2002 SAAB 9-3 Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2002 SAAB 9-3 SE 2.0 turbo from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

This was my second and last Saab

Faults:

I suggest you read Saab 9-5 customer service complaints on this site before purchasing a Saab. My daughter bought my Saab 9-3 off my lease. Shortly after, we received an oil sludge letter extending engine warranty. The sludge letter is posted on the Internet. We increased the oil change frequency accordingly and when the engine developed a whine, we took it to the Saab dealer. He said he heard no noise and told us to continue driving it. 400 miles later at 65,000 miles the engine failed. Saab charged me $744 to tear down the engine to see if it was an engine sludge problem. The dealer said there was sludge in the oil, but would not put that in writing and according to the dealer, the regional rep said the failure was a piston failure (maybe due to no lubrication??) and it not covered by the engine sludge warranty. They have not responded too many calls to put the reason for the warranty denial in writing and there is no way to talk to the regional rep. The Saab 800 service line is manned by screeners who are forbidden to put your calls through (per the screener I talked to)

General Comments:

Saab does not stand behind their warranties and their customer service is non-existent.

It is a seriously fun and practical car, but not worth buying another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th October, 2006

4th Oct 2006, 06:33

An off-lease car with only 5 miles on it? Was it a one day lease? Please explain???

25th Oct 2006, 10:21

I too recommend NOT to buy a Saab 9-3, especially in the 1999-2002 range. I have a 2000 9-3 and a diagnosed oil sludge problem at 87,000, I was charged $600 to dismantle to confirm the diagnosis. I have all records to show my oil changes and signed affidavits for those they disputed and they still denied the oil sludge claim and their warranty. I'm out the money I owe on the car and the money it would take to fix it.

2002 SAAB 9-3 4 DR SE 2.0 turbo from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carSAAB 9000

Summary:

Like the company says, "A state of Independence"

Faults:

My Brakes went bad around 30,000 miles because I'm just hard on my brakes. Replaced them with ceramic brakes and they are better than ever. There is no brake dust and they are suppose to last longer than the average brakes.

Connection to Starter motor came loose and caused car to suddenly not start one day, minor tighten of screw however at the dealership for $40.

General Comments:

The car is really reliable and I love it! It's a great looking car inside and out and if you're a SAAB enthusiast or not, it'll catch your attention as being different. All SAAB owners love there car for just being safe and different from the other cars on the block. I've had little problems with my car and they were minor or wear and tear problems. If your in the market for a new or used car, definitely stop by your local Saab Dealer, you won't be let down!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2006

18th Sep 2006, 22:02

You told it like it is. The Saab 9-3 is a fantastic car!

2002 SAAB 9-3 SE hatchback from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles

Summary:

What a pile of GM junk

Faults:

This has been the worst car we have ever owned. I would NOT recommend anyone to buy a Saab unless they want to spend all their free time at the Saab dealership. This is our second and last Saab we have nothing, but problems with it.

2002 Saab 9-3 SE. Car has always been maintained 100% at the Saab dealership.

1. 40,000 Turbo charger stablizer valve needed changing.

2. 43,000 Turbo charger stablizer valve needed changing again.

3. Fuel sensor needed changing shortly afterwards.

3. 48,000 automatic Transmission needed changing.

4. The engine light is back on again and car left us stranded.

5. Starting problems spark plugs and leads needed changing two times within 150 miles.

It has been back to the dealership 5 times in 4 weeks.

General Comments:

This car has been very unreliable I wouldn't recommend it at all. It's obvious to me that GM hasn't invested anything into the brand to make it reliable. All types of electric problems. This car can only do a maximum of 50 miles before something goes wrong with it. Get a Japanese car instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th June, 2006

21st Jun 2006, 16:19

We bought a second hand Saab 9-3 with 48,000 miles on the clock an SE hatchback which has had similar problems. It had a full Saab service history and was one to two months out of warranty. The turbo stabilizer value needed changing and so did the transmission mounts on the gear box. The fuel sensor also needed changing as a result so did the spark plugs.

Although the reliability hasn't been perfect (hopefully it is now) I was very impressed with SAAB USA picking the bill up even though the car was out of warranty, I doubt any other car company would have done the same.

6th Aug 2011, 11:19

Oh please. Saab will no cover these bills.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 14 reviews