1997 Rover - Austin 600 Ti 1994 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A great Q car

General Comments:

Good fast relaible motoring, 35mpg easily obtainable on a run, drops to 25ish around town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2000

11th Jan 2001, 15:23

One of the fastest saloons on the road. Try dropping to third from fifth if you want your teeth to rattle!!

Very thirsty when thrashing it. Mine is lowered 40mm all-round, great for tight corners.

1997 Rover - Austin 600 Si 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A great car, that looks good and runs well

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is a stunner of a car. Great engine, very smooth and comfortable ride. Fuel consumption low for a car in its class. Air conditioning very effective.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2000

24th Feb 2001, 10:15

I agree too. They are a rare breed now that Rover have stopped making them - get your hands on the newest one possible. The 2.0 diesel is recommended for fuel economy - I can get about 55mpg out of it!

Get one or miss out!

5th Jun 2001, 10:07

Me too! I have a 620GSDi, and even with my wife charging around the town in it, it still averages 53 MPG. On a long run, I got just under 60 MPG (I have no air-conditioning, or cruise control, and I found out that it makes a huge difference!).

1997 Rover - Austin 600 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Rear exhaust had to be replaced after 18 months.

Right brake bulb keeps going.

Mode button on radio has fallen off.

Oddment cubby on drivers side has come away from the dash.

General Comments:

Mechanically sound and reliable but parts of the interior trim are flimsy.

Comfortable on the motorway at 90mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 1999

26th Dec 2000, 09:14

My Rover 618Si has a faulty driver's side electric window. The window falls out when used. Rover can modify the seals on the window for a measly £250. They have a kit as it is a common fault according to the service manager.

11th Jan 2001, 15:26

Try using some talcum powder around the seals (honestly), it stops the window from sticking to the seal.

20th Apr 2001, 06:24

Try rubber lubricant from Halfords. It comes in a yellow can and costs under a fiver.

Lower each window and craefully squirt this slippery stuff along the running channels.

Raise and lower each window about 5 times.

Repeat this process one more time and voila! smooth, quiet window operation.

DO NOT USE WD40 it will wreck your rubber...

19th Aug 2001, 06:26

I had this problem too, and it cost me £150 to get put right at a Rover dealer. However, that is the only thing that has gone wrong on my 3 year old 2.0 SLi. We thought of changing it this year, but, frankly, couldn't find as nice a car without spending lots of dosh. It's a good looking, comfortable, acceptably powerful car that is hugely under-rated. The replacement 75 is gorgeous inside, but looks like old man transport from the outside. What a shame they didn't just refine the 600 interior.

1997 Rover - Austin 600 Ti 2.0 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Tracking pulls out easily, drivers side electric window almost stopped working.

General Comments:

Fast motor, but looks like standard 1.8. Very reliable, but lucky to return 25mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

13th Dec 2000, 14:09

I also have a 600Ti, tracking has also proved to be awkward.

However, I think the fact that the 600 Ti looks like the 618 is a great advantage... it's more likely to still be there when you've parked it somewhere dodgy...

Performance is good, economy is acceptable, it's nearly 1.5 tonnes with 200 hp, what else would you expect.

I'm more than happy with mine. It's a pity Rover ceased manufacture when the 75 was launched, there were many marketable years left in the 600.

26th May 2001, 08:56

I have just bought a 620 ti. I have always had peugeot performance cars. But I am very very happy with the rover it does everything I want. and has the comfort to match. The mpg is very good for a car of its size and power.

The only worry I have is that mine is red and will the color fade as does on most other cars???

I am so pleased with the car that I have to build a garage now to keep it safe.

1997 Rover - Austin 600 Si 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Not as bad as I expected it to be - cruises well at 80-90 mph and I get about 35 mpg on average. Not much room in the back for adults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 1997