1997 Rover - Austin 200 Reviews - Page 6 of 8

1997 Rover - Austin 200 214Si 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

A classy car streets ahead of an Astra or Escort

Faults:

Front brake sticking on - Original disc's worn.

Rattling dashboard.

Windscreen wipers don't work on intermittent - presumably wiper motor.

General Comments:

Car is very comfortable at motorway speeds and town driving alike.

More than enough power from the 1.4 with great acceleration which puts larger engined cars to shame.

Not had it long enough to see its true reliability, but looking at the service and maintenance records, theres nothing apart from routine servicing been done.

Easy maintenance as its the same engine as my Metro, without the complicated suspension!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th October, 2002

1997 Rover - Austin 200 214 Si 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Nippy, attractive bargain at low miles on the right reg plate

Faults:

Rear windscreen washer pipe was replaced.

Slight dashboard rattle at 2700 RPM.

General Comments:

This car is well built inside and out, with a roomy cabin and attractive body work.

Its a disappointment that alloy wheels are not standard on more of the lower down models.

It will shift very quickly off the line if you are willing to drive at high revs.

New throttle bodies would ensure a 30% power increase... at a high cost!

Petrol has been relatively expensive for this car... however I was used to a Peugeot 106 Diesel which isn't going to beaten on economy.

I can't understand what the rattle is about on the dash! Any ideas please mail me: voodoo_child25@hotmail.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2002

1997 Rover - Austin 200 Si 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

A fun car with a good engine

Faults:

Front windscreen wipers not returning to their normal position when turned off.

Squeak from the door, traced to rubber seals around the doors being a bit sticky - easily fixed by cleaning and polishing the bodywork around the door frame and applying rubber lube to the rubber seals.

General Comments:

Great engine with nice power delivery.

Pleasant cabin with decent equipment.

Enjoyable to drive.

Might get some alloys for it and shall be replacing the tape deck with a compact disc player, and maybe replace the speakers too, although they sound fine at average volumes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2001

1997 Rover - Austin 200 1.6 from Barbados

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance34000 kilometres

Summary:

Worst buy ever

Faults:

Sun-roof rusting, replaced two in three years.

Tailgate rusting.

Engine problems.

Transmission going bad in three years.

General Comments:

First vehicle owned and a very bad experience.

Wonder whether Rover send all their defective cars to third world countries?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2001

1997 Rover - Austin 200 Vi 1.8 VVC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 VVC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Good cheapish all rounder, to get you from A to B, FAST!

Faults:

Nothing! Should hope not, I've only had it a month!

General Comments:

Good all rounder, especially fuel consumption for the amount of miles I do in it and considering it's a performance car.

1.8 VVC engine, K-series engines rock! 0-60mph in around 7.5 seconds, though I've not timed it, yet!

Handles better with 17" wheels on it and will be even better when I get it lowered and add uprated shocks.

Very nice interior, Rover was starting to get things right with this car. Electric everything! NOTE: You must look after the bodywork. Though it's OK when you give it some TLC, don't let it put you off.

Can hear a slight tapping from the engine when warm, don't know whether it's the tappets, if it has them or whether it's the VVC side of things working away. Anybody know?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

10th May 2002, 04:00

Ive got the same problem on my car, but they tap when you put your foot down when in motion. I've been told its the Tap-pits and that you could drive for miles and not to worry!

7th Jul 2002, 13:03

I have just test driven a 200Vi, very impressed. There was a tapping from the engine when warmed up. On reading the replys to this article, my suspicions were confirmed, (injectors or hydraulic tappets.) There was also a rattling when rev-ed coming from beneath the car, probably the cat. (Loadsa money!)

Incidentally can anybody comment and tell me if twin airbags and brake discs all round, are standard on a 1997 200 Vi?

1997 Rover - Austin 200 216 SLi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Nice performer, ideal for young lad

Faults:

Engine oil leak after a weeks of ownership.

Rev counter sticks on random occasions.

General Comments:

This car was the ideal choice for someone in my situation.

It is a relatively small car, although not small enough to be called a womans car. It has a reasonably sized engine which means fairly impressive performance for a car in its class. Which in turn means extremely reasonable insurance.

Not being that much of an experienced driver I have to say though that I have been fairly impressed overall with this car.

It handles nicely, the engine sounds a bit noisy but that adds to the sportiness. Plenty of room in the front for me (6 feet tall), pedals nicely spaced out, and nice driving position. The boot seems fine, although the rear can become crammed for passengers.

The stereo is fine although could do with being a bit clearer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2001

24th Apr 2001, 07:16

I have a 1997 Rover 216si and I have experienced all manner of minor problems from faulty boot catch and vibrating speakers to gear box and steering problems. Most recently a blown head gasket, which has caused the water and oil to mix in the engine. I now need a new engine in a four year old car. I will NEVER be buying another car from this manufacturer. Incidentally the cost of a new engine from the manufacturer is £2500, with a one year guarantee. A reconditioned engine is £610, with a two year guarantee.

28th Sep 2007, 19:29

^^^ agreed with the above. I have had exactly the same problem, result - new car, (not a rover). It's a great fun drive which suited my needs completely; its just a pity the engine is majorly flawed. I also have a friend who had the same problem...

If you own one of these then regular thorough servicing focusing on the engine/head gasket area are advisable.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 36 reviews