too wide so that the car misfired under boost.

Gearbox failed so we had to replace it.

General Comments:

This car is awesome everybody should have one.

It is seriously underrated.

They should start making them again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

20th Aug 2008, 06:07

This is indeed a great car to have. For that era, the response was great, relatively good steering response, when brought up to speed runs well.

Issues with wrong brake pad led to brake fade but thankfully no accidents. Wrong spark gap also gave me misfiring on boost.

Overall lovely car - am writing this with a smile as memories with the car flood back.

1985 Renault Fuego 2.2 liter from North America

Summary:

Piece of junk

Faults:

What not?

Clutch went bad, was replaced twice (it is not my driving, I had more than 100K miles on clutches in all my other vehicles)

Radiator leaked, water hoses broke

Power steering rack leaked and had to be replaced

Engine mount broke, engine dropped...

Alternator died

Oil pan hit the road and broke, twice.

Rear light stopped working

Air conditioner worked on an intermittent basis...

Catalytic converter clogged, was replaced by the AMC dealer with no charge after some arguments.

General Comments:

This was by far the worst car I have ever owned. Almost all systems failed. Design was incredibly wrong (for example, the oil pan is very low, and the oil plug sticks down, so that if there is any obstacle on the road, or even if you drive too fast over a bump, the oil pan simply break). I could never count on it operating. It used to go to the garage more often than service us. The day I sold that piece of junk was one of the happiest days in my life!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th October, 2002

13th May 2003, 18:46

Funny Steve I had the same car and I have to say I spent $3500 to buy it and other than new struts put $0 into it. I loved that car ran it for ten years. I would still own it, but I wore the brakes out and new parts were getting hard to find.

1985 Renault Fuego GTX 2.0 cc OHC turbo custom from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Excellent, good fun and reliable cheap motoring

Faults:

Nothing to do with the 'Renault' build of the car except some minor electrical issues, turbo issues and a few miscellaneous issue -

Occasional dirty electrical connection.

Dead short on a spade connector floating around at the front of the engine bay (who did this... previous owner) led to wire burn out - quickly rectified:)

Noisy belts.

Failed turbo oil seals on after market fitted unit. Fitted second hand unit off a Nissan Skyline which is also about to fail.

Fuel line 'popped' off under boost in the engine bay resulting in a 'flash' but no fire (miracle?) :)

Engine tends to detonate under boost above 6 psi (J6R engine has a high compression ratio) however there is no inter cooler fitted. I have built and installed a water injection kit injecting the water via a fogging nozzle after the turbo compressor. This works VERY well at limiting detonation and allowing an increase in boost to be applied.

After the second turbo was fitted the old exhaust manifold gasket began to leak. This was diagnosed by a 'new' mechanic in my life as a worn water pump (later he said that I had melted a piston!). He changed the water pump and whilst at it did the timing belt and tensioner, flushed the radiator, changed the thermostat and replaced the cooling fan thermo switch (after burning out some more cabling as he did not test the cabling for faults first). All was in vane because all that was wrong was the exhaust maniflod gasket needed replacing (they should have done this in the first place). All other units were still in good condition (I was ripped off by the first mechanic although I think he meant well). Gasket replaced FOC by Turbo mechanic - All OK!! Engine now running a little hotter than before I took it in for the 'ticking' sound. I fixed this myself later on.

Squawking windscreen wipers.

The engine will run hot on city cycle traffic with ambient temps above 28 degree Celsius. To combat this fit a cooler opening thermostat and a manual over ride switch on the dual cooling fans. Easy!

If you get the chance - change the wheels from the metric wheels to 14 or 15 inch rims as the tyres that fit these are better and cheaper.

General Comments:

I was sceptical that this car would hold up over time. My last Renault, a 16TS lasted the first owner 250,000 kms and then me 200,000 kms (one engine change - second hand fitted with new clutch). This Renault looks like it will last very well indeed.

The car has considerable torque down in the low rpm range however the motor tends to thrash a bit at higher rpm. Max boost thus far with water injection is 10 psi with a relay fitted that retards the timing by 6 degree under boost above 4 psi when the water injection comes on. Approx 105 KW @ 5500 rpm.

The build quality of the car is good. It is nearly 20 years old and still looks fantastic. The interior has lasted very well in high Australian ambient temps.

This car is not fuel injected which would be nice. Tends to idle a little rough requiring a higher idle speed for smoothness - approx 1000 rpm.

With 2 ltr Turbo power, always starts and keeps running, good economy, comfortable interior, air-con, power steering, power windows, leather steering wheel and other trims, custom paint job, Pirelli tyres and a Pioneer stereo I believe I have got a great car for Australian $3000. That goes without saying really.

Awesome car - solid as a rock. Handles well under speed and braking. Puts most of the torque to the road.

I would not recommend this car to some one who knows little or nothing about motor vehicles. It requires consideration and care for longevity and reliability. Good lubricants, coolants and fuels. Attention to all all operating parameters is also wise. This is a enthusiasts car more than an every day buzz box. Generally people who have disliked these cars have done so because it was already shagged when they got it, or they did a very good job of shagging it themselves and don't understand (or care) what it was that they did.

If your into Renaults and like to play with them then this is a good buy.

Jamie.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2002

1985 Renault Fuego GTX 2.0 litre SOHC 8v from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A modern classic with a real feel-good factor

Faults:

Only minor electrical faults.

Connection problems with RH tail light.

Connection problem with the rear wiper.

Trip computer required specialist work although not expensive.

Any faults seem to be minor and common to all Fuegos.

General Comments:

This has been my second Fuego (the first one was used as a main car and driven to 100,000 miles). I know of Fuegos approaching 200,000 miles and still going strong.

Both have been totally reliable, comfortable, and thoroughly enjoyable to own.

The design inside and out has aged very well. You would never guess it dates back 20 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2001

1985 Renault Fuego from North America

Summary:

I got what I paid for - $500 of car

Faults:

Turn signal switch has broken twice.

Car overheats in 5 minutes of rush hour traffic.

Antifreeze leaks.

Oil leaks.

Car doesn't always start.

The car always smells of exhaust.

The front seats no longer fold down.

Doesn't like to drive well in the heavy rain and in the snow.

This car is a constant anxiety attack, but it's nice to have a mechanic in the family.

General Comments:

This car does handle very well on dry days.

It is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th July, 2001

1985 Renault Fuego GTS 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A medium/slow performing car but with futuristic streamlined looks

Faults:

Electrics, lights, overheating etc.

General Comments:

I bought the car for 150 quid and added a new exhaust etc to get an MOT. The car is very 'revvy' with quite low gear ratios.

The 1.6 engine is good off the mark but lacks real power as it is quite a big heavy coupe. It has been reasonably reliable but isn't driven any more due to the insurance price being stupidly high as I am only 18.

I would love a GTX or especially the Turbo model but insurance prevents this :(

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2000