1992 Rover - Austin 200 GTi (SOHC) 1.6 from UK and Ireland


Fast underrated GTi


Electrical gremlins seem to be the downfall of all Rovers. I have experienced intermittent faults with the electric windows and the central locking.

General Comments:

Performance is excellent for 1.6, but it does need to be pushed over 4000 revs before it starts to really perform (and drink fuel!!). The engine is a little noisy but sounds sporty.

Overall a comfortable car which, though it has a fairly stodgy Rover image, can surprise people with its performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th June, 2001

1992 Rover - Austin 200 SLi 1.4 16v petrol from UK and Ireland


All round good value if you look after it!


Nothing so far; only got the car last week.

Has been given a full service and MOT, so hopefully nothing for quite a while!

General Comments:

Very pleased with the car so far.

Wanted a fairly cheap runabout, with cheap insurance, ability to do motorway miles, but still economical (get about 40mpg).

Nothing else in the price/age range really compares; this K reg SLi comes with electric windows and mirrors, sunroof, central locking, power steering etc.

Surprisingly quick for a 1.4, but gets a bit noisy at speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2001

1992 Rover - Austin 200 214 Si 16v from UK and Ireland


High maintenance - heap of junk


Dowl peg came loose and ruined the whole engine at 59000.

Exhaust at 62000.

Suspension at 71000.

Gaitors at 94000.

ECU at 96000.

General Comments:

If you are thinking about purchasing a Rover, my advice to you is DON'T!

Although the performance is good for a car of this size, but the maintenance is VERY HIGH!

I bought the car expensive on finance and I've still got 1 year to go, but the car is not even worth the amount of finance outstanding. Rovers do not hold their resale value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2001

13th Jul 2001, 17:44

Rover 200/400 (-96) are a good buy second hand

Some advice for anyone considering a Rover 200/400 - don't get the 1.4 engine (rover) - make sure you get the 1.6 (Honda) unit. The 1.4 may have got great reviews when tested as a new engine but maintenance is a joke. My cousin bought one and he has had problems since. The coolant thermostat is situated in such a ridiculous place that it requires removing engine mounting bolts to replace it!!

29th Jul 2002, 06:58

I have just bought a Rover 214Si second hand for £340. What a bargain! The car needed a lot of work, but if you know your stuff and do your research, it's not a problem as I have under taken all the jobs myself. It's not the easiest car for DIY, but you can take it to the garage for any hard jobs. Just aquire the parts yourself and ask the mechanics to fit them for you. That way it's cheaper because all of the fault finding is left to you and any parts you need can be taken from the scrap yard.

Now the engine runs as if it left the factory (or as well as can be expected for 97'000 miles). As for the rest of the car, it's all in good order. Well Done Rover!

10th Sep 2002, 17:30

My 1992 214 GSi was a never ending disaster. Cylinder head gasket with 50,000 miles on it, gear box wih 80,000 miles and cylinder head gasket a second time with 90,000 miles on it led to scrapyard. Motor on passenger window, two sets of brake discs plus numerous pads, two clutch cables, intermittent sensor fault on engine which meant engine would not start sometimes (2 months to diagnose problem), etc, etc. All on a car used for urban commuting and regulaly serviced by a main dealer. Never again.

9th Oct 2003, 08:55

I bought a '93 Rover 214si 16v, build quality is poor, engine nippy, body work is fairly poor - I paid £250!

Lets hope it lasts for more than 3 months!!

1992 Rover - Austin 200 SLi 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland


Performs reasonably well in all areas, reliable A-B motoring. but fairly mundane


Brake discs.

CV boot needed replacement

Suspension bushes needed replacment.

All this between 80-90,000 miles.


This is all general wear and tear so expected at this mileage.

General Comments:

Back seat rests split fold, but annoyingly not the rear cushion so not very versatile.

Makes a reliable banger.

With a growing family I'm trading it in for something bigger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2001