2000 SAAB 9-3 Reviews - Page 12 of 12

2000 SAAB 9-3 Convertible 2.0 turbo from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carVolvo S80

Summary:

Fun to drive and attractive, reliability and service quite poor

Faults:

Serpentine belt broke at 47,000 miles.

Timing chain replaced at 47,000 miles.

Turbo replaced at 56,000 miles.

DI electronics replaced at 57,000 miles.

Balance chain replaced at 58,000 miles.

Water pump replaced with the balance chain.

Head gasket replaced with the balance chain.

General Comments:

This vehicle is fun to drive, attractive, good fuel mileage.

The build quality was quite poor, given the number of repairs. Dealer service was quite poor as to timeliness, communications, and responsiveness. The actual technician doing the work appeared to be pretty good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th November, 2004

2000 SAAB 9-3 SE 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Convertible

Summary:

A head-turning rag-top with great get up and go

Faults:

I have had no problems at all with this car. No trips to the shop except for scheduled maintenance, which is included in the price of the car.

General Comments:

This car drives extremely well, and out accelerates 90 per cent of the cars on the road. It handles large turns and curves and lane changes easily at 100 MPH, believe it or not!

When the top is down (and it always is), everybody gives this car a second look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2004

5th Sep 2006, 06:05

You must've thought you died & went to Heaven going from a Chrysler Sebring to a Saab 9-3 Convertible.

The 9-3 with the 2.0 Liter Turbo is very fast, but I'm not sure it is faster "than 90%" of all cars. It certainly is fast enough!

I absolutely love mine!

10th Sep 2006, 16:53

Well it's far from the fastet car, but it has tourque like few cars in it's class. But if you tune it, which doesn't cost much here in Sweden, with a chip you will have a lovely car.

10th Sep 2006, 22:14

I agree that it's a lovely car.

In fact, I can't think of any other car I'd rather own than my '03 9-3 Convertible. I considered other premium convertibles, but absolutely decided on the 9-3 when I drove it.

I love the styling, the handling, the power, the level of comfort, the interior design & quality of materials.

I think the the Saab 9-3 is a very under-rated automobile.

2000 SAAB 9-3 Viggen Convertible 2.3L HOT from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3L HOT Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired39 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

This is the most fun, high performance car I have ever had

Faults:

So far, nothing has gone wrong.

It rides like a dream, after getting used to the strong torque steer in second gear when coming off the line.

General Comments:

It's a great car. It has turned many heads, especially when the top is down.

I test drove the Volvo C70 Convertible before choosing the Saab. Definitely I think I made the right choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2000

7th Aug 2001, 22:29

I wasn't aware they made Viggens in automatic in 2000. I thought they were only 5-spds.???

18th Dec 2001, 11:31

Ignoring the other somewhat pedantic comment, I will happily say you have made the right choice!!

By the way I am deeply jealous! :)

I own a "mere" 9000 2.3t.

16th Jan 2004, 05:29

I was working as a test driver when the Viggen 9-3 came out and I have driven them a lot, convertibles, saloons, also the Aero 9-3. I had a great time driving these cars and I loved the torque steer when pulling away quickly, I bet it caught a few new owners out!

One of my best memories was driving round the test track at 150mph plus as the sun came up with the roof down and the stereo (& heating!) on full (England in summer) and by the time I finished the test I was shivering (but smiling). We weren't officially supposed to go above 125 mph in a convertable, but I couldn't resist. Also we weren't supposed to go above 130mph in a Bentley as Goodyear wouldn't guarantee the tyres above that speed (probably due to weight of vehicle), but I can assure you that when I decided to back off at 160 mph there was still some left!

19th Sep 2004, 08:45

All in favor of the Viggen say I. I bought a 2002 Viggen convertible and I love it. I will keep it until the day I die and I might just want it buried with me. All of the comments are true and I am now intrigued that this car can do 160. I have had it up to 130 and then chickened out. I as still accelerating at the same rate so I can believe 160. My only complaint is the rattle from the top when it is up. The dealer said they tightened something, but did not fix it.

As far a SAAB drivers go. Torque steer is something that you get used to. I think of it as trying to tame a wild stallion.

How can you get the upgrades in the US? My only question.

12th Nov 2005, 01:07

Well when you have so much power to the front wheels, it's a hard balance to obtain... my dad bought a Viggen that I picked out, and he has no regrets, other than he won't drive it in the winter... once I'm graduated from my business program, my first 30G I make is going for a Viggen, or a M3... we'll see =)

21st May 2006, 17:04

Had my 2000 Viggen from 2001-2004. How I miss it! I sold it when I bought a house, needed more $$. : (

Awesome, awesome car, drove it on a 4 week cross country road trip with my a Rottweiler along for the ride. Seriously fast and fun car, and so sexy.

Awful on bad snowy roads, I never got the winter wheel & tire package and mostly parked it in winter.

I'm jealous of y'all who still have yours!

2000 SAAB 9-3 SE Turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired37 kilometres
Most recent distance3500 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Liberty

Summary:

Fun in the sun

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A wonderful car built just for the fun of driving it. It handles very well, has lots of power and looks great.

The kids don't like it though as the rear seat has a limited view when the top is down and it's too windy when the top is down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2000

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 30 reviews