2005 Renault Modus Dynamique 1.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

These cars are RUBBISH, UNRELIABLE AND DANGEROUS. Avoid at all costs!!!

Faults:

Everything.

Exhaust EGR valve went at 55,000.

Broken front spring.

Broken rear spring.

Rusted brake pipes at 60,000.

Driver's side electric window mechanism destroyed itself at 55,000.

Main body control module went at 51,000 - cost £700 but replaced under warranty.

Air con packed up. Blower motor stopped working.

Electric sunroof gave continuous problems with jamming etc.

Electrical problems are rife.

To cap it all, the airbags didn't work when the rubbish handling put the car in collision with a tree.

General Comments:

Practical - the 1.5 DCI engine is nippy. Too nippy for the ability of the chassis.

Renault electrics are a disaster area. The dealers know how to charge as well - £350 for a module, then another £120 + VAT for programming??? Come on!!

The handling is dangerous. Steering lacks feel and understeers badly when pushed; it is not uncommon to come out of a roundabout on a different lane to the one on which you started. Lost control, skidded on a twisty road, and ended up stuffing it into a tree. It's now written off, which is good riddance to the wretched thing to be honest. I would pay to see it put through the crusher.

The £30 road tax for the engine emissions is good. About the only good thing I have to say about it. Keep it as a town car, but for the open road it is a disaster.

In short these cars are cheap, nasty and built to a price. Avoid them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th July, 2014

18th May 2015, 12:32

Handling and grip for an MPV are excellent. If you stuffed it into a tree, it was more likely driver error than car failure.

7th Aug 2015, 17:28

A Modus a fine handling car??? Give me a break, my Dad's Morris Marina had more steering feel and that's saying something...

2008 Renault Modus Dynamic S TCe 1.2 TCe 100 bhp from Portugal

Summary:

It's a very nice car, with a great engine and fuel consumption, spacious interior and well equipped

Faults:

The car has problems on starting, since it cannot start properly on the first attempt sometimes. I have been several times to the dealer to solve the problem without success so far.

At the moment Renault says that it has a failure on the injectors, I am waiting the new ones from France and they will be change without charge since the car is still in warranty.

I hope that this time they will solve my problem.

The car was bought new in November 2008.

General Comments:

The car is nice to drive, but it's not so comfortable as my last Clio II (phase 1).

It feels very safe to drive and the engine is great with its turbo, giving all the power you need. I like very much the engine since it can have a low fuel consumption (4.2 to 6.6 L/100Km).

The Grand Modus has a lot of space, which is great for the car's exterior dimensions.

It is also well equipped.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2009

2006 Renault Modus 1.5 DCi 86 Oasis 1.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good design, good safety, practical design

Faults:

Nothing went wrong - I would stll have the car if I had not had an accident on the M56 skidding on black ice in December 2008.

General Comments:

Whilst going from Liverpool to Manchester, the Modus skidded on black ice and I ended up going up the centre barrier doing towards Manchester, but facing Liverpool! No other vehicles involved and I walked away - Good crash design - the car was repaired by Renault, but I lost confidence in the car and changed the car. A car is never the same after a big repair

Good design reliable and some good touches.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2009

2005 Renault Modus Oasis 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Great small car, which when inside gives you the illusion you're driving something much bigger

Faults:

Nothing just a head light bulb, which has to be done at Renault, be warned!

General Comments:

Great car with a good spec, worth finding the Oasis limited addition model which gives you air con, CD and the boot chute. You also get the nicer trim.

The car averages about 41mpg town driving. You need to be a bit revvy to get the car going, but otherwise it's a great small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2008

21st Aug 2015, 12:00

I bought a 2005 automatic Modus for the wife. On the face of it, it seemed to be ideal for parking/driving, carrying the dogs etc, but then I went onto the forums and YouTube to look up any problems. I then found out you have to take off the front of the car, plus the wheel arch panels, just to change the head light bulbs.

The auto box is the AL4/DPO. This transmission has been used over the years for a large number of Renault models. Its problems are many and varied, from faulty pressure valves/solenoids, faulty sensors, and overheating, causing limp mode/lockouts. It is a sealed unit, mine has no drain plug, just a level plug, so I can't even drain out the old fluid. Debris from the friction clutches and the steels just keeps pumping around the system, damaging seals, bearings, bushings etc. Repairs can range from £500 to £3000, and Renault does not like paying out repair costs; you would need a solicitor for that one!