1996 Rover - Austin 200 Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1996 Rover - Austin 200 214 Si 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Nice little run around - but not too impressive

Faults:

Air fan in cabin doesn't work on speed number 1.

Washer pipe to rear broke at the rear door hinge.

Electric cables to boot had to be rewired as they had all broken down.

General Comments:

On the whole a good runner. It's the first car I've ever had which has passed *2 MOT's without needing anything.

Poor positioning of side window airvents.

Cramped driving position. Seats not very comfortable.

Good fuel economy. Cheap service costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th October, 2003

1996 Rover - Austin 200 216si 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12500 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

Rover crap. Never again!

Faults:

Head gasket - £500 bill to fix

Alarm/central locking system - £300 to fix

Engine control unit - £500 to replace

Both headlamps fogging up with moisture - £160 to replace

Squeaks and rattles from all over the place.

Accelerator sticking on, causing car to drive as if on cruise control!

Fuel cap jammed leaving me stranded at a filling station!

General Comments:

The build quality was appalling.

Awkward front seat positioning makes you feel as though you are sitting on the car instead of in it!

Engine performance and fuel economy excellent, but steering very vague, especially at speed in crosswinds.

The expensive repairs nearly bankrupted me. I couldn't get rid of it fast enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 2003

11th Oct 2006, 15:25

That's very strange. I have owned my 1997 Rover 216 manual from new and the only thing that has failed on me was the heater switch. Its the most reliable and comfortable and nicest car I have ever owned. Perhaps you got a "friday night" car.

30th Jul 2007, 03:35

You got ripped off...

1996 Rover - Austin 200 Si 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

A reasonably quick, cheap to insure first time car

Faults:

Lots of rattles and creaks from the interior fitments, especially the dash.

Rear door seals keep on falling off.

Boot lock didn't work, but has now been fixed free of charge.

Breaks squeak a lot.

General Comments:

This is a fast car hand has seen off BMW 318's and other cars that cost a great deal more.

Sounds great with a green induction kit on and the performance seems to be increased noticeably.

Handles alright, but could do with improving, I would recommend some Koni adjustable shocks to sort this for about £350.

This car needs alloys. Make a purchase of some 17's to sort out the handling and the looks of this car. They go straight on with no arch work.

Get some new seats. I found them uncomfortable and the creaked as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2002

1996 Rover - Austin 200 214 Sei 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carDatsun 120Y

Summary:

Absolute rubbish - never had a worse car

Faults:

Motor failed in drivers side electric window at 49,000 miles and had to be replaced.

I had to have £400 of brakes replaced at £52,000 miles which I thought was a bit early. Pads, discs, calipers, the whole lot.

Took my car for an oil and filter change last week and the garage said it wasn't worth spending the £20 on the car!

My cylinder head gasket is about to go.

The radiater core is corroded almost the whole way through.

I need a new back box for the exhaust.

The mechanic said that the cylinder head gasket problem is very common with Rover's - usually on the 3'rd cylinder I think he said.

General Comments:

I've traded it in for A Nissen now and will never touch Rover again.

It was also quite pricey on fuel costs.

When I replaced the cam-belt it cost £130, and was told it was that much due to Rover parts been expensive.

The interior is very flimsy. Bits come off the dash/doors frequently.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd July, 2002

2nd Jul 2002, 14:57

May I ask what happened to your previous car, the Datsun 120Y? I just wondered out of curiosity, as I am a member of a car club purely for old Datsuns.

3rd Jul 2002, 13:52

I got rid of my Datsun as a part-ex for the Rover. I do regret getting rid of it now, but needed a car with a bigger boot so I could fit a pram in.

I still see the car driving round Lincoln every now and then. When I sold it it was in perfect condition, no rust anywhere and only 24,000 miles on the clock. I had all the old MOT certs to prove the mileage was genuine as well.

I should have took the car to the annual Datsun show in Northamptonshire and sold it to someone who would have appreciated it better.

9th Jul 2002, 07:07

I used to own an SEI (1994), In 6 months this is what happened, Clutch wore out twice, the alternator stopped working which re-set the immobiliser, the drivers door wouldn't lock with the remote, the plastic trim on the driver's door was coming off, both front discs had to be replaced, the head gasket blew - oh yeah and then the drive shaft snapped. I spent £3k on the car, and then another £2k repairing it. No, I wouldn't buy another one of these either.

14th Aug 2002, 13:33

I've got an SEI and can't say I've had many problems with it- but I don't think It's a car that can take punishment well as, say, the Volkswagen I had.

3rd Jun 2005, 12:35

Was thinking of buying a Rover 214 SEi. Is it worth my time or money.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 16 reviews