1997 Rover - Austin 600 Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1997 Rover - Austin 600 Ti 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 600

Summary:

Well engineered, high performance piece of BMW eating adrenaline

Faults:

New gear box at 52000 miles.

Intermittent fault with starter motor.

General Comments:

Totally underrated, very quick car. 200bhp as standard. BMW drivers get upset.

With its torsen diff, it handles great. Hard springs, but at the speeds it is capable of, you want them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2005

1997 Rover - Austin 600 618 Si 1.8 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

The car who loved me

Faults:

Nothing, except for the occasional blown headlight (I think I blew three in 4 years).

General Comments:

This car loved me. And the feeling was mutual.

We met by accident. I was shopping for a new car, and the Rover dealer happened to be next door to the Citroen dealer, where I was disappointed by the Xantia. I saw her (the 618Si in British Racing Green) in the showroom, and thought I wouldn't be able to afford it. I looked at the sticker price, thought again, got a test drive, and was lost. That sound... that light-footed engine, that actually enjoyed getting kicked... the interior, no fancy stuff, but so homely, these seats... as I said, I was lost.

For almost 2 years, I waited for things to break, blow, fry, or generally go wrong in a very English way. After 2 years, I gave up waiting. When the lease ended after 4 years, nothing had gone wrong, and I could push it hard over cobblestone roads without a rattle or creak. When I handed it back to the company, my heart was heavy.

I could go on about the fantastic Honda engine, the superb handling, the reliability, the no-frills, no-spoilers, uncut, classic, elegant, simple, beautiful lines, and the excellent dealership... but it all boils down to "this car loved its owner".

I'd get another one without thinking - if Rover would've still wanted to sell a 600.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th February, 2005

1997 Rover - Austin 600 ti 2.0L DOHC 16v turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L DOHC 16v turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

A great bargain (if you buy carefully) !!

Faults:

We have replaced the exhaust, which blew as they do from time to time. Other than this we have had no problems at all with the car that was bought ex-company with a full service history and maitenece log.

General Comments:

For motorway driving this is an effortless and relaxing car to drive. Not suited to sports driving and the car loses its pleasure if you thrash the engine which gets harsh over 5,500 RMP. Once over 2,500 RMP there is plenty of torque. The turbo gets going by 3,000 and you effortlessly glide down (or up) the road. Acceleration is good in every gear, however not as fast as most other 2.0L Turbos on the market. The extra fuel economy and second hand price (mine cost £3650 at 3 1/2 years old) makes up for this. This is an excellent bargain if you want a fast, comfortable motorway car. It comes with nice seats, air con, 6 disc CD and a nice relaxed driving position.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2002

1997 Rover - Austin 600 620ti 2.0 turbo from Greece

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carNone None

Faults:

Transmission

Generator (3 times)

Coolant leaks several times

Radiator

Water/Coolant pump

Clutch pump (3 times)

Hydraulic Steering pump (2 times)

Pillow blocks (2 times)

Electric windows mechanism (both front doors)

General Comments:

When I bought this car the one I didn't look at all was the guarantee (1 year). Almost everything was perfect up to the point where the car hit the 50.000km After this point everything started to fall apart one after the other at unbelievable speeds!

The 620ti is a very nice car to watch and fun to drive. Due to its turbo (Garett T25) it is very fast in all conditions. Its power is available on the full revs spectrum. Of course as a turbo car you get the most after the 4000rpm (starts at 2900) where the turbo over boosts (0,7bar over-boost and 0,45 normal).

Handling is very good especially due to the torsen limited differential slip system. The car of course is not a hatchback so don't expect too much. I've changed the shock absorbers to Bilstein sport and show a huge increase in handling.

The brakes are good, but not excellent. Although they are quite big (266mm front) they don't stop the car well enough basically due to its weight. A big problem, especially if you are a fast driver, is the brake fade effect. After hitting the brakes 2-3 times at high speeds (160km+) the brakes fade and if you continue hitting them... they don't respond after a while and the situation becomes very dangerous.

The interior of the Rover 620ti is excellent. Although not very big as you might expect for the car's dimensions. The leather interior is of high quality.

It's a shame that the engine although very good in delivering the power, it's not reliable at all. I haven't yet seen one 620ti owner who's is happy with the car's engine reliability. The bad thing is that the car wasn't a huge success and so there are almost no improved alternative engine parts except the Rover/Unipart ones.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th September, 2002

6th Jan 2009, 14:01

If you don't think the engine is reliable, then I feel sorry for you because you are either neglecting your car or you're just unlucky.

My Rover Ti has done 147,000 miles, not kilometers, and it's still going strong, plus the fact that I got it when it had 90,000 miles with full service history, and there has been no trouble in the past with the engine.

The only problem I had was the alternator needed changed at 135,000, and I ripped one out of a 620 GSi in the scrap yard; this only cost £25.

But I will agree about the brakes.

6th Jan 2009, 14:05

If your looking for parts try Honda, the 97 Accord has the same engine.

Rover parts are now obsolete apart from in the scrap yard.

17th Jul 2009, 18:06

It's not the same engine as a Honda, not even the same gearbox. The Ti uses a Rover T series engine and a PG1 gearbox, neither of which Honda ever used.

7th Nov 2009, 16:03

Rover 620 TI and some 620 (non ti) is/are a Rover T Series engine, but it is true some Rover 620 also and the 623 had a Honda engine. Easy way to check, the Honda timing cover is on the LH end of the engine and the Rover engine timing cover is at the RH end of the engine. The Honda Engines are basically back to front compared to everything (Toyota/GM/Mitzi/Rover etc else except maybe a Mini-A series. The Rover 220/620/820 turbo engine has slightly lower compression than the non turbo engines.

Alex.

17th Oct 2011, 12:32

Rover parts still available (and always have been) from all good Motor Factors, eBay "power sellers" and also, but more expensively, from XPart (www.xpart.com, who in 2011 are celebrating 5 years in business), which was originally the parts department of Rover, and was bought from the liquidators when the company went under. The only Rover parts not available new are very late post 2004ish bumpers, on most but not all models. But even then, 2003 spec bumpers will still fit.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 17 reviews