1990 Rover - Austin 800 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1990 Rover - Austin 800 Si 2.7 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin SD1 2600

Summary:

High performance is not even close

Faults:

After owning my beloved Sarah (my name for my car), her paintwork is starting to fade a bit.

General Comments:

Best big car out there, too fast for XR3/4 and RS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2001

13th May 2001, 16:30

Are you sure you are driving an 827?

26th Sep 2001, 09:41

The Si spec 827 will easily flatten an XR3i, RS Turbo and XR4i, been there, done that and obtained the T shirt. They are big heavy cars, but for some reason, they go like the wind!! Expect a 0-60 of 7 seconds from a Mk1 Si Saloon :-)

1st Nov 2001, 07:03

Being realistic, I don't think an 827 would have any chance against an xr4i. And an xr4x4 would leave it for dead especially on the twisty bits.

1990 Rover - Austin 800 827 Sterling 2.7 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

An expensive mistake

Faults:

Electric windows not closing.

Radiator cracked.

Air conditioning bust.

On board computer fault - £300.

All this in the first 8 weeks of ownership.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car with lots of gadgets, but very expensive to repair and always something going wrong!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th February, 2001

12th Feb 2001, 12:40

Your car is 11 years old, you are expecting too much. Most air conditioning systems cause problems within 3 to 4 years and cost a fortune to fix. If your radiator was the original then 11 years is good.

Your windows and computer problem are a bit poor though.

12th Apr 2001, 01:36

These cars have their share of electrical problems, but non functioning windows will never leave you stranded on the hard shoulder! Nor will they stop the car starting.

There are plenty of these in the scrap yard, most with silly minor faults so cheap parts are abound. I believe these cars stand the test of time far better than Fords, Vauxhalls and many other manufacturers. I have 2 at the moment!

21st Apr 2001, 11:21

Electric Window fix.

The electric window motor is about £20 from a scrap yard. However the problem with mine was the connector under the bonnet near the door. I simply disconnected and sprayed with WD40 and now they work fine.

1990 Rover - Austin 800 820i Fastback 2.0 16v twin cam from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v twin cam Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

An overall fantastic package which has a very unfair bad reputation

Faults:

Oil sensor at 121,000.

Clock reads funny digits 121,000.

General Comments:

Very big and very quick for its size.

Auto box very smooth.

An absolute joy to own and drive.

Does 415 mile motorway drives with no problems. Smooth and quiet. 8 speaker stereo with CD player and the arm rests are very comfortable.

Quite keen on fuel unless on the motorway. From 18mpg to 32 on long runs.

Loves munching through front brake pads. 1,800 miles on the last set!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2001

5th Feb 2001, 10:33

Don't tell too many people about these desperately underrated cars, otherwise prices will begin to rise!

Go for a new shape 1991 onwards model next (the ones with the chrome grille) - they are even better value.

19th Feb 2001, 16:48

SSSHHHHHH!!!!!!!

I second that comment.

Got a 1992 820 Si last year -£1000 mint which is now my wife's car

Just got a 97P genuine car from a forecourt for £3750!!!

Don't tell anyone, but they're excellent cars and I have owned three, only selling them to pay bills, regretfully.

9th Jul 2002, 12:08

I own a g reg 820i and it is brilliant super fast. had it for 4 years and has not broken down yet (touch wood)

I wish more people would see what a good car it is.

9th Apr 2004, 16:15

I have had an 820SLi auto 1994 5 door for nearly seven years now. The only major problem was a costly oil leak that involved a new head being fitted. Now done 142k+ and apart from some interior panel fit problems the car has been a joy. Normal servicing costs, pretty good fuel consumption (34mpg doing 95mph with air con on full coming back from France fully loaded ain't bad) and 20+ around town. Comfort and space, a huge boot (great for 10 pin bowling gear) and pretty good performance. Why do these cars have such a bad reputation - overall they are terrific. Jeremy Clarkson may not like them, but I'm currently looking for a 1999 low mileage one that will then last me years. BARGAIN TOO.

14th Jun 2004, 03:43

I used to have a 1990 'h' reg 820i fastback. It was probably the best car I have ever owned. It 60,000 on the clock when I bought it and had well over 250,000 when I part exchanged it for another 800. I used it for towing the caravan and pulled it with ease. The only problem I had with it was that an exhaust valve chipped at 180,000. No damage done, 8 new exhaust valves fitted, new head gasket and it want on to do the mileage as above. I like then so much I am now on my third, a 1997 825si auto. I don't like it as much as my 'H' reg tho'.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 12 reviews