2002 SAAB 9-5 Reviews - Page 7 of 8

2002 SAAB 9-5 Arc Estate 2.2 diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carToyota Avensis

Summary:

A very good buy (if you can tolerate one or two initial let-downs.)

Faults:

Engine Hose disconnected at 400 miles (car had to be towed)

Clutch partially failed at 20000 miles (car still drivable - just)

Vanity mirror cover fell off at 25000 miles.

Tyres (even replacements) fail to hold pressure terribly well and need checking regularly.

SAAB radio/cassette/cd works very well, but quality of sound is barely adequate.

General Comments:

This is my 3rd SAAB now, and is generally very good.

Although the 'small' diesel, it is more than powerful enough in town and on motorway.

However, from a standing start, 1st gear runs out of legs and a shift to 2nd is required almost immediately. Quite irritating.

Otherwise very tractable and easy to get along with.

Handling is good (for a large estate) and the car will happily go round corners at a pace.

The car coped with a trip to France, with four adults, full boot and a loaded roof box with no trouble at all. Quite impressive, to be honest.

For a large car, fuel consumption is absurdly good at low speed (e.g. steady 40 or 50 mph) and constantly delivers 40mpg+, tank after tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2004

2002 SAAB 9-5 Linear 2.3T from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3T Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance9967 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Heaven comes standard

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This car unbelievable! The minute I sat in it I knew I had to have it. The seats are so comfortable!!! I have fallen asleep many a time waiting in parking lots. The handles like a dream. it is silent. I drive very long distances every week and it is a pleasure to drive. The car feels like it wants to be driven fast. During the third week of ownership I couldn't hold my right foot back anymore and I gunned it down a dark empty Highway. I hit 140 mph and it felt just like 90 mph except for the objects around you are zooming by at an alarming rate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2004

28th May 2004, 20:05

I'm curious as to the height/weight of the people that find this car so comfortable. I am 6'3" and love the car - agree with you that the car feels to want to be driven fast, but I lowered the seat as low as it would go and still found myself wishing for more headroom. I have only been out for test drives. Have yet to make a purchase decision.

2002 SAAB 9-5 Arc Estate 3.0TiD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0TiD Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Excellent performance, economy, comfort and good image

Faults:

Had a few minor niggles, but nothing serious.

The clock LCD readout worked intermittently

Brake servo had a slight whistle

Front indicators leaked water

All problems fixed without quibble by our local dealer.

General Comments:

3.0 TiD V6 is an excellent engine. Latest software upgrade has made it even better by improving low down response.

Fuel consumption averages over 42 mpg

Acceleration awesome through the gears, especially 3rd / 4th

Extremely comfortable leather seats standard on this model

Bought it as an ex-demonstrator with 11k miles on the clock to replace an unreliable Golf Estate. Needed a big estate to carry growing family. This is an excellent wagon for the purpose, especially as I do about 20k miles per year.

Minor niggles are the notchy gearbox and that the handling is not as good as a rear drive car.

Would not buy one new since 1st year depreciation is steep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2003

21st Apr 2005, 15:57

Update - now reached 46000 miles with very few problems. Minor niggles sorted by dealer without quibble. Fuel consumption 38 - 48 (yes really 48) mpg.

Comfort second to none. Awesome 3-4-5 gear acceleration.

8th May 2007, 14:14

I'm sorry, but I cannot believe that a Saab 9-5 turbo or not would get near 50 mpg. You must be kidding me, the average rating is about 18-20.

10th May 2007, 04:26

Four words for the poster above:

It_is_a_deisel.

12th Jul 2007, 07:18

Originator here:

Yes, IT WAS A DIESEL.

Over 65000 miles that I owned the car it averaged 43 mpg with a worst of 38 and a best of 52 achieved a couple of times.

Finally sold the car because I got generally dissatisfied with the creaks & groans from the old Vectra based suspension and because of worries about the longevity of the engine. Early 3.0tids (2002-4) have a known manufacturing fault that they occasionally drop a wet liner writing the engine off and that is £7,000 at dealer prices or £3,500 from an independent if you can find an engine. The car was worth £6,000.

It was a great long distance cruiser, but sadly let down by indifferent small parts and build quality (suspension bushes, dampers, rusting wheel nuts etc). I loved the car for the 3.5 years I owned it, but I now have a Honda.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 23 reviews