2001 SAAB 9-3 Reviews - Page 5 of 7

2001 SAAB 9-3 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

A piece of junk

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 50,000.

Need new water pump.

Start-up very bad, clouds of black smoke.

General Comments:

A piece of junk.

High repair bills.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th August, 2007

2001 SAAB 9-3 9-3s 2.0t from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0t Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

Good buy, fun to drive

Faults:

At 62,000, I spun an engine bearing, and snapped a piston connecting rod; if the car was not under warranty it would have been totaled. Saab had my 9-3 for over a month and had to install a new engine. Retail would have cost $8200 for repair, but it was only $82 for the oil change and transmission fluid :P

At 70,000 the fuel pump busted, and had to replace struts, cost $1800.

General Comments:

This car is pretty quick, but can be mean and very aggressive sounding after dropping in a conical cold air intake. 0-60 time is right around 7 seconds, and in first gear at 25mph and flooring it until 45 goes by in less than 2 seconds feels amazing.

2nd gear 47-65 is very fast, great power for overtaking.

70-90 is a bit slower, but still pulls in 3rd gear.

Final gear: 4th (in an auto box) is a bit slower; the car gently speeds up from 100-135 in about 12 seconds of full throttle.

This car is quick for a 2.0L.

The best upgrade for this car is a genuine Saab rear sway bar. It allows the car to handle 4x better and hug turns a lot better... makes the car feel like a wooden roller coaster.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st July, 2007

2001 SAAB 9-3 SE convertible 2.0 turbo from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance91500 miles
Previous carGeo Tracker

Summary:

Fun, but extremely expensive to maintain

Faults:

Blown motor at 91,000

AC compressor went at 86,000

Fuel Pump had severe leak at 51,000

Bad DICE computer at 42,000.

General Comments:

Car is a hoot to drive, fast, goes like stink and sticks to the road like glue. Cabin is tight, but well done. Engine and systems reliability is terrible for a car at this price point or any for that matter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2007

2001 SAAB 9-3 5 Dr hatch 1.9 turbo from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Car has been great... we'll find out now about the manufacturer and dealer

Faults:

Just seized the engine with a low oil pressure problem. My facts sound a lot the same as the others I have read here. The dealer offered that it could be a sludge problem and that, if that was the case, SAAB would stand buy it and replace it. I have serviced the car faithfully and have the paperwork.

After getting it towed in, they looked at it and claimed it was a failed seal at the crank shaft... the car sat in my driveway for a day after it broke down and there isn't one drop of oil in my driveway. They have quoted $5500 for a used engine, $7000 for a short block new engine.

General Comments:

This car was seriously quick and handled like it was on rails...lol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th March, 2006

2001 SAAB 9-3 Viggen 2.3 HO turbo from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.3 HO turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

In one word, sublime

Faults:

Nothing yet. I've only had the car less than two months. I've had it aligned, but honestly, it could have just been my unfamiliarity with torque-steer, a trait this car has in abundance.

General Comments:

I've had 4 other Saabs (900's), two turbo convertibles. This Viggen is by far the most satisfying in every way.

I tell my friends it seems as though I've been driveing a Honda Civic all these years!

The Viggen is aggressive, fast, spry, fun and very, very sexy (triple black).

When I'm not driving it I'm staring at it in garage over a glass of vino blanco.

I've been a SAAB guy for years and somehow only now do I feel a true part of the SAAB family.

Admiteddly, the torque-steer is something to get used to, dangerous even, but everything else else about this Viggen is habit forming.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2005

13th Dec 2005, 19:01

I purchased a Viggen myself two months ago. Best money I've ever spent. It's a Lightning Blue 99 model. Funny, I rarely experience any torque steer with mine, even with the foot planted. I was going to buy the Viggen Rescue Kit, but even they mechanic selling it drove the car and sait it would be a waste of time and money with the way the car rides now.

If I want to tune it to go a little harder, that might be a different story altogether though.

Superb Car.

13th Dec 2005, 22:50

"When I'm not driving it I'm staring at it in garage over a glass of vino blanco."

I do the same with my 97 Escort... except I drink Baby Duck.

23rd Mar 2007, 16:14

I have a 2001 Viggen, it has 90,000 miles on it, only have had scheduled service other than clutch out a about 50,000 miles, and the front bearing at about 85,000 miles. I had a 1999 9-3 convertible before and never had any problems with it. The Viggen is a far better car for power and overall driving. I have noticed the torque in the steering, but just takes getting used to.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 22 reviews