1991 Rover - Austin Mini Reviews

1991 Rover - Austin Mini Cooper 1.3 (1.3) Carb from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 (1.3) Carb Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

The most fun you can have with your trousers on. And probably more fun than with none on..

Faults:

Front indicators stopped working.

Rear brake lights stopped working.

Bonnet catch stopped catching.

Passenger door lock jammed.

Front end rotted through despite regular maintenance.

Gearbox starting to crunch on 1st to 2nd changes.

General Comments:

So far the engine has been 100% reliable, but is beginning to run on. Has always started first time.

Not the fastest machine in the world, but has pleasant usable acceleration and handles like nothing on this earth.

Seriously good looking, fun packed car with a very friendly community to back it up.

Parts cheap and plentiful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th March, 2005

1991 Rover - Austin Mini Cooper 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance77100 miles

Summary:

Pocket Rocket of the 20th century!

Faults:

Nothing so far, just need to check oil, coolants, brakes etc regularly.

General Comments:

The Mini Cooper is a fantastic little car all round, easy to see why it was voted car of the century.

Although pretty basic in design and mechanics, it just handles amazingly, and darts around town.

A couple of things I've noticed in my brief ownership of the Cooper is that you can become somewhat invisible to other road users. In that, they don't see you till the last minute, or simply assume that 'it's a mini, it must be slow, so i'll tailgate it'.

Buy one it you want a great bit of fun driving, but beware of judgemental other road users in their ubiquitous 'euroboxes'!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2004

17th Aug 2004, 09:36

How can you say this car is excellent with no problems and according to your information, you bought it at 77,000 and it currently has 77,100. That means you only drove it 100 miles???

1991 Rover - Austin Mini Cooper 1.3 (carb) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 (carb) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles

Summary:

Cool, compact and capable

Faults:

A new starter motor and gear box have been the most serious problems, but were to be expected given the car's mileage.

I've also had minor problems with locks and lights and the usual rusting.

General Comments:

This car is great fun to drive. It handles well and is fairly nippy.

The ride is a bit bouncy though, and it is fairly noisy on the motorway.

I find the cabin surprisingly roomy and with a lowered steering wheel fairly comfy.

I'd definitely have another mini, but I'd prefer a newer one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2002

1991 Rover - Austin Mini 1275 1.3 Stage 2 MG Metro from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Stage 2 MG Metro Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance68800 miles
Previous car- -

Summary:

Original and best (with a few mods)

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Bought in 1991 as a 1000cc City - very low miles up to 1997..

2001 fitted a 1275 MG Metro A+ c/w RC 40 exhaust, slightly modified cylinder head, SU HIF44 carb, polished MG inlet manifold etc... produces around 80-90 bhp..

With a 3.44 to 1 diff (instead of 3.10 to 1) it will cruise at around 70 in 4th...acceleration from 70-90 is superb - easily beats a Mk II Golf GTi or Pug 1.6 GTi - tops out at around 115 or so. Good deep exhaust noise, rorty induction.. spins wheels in second quite happily..

Gas filled adjustable Spax's all round mean a very active, but never harsh ride - not comfortable, but will out corner most things on smooth, dry tarmac. Doesn't like the bumps too much though. 175/50/13 Dunlop SP3000's hang on well, but don't last long - maybe 6000 miles if driven gently..

The car has never seen a dealer in it's life - Mini's aren't the most difficult things to service - but it has been meticulously maintained with regular oil and spark changes every 6000 miles, regular lubrication etc.. and has had the head "decoked" at around 50000 miles.

Has been fantastically reliable - never let me down once - always started on the button.

In short, a fantastically fun little car, faster than you may think (with a few mods) and makes me smile every time I drive it. Especially when I am going around the outside of an Audi S3 on roundabouts... (he was trying too)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd April, 2002

1991 Rover - Austin Mini Neon 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles

Summary:

A modern classic with a huge following

Faults:

Alternator is very susceptible to the weather, having had at least two in the four years I have had the car.

Rust is a perennial problem with all Minis, but mine is kept garaged and this seems to help a lot.

General Comments:

Minis handle better than just about any small car, although they can be a bit slow in a straight line, round corners they stick to (dry) roads like superglue.

Minis are a modern classic, and over the years every possible modification has been designed, spares are cheap and plentiful, and every Mini is unique.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2001

1991 Rover - Austin Mini Mayfair 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles

Summary:

BIG smiles, small bills!!

Faults:

A fair amount of stuff has gone wrong, but nothing major, and it has never left me stranded.

Electrics are a bit fragile, gearboxes wear with a lot of town driving, engines are unbreakable. Bodywork rusts..... badly!

General Comments:

Despite the above the car is fantastic. It is great fun to drive, in a straight line it will never scare any Ferrari drivers(!), but down a twisty back road it's one of the quickest cars I have ever driven.

They are very cheap to run and get parts for. Great friendship between owners. Very easy and cheap to modify. Not really a motorway car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2000

19th Feb 2001, 04:51

I'm also a Mayfair owner on the same year and engine size to yourself. Your review was great and it helps show that Mini's are great cars. Mine has been very reliable for me, maybe it's because it's low mileage (40,000). But there will never be a better car that small for me.

Thanks, Brett

1991 Rover - Austin Mini Cooper S 1.3i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.3i petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10

Faults:

The electrical side of this car is crap and there is always a problem with the alarm, headlights, stereo etc.

Apart from that it is a quite sound car and the engine copes reasonably well while it's being ragged.

General Comments:

This car is great fun and I have a lot of pleasure driving it.

A K&N air filter, pipe across oil filter and a stainless steel whole system exhust have been fitted to increase the power output. It is now up to 85 bhp (in a car that size believe me it shifts).

It blows away XR2's, Nova's etc

Top end is 115 mph and 0-60 is about 9 sec.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 1999

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 7 reviews