Rover - Austin Allegro Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1977 Rover - Austin Allegro Super 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

You'll have the last laugh

Faults:

When I first got the car it had been stood for a while so the brakes creaked badly, but to my surprise I found a whole new set of disks and pads were remarkably cheap. Apart from that nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

I really didn't like Allegros much before having this one, but when I needed cheap transport a freind who owned one talked me into buying one. I found one locally for just £225 taxed and MOT'd - BARGAIN!. The first thing I noticed was the suspension and ride, it was great, I have a friend with an old Citroen GS (known for their high quality ride) and it was just as good.

Also compared to competitors of its time it is very well equipped with disk brakes, heated rear window, locking seat belts and comfy seats.

Anyone buying an Allegro will have cheap happy motoring, and will probably have the last laugh on the people making jokes especially when their Mondeos are on the scrap heap in a couple of years and your Allegro will still be sailing on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2000

31st Dec 2000, 11:40

As good as a GS, don't make me laugh, ever driven a GS, DS, CX etc at high speed on a very bad road????

Nothing can match that, not at their time and not even at the present time!!!!

I own them and have driven many new cars, many have a good ride, but when the speed increases you feel the difference.

1974 Rover - Austin Allegro 1100 Deluxe 2-door 1.1 A-Series from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 A-Series Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles

Summary:

A great, characterful seventies charmer which also drives very well

Faults:

Nothing really, it has a full service history so problems aren't expected.

I had to replace a shattered steering cowl though costing me £4.80 from the ACI.

Needed to replace the left hand sidelamp bulb.

General Comments:

The Allegro is a great car, so much character and some head turner on today's roads.

My Allegro's a Mk1 with the original square (quartic) steering wheel. They're quite nippy at low speeds and smoooth, gear change is good although getting into reverse can be problematic as it often goes into 4th gear.

It's fully serviced since 1975 when brand new, bodywork is very good for the year, (colour is Bracken, orange) with Sorrel interior.

They're fine cars and drive well, why people laugh at them is questionable. I bought mine for £150, the best use of my money ever!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2000

1980 Rover - Austin Allegro HL 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles

Summary:

Cheap, characterful and not as bad as everyone thinks!

Faults:

Faulty alternator and, er, that's it really.

General Comments:

I read the other chap's comments and have to say that 36,000 miles of student transport, without a service at all in that time, is bloody good going for any car. When it's one of the most reviled and ridiculed cars on the road it really opens your eyes. Especially seeing as it only cost me 65 quid. It was a very sad day indeed when terminal rust took it to the crusher, but the engine was still running perfectly. I'd have another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2000

1975 Rover - Austin Allegro 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles

Summary:

200ukp for 20,000 miles and five years of more or less trouble-free motoring

Faults:

- Leaky petrol tank (a new one cost £30).

- Clutch slave cylinder burst (£25 for a replacement).

- Some minor electrical faults (nothing serious: bad earths and the like).

- Rubber engine mount started to shear through (about a fiver to replace, although a bit fiddly to fit).

- Rear suspension mount also sheared (again, cheap enough, but fiddly).

General Comments:

I still can't believe what a bargain this car was. It isn't exactly fast (except for low-speed acceleration - you can out drag a 318i up to 30mph), and the body roll is quite magnificent, but it does so little wrong that I'd be a fool to complain at getting this much car for £200. It is also unexpectedly nice to drive. The steering is very light and responsive, the brakes are excellent and nicely progressive, and the ride is very smooth. The gearchange is less smooth (getting third is like riding a bike - impossible at first, but you never forget once you've learned how). It's also worth mentioning that the Allegro 1.1 and 1.3 both sport the Austin A-series engine, which is one of the nicest, smoothest engines ever made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st May, 2000

31st Jan 2001, 16:48

Every point very true, looks like the Allegro is heading to be best car in the world. BL's A-series engines and E-series are very good indeed.

2nd Nov 2002, 16:05

Its all true, especially the bit about third gear!

22nd Oct 2003, 15:30

I had a very good MK2 1300 which I remember with with fondness, (1983 to 1998).

Boot surprisingly spacious, economical, easy to maintain - good old A series.Rolled, but good over bumpy roads.

Did many miles up M1 and M6 to inlaws in Lancashire which it coped with admirably. B roads where also travelled with ease and no fuss.

Only real problem was rear outer radius arm mounts when the rubbers went it meant depressurising the suspension to replace them. You could drive it (slowly) though in such a state, I got back from the Isle of Wight (about 120 miles) with two children and all the holiday bits.

Very little rust compared to cars owned before or since.

6th Oct 2005, 14:56

Yes, I agree with your comments about the speed of the Allegro. We had, from new, a purple 1500. I can remember travelling back from Suffolk to Birmingham in 1975 at 90-95 all the way and keeping up with a Rover 3500. There were four of us in the car. We also reached over 100 on our way up to Coldingham the following year, that was with 5 of us on board - all adults.

The old man always had a eye for a bargain. He suggested to the salesman that perhaps he might take an unpopular colour for a discount. That's how we ended up with the purple allegro - the salesman gave him £50 off, which back in '74 was a lot. The colour actually looked very smart.

We kept it for 4 years and then traded it on for the Renault 12, I don't know why, perhaps because it was 4 years old and my parents fancied a change.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 12 reviews