1971 Rolls Royce Silver Cloud from UK and Ireland


My car has developed a problem I find impossible to rectify, all windows fog up inside for no apparent reason

Turning on the heater only makes the problem worse.

General Comments:

The car is in excellent condition and drives beautifully.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th October, 2004

1st Nov 2004, 00:31

One possible cause is water leakage which leads to wet carpets or other parts of the ineterior (under or behind the dash for instance). However, a proper demist can be made by combining heater AND air-conditioning at the same time...

20th Jun 2005, 15:49

This is curious as there is no such thing as a 1971 Silver Cloud. Production of the Silver Cloud ended in 1965.

23rd Jun 2005, 00:56

My 1956 slver cloud have a miss in it, can any body tell me the points setting and the timing setting.

23rd Jun 2005, 00:59

My 1956 siver cloud 1 have a miss in it, can any body tell me the points setting and the timing setting.

29th Nov 2007, 17:45

I would have to say the reason your windows are misting is because of a small leak in the heater core.

17th Jul 2008, 18:54

These machines are actually quite simple to maintain once one is familiar with their details, and the very high build quality makes them a pleasure to work on. On seaking one out to purchase however, be aware that the average owner will have given the aesthetics (paint, chrome, etc) much more attention than the mechanics. Watching the main bearings pour out (in the form of grey babbit) along with the typically filthy motor oil is an experience I have witnessed all too frequently.

1955 Rolls Royce Silver Cloud from UK and Ireland


Rust - it will need to be dealt with.

General Comments:

The Silver Cloud 1 is a design icon - like the Mini, and it is a pleasure to walk up to - before you even open the door.

It is a tremendous bargain - for the same head turning impact you'd need to spend a great deal more on something that is not so much fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th March, 2004

8th Mar 2004, 15:39

Very detailed review, tells everything you would ever want to know.

Noticed that it had 90K miles on it when you bought it, now it has 0 (?)

Does the odometer run backwards like that car in the movie <<Christine>>?

16th Jun 2004, 12:38

What is the warranty on a Rolls? Is it life time or what? I am thinking of purchasing one for my Mother.

1956 Rolls Royce Silver Cloud I 4.9 from UK and Ireland


A luxury bargain


For a very old old car, nothing has gone wrong while I have owned this car.

The only thing that will ever be wrong with this car is the 10 mpg.

The whole interior and exterior of this car is in pristine (very good) condition.

General Comments:

For a car this size and old, it is extremely fast.

The engine runs as good as it did when it was first made.

The exhausts are still working fine even though they are the originals.

Every inch of the exterior is absolutely perfect, just how it should be.

The interior hasn't even started to wear one bit.

The seats are absolutely perfect and are as comfortable as a recliner chair.

The handling is not that good.

And the gearbox gives of a mighty thump every time you change gear.

The brakes feel a bit wooden and should be a little more responsive.

A bargain for £12,000.

PS. I am quite rich and have tested almost every, and I mean every, car on the market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2003

10th Dec 2003, 15:49

If you are very rich and can share the wealth, I would be very willing to accept. www.trentwest@hotmail.com.

29th Mar 2004, 22:06

If you are rich, why in the world would you have owned a Ford Granada? I would not be caught dead in a Ford Granada.

Why did you even have to mention that you are rich, which, by the way, is a relative term? Being rich has nothing to do with anything, except that you had the need to tell someone that you think you are rich. If you are richer than most, give the Rolls to charity and make everyone happy.