Rolls Royce Silver Shadow Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1976 Rolls Royce Silver Shadow LWB 6.7 from UK and Ireland

Model year1976
Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Who cares about fuel consumption when it's built like this?

Faults:

Nothing: 100% reliable!

Although ... there's a slight blow from the exhaust manifold, which seals itself when it warms up.

General Comments:

Turns heads - especially when told that it's now 31 years old.

The suspension - all original equipment - still holds the road like new, and affords the smoothest ride of all the cars I have owned since I passed my driving test in the same year this car was built.

Although the leather interior is in need of a good clean, feed and recolour, it is still in much better condition than that found in many cars decades younger.

If I could get a decent price for the Grand Cherokee, I would drive the Rolls all year round rather than just in the Summer months!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2007

10th Mar 2010, 16:55

I'm trading my 1971 Toyota Crown for a 1976 RR SilShadow... wonder if I am making a mistake? A RR I can buy anytime (all one needs is $), but a Crown... Try looking for one.

1975 Rolls Royce Silver Shadow Standard Saloon 6.75 litre from UK and Ireland

Model year1976
Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6.75 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

Incredible feel-good factor behind the wheel - and I find any excuse to be behind the wheel!

Faults:

Nothing except items requiring routine maintenance or replacement.

General Comments:

Like sitting in your favourite armchair.

Potentially high repair costs, but zero depreciation.

Quality feel to all components.

Interior made from a herd of cows and half a rainforest.

Spend your money on driving it and you'll save on repair bills.

Remember that the cheapest Rolls-Royce you can find will end up being the most expensive.

Regular servicing and regular use are essential.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2007

2nd Sep 2011, 03:41

Can you convert the A/C on the 1975 to R-134?

1972 Rolls Royce Silver Shadow Long Wheelbase 6.75 litre V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6.75 litre V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

The ultimate status symbol

Faults:

It was literally owned by a little old lady who could no longer drive it, and it sat for a couple years before I came across it. The engine ran a little rough at first, and the power steering pump leaked, but there have been no problems since.

I'm used to a Beetle diesel as my daily driver, so 13mpg on premium really hurts!

General Comments:

I bought this as a fun summer car, and it's turned into a really fun daily driver! I really dread putting it away for the winter.

Even though it is 31 years old, and has some wear around the edges, the engine is very powerful and the ride is very smooth.

But 31 years later, luxury is at a completely new level. A Honda has almost all the "luxury" features that this car does at almost the same price.

I've done all the maintenance myself, and prices on parts have been surprisingly reasonable. I would turn it over to a professional for anything more than a basic tune-up. The brakes a especially tricky.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2003

19th Nov 2005, 14:20

Equipment is not luxury, luxury is not a quantitative matter, and I think Rolls Royces remain unsurpassed on this point even nowadays.

2nd Mar 2006, 08:29

I have a Rolls Royce. It is a 1972 Silver Shadow and has only 48K miles. It is indeed a luxury car and I am very lucky to have it. But I do need the garage space it occupies. Thanks, Rusty York, Greensburg, Indiana.

28th Apr 2006, 18:03

Y would like to know what the quantity of r12 for my silver shadow┬┤s a.c.?

1974 Rolls Royce Silver Shadow from North America

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired23957 miles
Most recent distance24250 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Fantastic for $2.00 a pound!

Faults:

Bought the car at auction from original owner. Hadn't been moved in 5 years.

Major electrical shorts: Brake lights, headlights, turn signals, interior lights, heat/AC controls.

Name a fluid and it was leaking it.

Needed Motor mounts. Brake Pads, Power window motor, trunk release & door rubber.

Local battery shop crossed polarity blew Original alternator and micro switches in transmission.

Working my way through the repairs most of which are due to age and not wear.

General Comments:

Remember the movie Christine the 1957 Plymouth sucks the life out its owner as it kills everyone who threatens it.

Not there yet and must say this is a fantastic automobile which is a pleasure to drive. However I'm constantly drawn to make it perfect instead of just enjoying it as a weekend driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2003

25th Oct 2006, 13:28

I know what you mean! Some years ago I owned a 1975 Silver Shadow that I purchased for a very good price in Los Angeles. It was beautiful and near perfect in terms of the LOOKS. Mechanically, that's another story. Before I sold it, 7 months later, I had invested 7-thousand dollars in repairs including: Brakes, Master Cyl., Water Pump, Transmission (Caught a break on this, it's built in the US! Not nearly as bad as I feared) and AC. Still, I loved the car and am currently looking into a 20000 series Silver Spur.

Like you my problem was the need for perfection. I thought I'd DIE when I learned from Beverly Hills Rolls Royce that my Spirit of Ecstasy was a fake! I immediately purchased a correct one! The car, even with the clunky tranny, was a great day-to-day driver and looked like a million dollars. The only items I absolutely HAD to repair were the brakes and the water pump. (It kept overheating) On my next Rolls, I'm looking into some kind of extended service contract!

13th Dec 2006, 16:56

If you want a 20000 series, I would worry more about the extended life contract if I were you.

24th Nov 2011, 01:55

I purchased a 1974 Shadow 1 for a limousine business my wife and I started several years ago. The vehicle was in good condition for its age and mileage (120,000 miles).

It was eye-catching in white with a gold Spirit of Ecstasy. Very popular with the brides.

The first genuine Rolls Royce annual service set me back an arm and a leg, and I realised then that if you want to own a Rolls Royce, you need to have a big bank balance or a kind bank manager.

Plenty of power, but although the steering was light for a heavy car; it seemed to float and wallow due to extremely soft suspension. Dropped oil, braked about as well as a freight train, and had a tendency to understeer into left hand corners; a problem I never did get solved.

We owned the Rolls for three years, and I must be honest, while it was nice to be seen in, I would far sooner drive my BMW. Maybe a new Rolls would be great, but if I had that money, I am afraid I would be looking at something more like a Ferrari.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews