1994 Rover - Austin 200 Reviews - Page 10 of 11

1994 Rover - Austin 200 214 SLi 1.4 16v mpi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v mpi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Insurance friendly machine

Faults:

Distributor cap went only 5000 miles out of a major service (55,000 miles) destroying the cat (major backfire!).

Second cat went after a further 8000 miles (poor build quality) along with front pipe (expensive!!).

Alternator went at around 75,000, although this was due to powering an amp.

Rear lights have a tendency to go.

General Comments:

Downsides:

Paintwork is very thin, prone to scratching.

Brakes are on the dangerous side though can be easily upgraded for the same price as O.E.

Some dealer parts can be expensive: though not much seems to go wrong, if cared for.

Likes drinking fuel if pushed.

Engine on the harsh side at the top end.

Bad stereo.

Upsides:

Cheap to buy and generally cheap to run.

Performance from a 1.4 is good though low down torque is non-existent. To get the most from this engine it has to be above 4000rpm.

Equipment level is very good. I recommend the GTi/SEi interior.

Run on a Koni suspension set up, 15" alloys running 195/50/15 rubber for serious go-kart handling!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2000

29th Jan 2001, 07:07

I have a 214SLi, but I haven't had any of the trouble you're explaining and I have a performance exhaust, K&Ni, Superchip, Wharfedale head unit, Panasonic amp, 6 disc CD changer and 96,000 miles plus. I have owned the car for 12 months and it's the best car I've owned for reliability, comfort and performance.

I cover 500 miles plus a week and find I never need to take it above 4,000rpm.

1994 Rover - Austin 200 214 Si 1.4 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carFiat Panda

Summary:

Great engine, shame about everything else!

Faults:

Broken central locking.

Broken drivers window winder.

Exhaust needed replacing.

General Comments:

A wonderful engine for only a 1.4, thrashes the pants off equivalent Fords and Vauxhalls, free-revving and great fun flat-out, but handling and steering both disappointing, especially in the wet.

Don't drive them thru puddles unless completely necessary as mine and my friends have both failed to start for 24hrs afterwards cos of damp engines - definitely a design fault.

Overall I love driving it on the motorway but I'm unhappy with everything but the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2000

1994 Rover - Austin 200 214Si 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16804 miles
Most recent distance30250 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Would be a bargain if I did not keep shelling out for repairs

Faults:

Blown head gasket at 30,000.

Battery mysteriously went flat.

Central locking failure.

General Comments:

Nice car let down by terrible build quality. The car was ex fleet with genuine 16,000 on clock and I have had no end of problems culminating in a blown head gasket (which took months before diagnosed by a garage).

As soon as this is fixed I'm selling it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2000

6th May 2001, 17:20

I own a Rover 214si and I have had none stop problems with it: what with the battery going flat, alternator, full exhaust change, div went on the gearbox - had to pay £250.

21st Jun 2001, 09:30

I've had the following in 3 years (5 year old car)

Blown head gasket

New alternator

New battery

New cat converter

New exhaust

Brake mechanism

On top of that the rear jet wash has failed and the front windscreen wipers keep working loose! A complete piece of crap this car!

18th Aug 2001, 05:50

I own a Rover 214si of 1994 this is the sequel:

Blown head gasket at 52.000 km and 122.000.

New alternator.

A battery of 1 year goes flat after a 1 year.

New alternator.

I won't ever buy a Rover again, it's a complete piece of crap!

14th Feb 2005, 06:12

I've said goodbye to mine!

1994 Rover - Austin 200 216 SLI 1.6 16V from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 16V Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Worthy but dull

Faults:

Remote central locking stopped working on 1 of the 4 doors.

General Comments:

Reliable, comfortable medium sized car that performs reasonably well thanks to its 110 BHP Honda engine. However, it's not the most exciting car on the road and is not one for the badge/image conscious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2000

1994 Rover - Austin 200 220 Coupe 2.0 16 Valve from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 2.0 16 Valve
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10

Faults:

It has never broken down, but has lots of annoying faults. Front brake pads wear at an uneven rate, courtesy light switches stopped working. Rear window started to leak and fill the boot with water which caused some corrosion on the rear parcel shelf, numerous rattles, gearbox whines slightly although hasn't got any worse in the last 20,000 miles. The only major problem was a mystery oil leak a week after I bought which took the dealer 2 weeks to fix!!, turned out to be a sump gasket. Only parts I have had to replace in two years are tyres and brake pads.

General Comments:

Reliable but build quality is not as high as I would have liked. Lots of wind and engine noise at speeds higher than 85 MPH, engine seems unrefined. Targa Top is a waste of time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th May, 1999

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 52 reviews