1994 Renault Laguna Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1994 Renault Laguna RN 1.8 from Greece

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance19500 kilometres
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

A fun to drive, stylish family car

Faults:

Battery off at 10.000 km (to be fair, the car was left for almost 2 weeks with its engine off) and being replaced by a more powerful one.

Dust intruding somehow in the boot. Really irritating, as I haven't found the solution yet.

General Comments:

Unfortunately, the car's horsepower (95hp) is inadequate. I love the engine's torque, though!

Grip and handling beyond logic. Brakes also very powerful.

Suspension and seats extremely relaxing, interior space really big and of high quality.

I love its design, in and out. Especially the front part with the "nose", can't be confused with anything else!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2001

24th Jul 2001, 04:57

Hello there!

I am truly sorry that this beautiful, expressive and aggressive Renault "nose" doesn't exist any more... I really wonder why the new Laguna doesn't have this characteristic mask any more. If you see an old Laguna next to a new en face, you'll understand what I'm talking about. The new looks too conservative for me, at least as concerns the front part; it looks like any other car, a Vectra or a 406 for example! I can't figure out why Patrick Le Quement (the man who created Twingo, Laguna 1, Megane phase 1, Clio etc.) lacks good ideas any more. As a matter of fact, I can by no means understand why that silly-looking Vel Satis is regarded as a successfully designed car. Concluding, although Laguna II is an astonishing car overall, allow me to keep my "old" Laguna as much as I can. And leave the "new" one trying to steal few eyes from the original!

Yours,

A sincere Laguna lover.

13th Jan 2004, 09:27

I own a Laguna 1 SW since 1997, bought new. It now has 124000Km. History: cambelt replaced at 70000Km exhaust front discs and shock absorbers replaced at 90000Km, now water pump, windshield cleaner pump and rear brake pumps just replaced. Don't mention consumables such as tires, disc brake pads and so on.

Never left me on the road, has been the most reliable car I had. I now have to change, and I don't like the aesthetics of its successor. Probably moving either to an Alfa 155 (less space) or to a PT Cruiser. My other car is a Fiat Barchetta, also bought new on 2003...

The only things I don't like on my Laguna: engine lacks power, outside plastics fade with time and the steering wheel peels off with time.

1994 Renault Laguna RT 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carVolksvagen Passat

Summary:

Shapely family car, but too often painful to drive

Faults:

ABS sensor failed after 1 week. Renault dealer had problems with locating the fault.

Gearbox is a real pain, though it has been reconditioned twice. You can not push the 2nd gear in when the engine is cold.

Apart from that:

- Leaky doors and even the roof

- Bad front tyre wear

- Whole exaust failure at 80000

- Incurable rust in the cooling system

- Driveshaft collapse on the motorway in Germany

- Very scratchy metallic paint

General Comments:

Very handsomely styled French automobile, but very sluggish and completely let down by an obstructive, poorly synchronised, cheap gearbox and also high servicing costs at main dealers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th November, 2000

1994 Renault Laguna RT 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Montego

Summary:

Nice car, too expensive to run!

Faults:

This car has cost us over £3500 since we bought it:

Clutch.

Cam belt.

New instrument panel.

Catalytic converter.

Rear shocks.

New starter.

New alternator.

New water pump.

Coolant sensor.

Exhaust (mid/rear).

Front and rear wheel bearing & last but not least, 2x brake discs.

General Comments:

OK, so we got the car from a "Trade" centre but it has given so much trouble! It's so nice a car to drive as well and very comfortable.

Spares via the Renault main dealer take so long to come - 3 weeks for the instrument panel!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th October, 2000

28th Dec 2000, 14:44

170,000 miles! And you're complaining about replacing service items such as the exhaust and brakes!

8th Feb 2002, 07:14

I have a 94 2.0 litre RT with 121,000 miles. I have owned it 1 year. I drive it hard all the time and I have never had any trouble with it.

It is a comfortable car and enjoyable to drive.

4th Mar 2004, 21:18

90k to 170k in 3 years is actually 7 years motoring, and £500 to maintain a car per year is NOT excessive.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 15 reviews