1992 Rover - Austin 200 214Si Cat 1.4i petrol from UK and Ireland


Cheap to run, but build quality could be better


Coolant leaked, causing the engine to overheat and burning off engine oil. Changed the oil and added the coolant.

Nothing else so far.

General Comments:

The car rattles like hell sometimes. It happens with the first 3 gears, at around 1500-2000rpm, e.g. crawling in town traffic in 2nd gear. I think it is the plastic bits knocking against each other and the car seems fine. Irritating since the radio/cassette is crap and you have nothing but the rattling to listen to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2001

24th Jun 2001, 16:52

I'm thinking of buying a K reg 214Si 16v Cat - it's got 110k miles on the clock. Any suggestions for maintenance or further experiences would be appreciated.

Feel free to email me at jon_cooper@ic24.net.

Thanks in advance.

1992 Rover - Austin 200 214 SLi 1.4 petrol 16v from UK and Ireland


A reliable, economical and much underrated car


Gear-box linkage went at 78,000 miles.

Electric windows are slow.

Unexplained overheating at 83,000 miles, no explanation, thermostat was OK but it hasn't done it again since, weird.

Radiator went at 98,000 miles.

Just started to be difficult to start, possibly an electrical fault.

Needs a new head gasket when I get round to it.

General Comments:

Standard stereo is awful despite half decent speakers.

Chairs get uncomfortable on long trips.

Very economical, I get around 50mpg on average not even trying.

Avoid nasty beige trim like mine.

Seems to consume a lot of oil against other cars so you have to check it often.

Makes you wonder why people buy Escorts and Astras of the same age, they're dogs especially the Escort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2001

11th Apr 2001, 04:03

I had intermittent starting problems which were due to a faulty speed sensor in the engine. I don't have enough time to list other problems. Beautiful car, real pity it didn't have Japanese refinement and reliability above 70k mileage.

1992 Rover - Austin 200 214 Si 1.4 16v (103 HP) from UK and Ireland


Not outstandingly bad, but poor quality


The car ate brakes, suspension and exhaust components.

Heater blew only cold air.

Driver's side window leaked and wouldn't close properly.

Interior trim very tatty.

Engine revved heavily at idle.

General Comments:

This car was basically a poor quality heap. The engine was good and strong (if you revved the nuts off it, at which point it sounded like a sewing machine on E).

Interior space wasn't too bad, but ride, handling, refinement and general build quality were poor. On top of that it constantly needed new parts - at a rate of around £80 per month over the four years I had the car.

Paid too much for it and sold it away (in superficially good condition and with all major problems fixed) for £700.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th February, 2001

1992 Rover - Austin 200 216 GTI 1.6i 16v DOHC from UK and Ireland


A well equipped, quick hatch for a grand. Simple


2 modules have gone faulty on the distributor, costly at £90.00 a piece but that's all.

General Comments:

Very good, not as punchy as the 2.0 GTI, but with a redline at 7200 you need to race the engine up to 4000 to 5000 rpm to get the real performance. Raw engine sound, typical Honda engine trait, sounds great at hi revs.

A very reliable car packed with goodies, such as electric windows, electric sunroof, central locking, PAS, and half leather interior.

A bargain as they have fallen in value, you can pick up a decent one for about £1000. Make sure you pick up the Twin Cam model (badged) 3 door, or the DOHC (unbadged) 5 door if you want the performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th January, 2001

1992 Rover - Austin 200 220 GTi 16v 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Cheap power to scare most GTE's, GTi's etc.


Rocker cover gasket.

CV boot.

Secondhand replacement gearbox for £150 as Rover said "Sorry mate, you need a new box, we'll get you one for £2500"!!

General Comments:

Excellent car, better than the usual rusty Rovers, saving for a turbo :-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2000

20th Aug 2001, 17:21

I have owned a Rover 220 GTi 16V 3 door hatch for the past 3 years, what a car. I seriously recommend owning one to anyone looking for some serious speed, excellent handling and cheap maintainance.

Only one fault - not exceptionally good on petrol, 25 mpg around town, 32 mpg on the motorway.

Bye bye BMW 320i, bye bye Astra GTE and bye bye Vectra 2000 GSi.



8th Nov 2007, 07:19

Phil, the 220 GTI doesn't use the K-series engine. It's the M16 unit which isn't particularly known for popping head gaskets. The K-series definitely is, as you say.

I'd say you're pretty unlucky to suffer head gasket failure on a 220GTI.