1996 Renault Laguna Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1996 Renault Laguna RT estate 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Good all rounder

Faults:

The rear shockers were creaking, So I replaced them

Both the ignition coil modules went at different times, they cost £50 each

Both back and centre boxes split

The bonnet cable seized and snapped.

General Comments:

It may be an estate,but on 17" alloys with 215/40 tyres it handles so well

The seats are very comfy although could do with some extra side supports for demanding driving

The torque is poor on steep hills having to drop down into second if behind slow traffic

Very spacious estate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2002

1996 Renault Laguna RTi S 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A reliable family car (with a bit of a punch)

Faults:

Exhaust (middle and rear) @ 120,000

Suspension (front and rear) @ 120,000.

General Comments:

Amazing - in the 60 (odd) thousand miles I've done in this car in less than 3 years - the car has only refused to start once - and that was a dead battery. This car has to be the most reliable car EVER!!! I really don't want to sell it - but there is a stunning ST200 down the road!! ;O)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2002

1996 Renault Laguna RT 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Un-exciting, but a comfortable roomy car

Faults:

Rear exhaust at 55000.

Key fob at 67000.

Persistent rattle emanating from the driver side under the chassis.

Petrol tank strap at 60000.

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable, roomy and good looking car, but that I feel, is all that it has going for it. I found that the vehicle is thirsty and for a 2 litre engine very lacklustre in its performance, it's just not fun.

It has some really silly faults too, the central locking only operates from the key fob or the button inside the vehicle, not from the conventional lock mechanism. The interior light does not operate from the rear doors, any parent will know how infuriating it is to have to leave the front door open to see how to unfasten your kids!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd March, 2002

15th Dec 2002, 03:59

In general I agree with these comments regarding the 1996 2.0 RT Renault Laguna. However, the rear doors of my car do operate the interior light. I would like to add another common fault concerning the reliability of the key fob transmitter for the locks and immobilizer for which Renault UK do not have an answer.

27th Jul 2003, 13:32

I'm having problems relating to starting the car. it is not a consistent problem so it is hard to fix. i can't decide if it is a starting motor problem or electrical. as if I lock and unlock the door it seems to start.

6th Nov 2003, 07:13

I have owned a '96 Laguna 1.8 RT for a few months now and as a father of 2 find it infinitely more useful than my previous motor. It is an unspectacular drive, unless you drive it in the wet like you'd drive an Impreza then you do get spectacular, but it's comfortable, quiet and has everything you'd expect in a car like this and a handy sunglasses holder which I like. I have one problem and would like help if anyone has experienced a similar one - the petrol tank strap (rear) has snapped (58k miles) and the front bolt/captive nut is spinning inside the member. Any ideas? estyles@freeuk.com.

1996 Renault Laguna RT Sport 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carFord Scorpio

Summary:

The most reliable car I have owned in my 35 years of car ownership

Faults:

PCB in key failed, following battery replacement. A new key, excluding blade, cost £60.00. Add another £11 for the blade.

Rear exhaust box replaced at 40000 miles.

Noisy speedo cable replaced twice.

General Comments:

Car has been extremely reliable.

Performance is adequate, roadholding is good and average fuel economy = 34 mpg.

Other than standard servicing items, the car has cost very little to maintain during the five years ownership.

Air conditioning on the later models would be worth considering.

Other than rear silencer box replacement, the other exhaust parts are original.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

1996 Renault Laguna RTi 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

A reliable and satisfying cruiser

Faults:

Internal fan controls seized.

Exhaust at 60000 miles.

New rear door seals required at 60000 miles.

Bonnet catch assembly required at 50000 miles.

General Comments:

An extremely comfortable and enjoyable car to drive and with regular servicing at Renault dealer has not missed a beat.

Has a satisfying turn of pace but is far from a performance car particularly in the suspension department. Renault have gone for comfort here - the suspension should be harder to make the most of the car.

Servicing costs and parts are expensive and depreciation (largely due to the downward pressure on new car prices in the time the car has been in my possession) has been massive. Purchased for £10,000 now worth less than £5,000. But at that price it would now be a bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2001

1996 Renault Laguna RT 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1200 miles
Most recent distance38800 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 416

Summary:

A bargain at secondhand prices and should not be overlooked!

Faults:

The only things were at Christmas 1998 when the battery died suddenly, and at the same time a wiring fault under the drivers seat showed the airbag warning light.

General Comments:

This car is the best I have had! It has taken us to the South of France at high speed in great comfort. It will be a difficult thing to better it at this price level.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2000

1996 Renault Laguna RT 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance27500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Very satisfying to drive and own

Faults:

Very little apart from regular servicing. Had to have a new petrol pump at last year's service (21K miles) and new rear brake cylinders at this year's (27K miles).

General Comments:

Very comfortable and capable vehicle. The ride is superb over almost any surface but you do not suffer any handling penalty for this comfort - the car is great fun in most situations.

It is also very practical with plenty of space and a big boot.

I think this is one of the best lookers in its class - really makes those Vectras and Mondeos look ordinary.

Can't wait for the new one, which I believe is due out towards the end of 2000 and available in the UK in 2001.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2000

1996 Renault Laguna RXE Estate 2.0i 16V from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16V
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

Catalytic convertor failed at 20,000 miles. Only other fault was a collapsed drivers seat at 90,000 miles (3 years). Exhaust system rattles but Renault blame that on a non-Renault (i.e. cheaper!) exhaust being fitted.

General Comments:

Nice car, good performance and a good looker too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 1999

1996 Renault Laguna RN 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Front tyre's outer edge scuffed off after ~10,000 miles due to incorrect tracking. After some pressure on Dealer, tyres replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Pretty average get-away from a standing start, but good over-taking acceleration and a comfortable torque spread. Wish I'd bought one with air conditioning though!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 1997

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 25 reviews