1997 Rover - Austin 200 214SI 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland


Overpriced and overrated


3 days after the warranty expired, water started leaking from somewhere behind the gearbox, but it doesn't seem to affect the car, we just keep topping it up.

Central locking sometimes is noisy.

General Comments:

Reasonable performance from the 1.4 litre 16v engine, but the engine revs quite high in 5th gear at motorway speeds, and is not all that economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th January, 2001

19th Feb 2001, 13:43

Leaking water - 99% sure is water pump failure.

26th Mar 2001, 16:07

Not necessarily, try easy option first, My mystery leak was cured by radweld, £2.99! Failing that it may need a new expansion tank cap, failing that possibly water pipe leaking at back of gearbox.

1st Jun 2001, 07:35

Mine turned out to be a head gasket failure!

21st Jun 2001, 09:19

Oh dear! Join the club my head gasket went last year! Only had done 30,000 miles. Then the alternator failed...

1997 Rover - Austin 200 214 Si 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland


Low cost performance with comfort


Engine management system (ECU) failed but was replaced free of charge even out of warranty.

Cylinder head gasket at approx 50k - not so good!

Rear silencer box.

General Comments:

Underrated car. Goes like a rocket if you keep the revs above 5k. Keep the revs down and get 40 or more mpg. Handles like a big mini so you can really chuck it around but watch for the understeer.

Running costs (excluding servicing) are low. Loads of fun for a good price.

A few niggles - the driver's side door mirror doesn't go far enough out for me.

The left foot rest is uncomfortable.

Quite a few rattles and squeaks from the dash area.

The sun visor will not stay in position - it 'snaps' onto the windscreen on a spring.

Haven't looked at the newer 25 but these criticisms might have been sorted by now.

Servicing at my local dealer is VERY expensive!

Overall, I like it a lot and would buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2000

1997 Rover - Austin 200 218 VVC Coupe 1.8 VVC from UK and Ireland


High performance and luxury without the high price tag


The only things so far are that the glass section on one of the wing mirrors has come loose and a few of the bars on the rear screen heater don't seem to work, but nothing major.

General Comments:

Excellent mix of performance and economy. If all you want is to drive around town at 30mph, not a problem, but show the car a clear B road and there is no doubt you'll be smiling from ear to ear. With more than enough grunt for overtaking and with all the toys inside a comfortable, well put together cabin these cars are very under-rated!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2000

1997 Rover - Austin 200 Coupe 218 VVC 1.8 VVC from UK and Ireland


Good looking value


Exhaust gasket in the second week.

General Comments:

The later Coupe with the improved interior is better, the build quality is improved also.

A distictive looker with all the toys, VVC is great engine with performance and economy, very good 2nd hand buy at £7000 on a P.

Underrated coupe, low running costs, looks better than Calibras, Escorts, and others.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2000

1997 Rover - Austin 200 216 Si 1.6 from UK and Ireland


Great, need assurances about the mechanical problems though


Not much so far, I hit a mini roundabout and now need the tracking sorted, other than that I am 5"10' and my head rubs on the roof!

General Comments:

Great motor, I had the choice of this, a couple of Meganes and a few Japanese cars. I think I definitely made the right choice. I keep being told that there are troubles ahead with the head gasket and oil leaks but everything I read, says the engine is strong, reliable and won awards back in the Nineties. The stereo is the best I have heard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2000

12th Dec 2000, 08:16

The K series engines do appear to suffer from an above normal incidence of head gasket failures. On these engines it is vital that the cooling system is permanently in good health, with a high quality antifreeze used all year round. Flush the system out and replace the coolant every 2 years or 40,000 miles, which ever occurs first.

These are highly stressed engines (they develop a lot of power for their size) and do not tolerate water loss.