1998 SAAB 900 I 2.0L petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The best bargain I have ever bought!

Faults:

I have broken the heater direction switch!

The heater temperature switch was broken when I bought the car.

General Comments:

Having only bought this car as a really cheap stop gap for my wife, I have fell in love with it, as its so comfortable and a very quiet car on the motorway run.

The fuel consumption doesn't appear to be too bad and considering a similar aged Audi diesel is around 5 times the price of this, I won't be switching to diesel any time soon!

It has a quality feel and the sound system (10 stack CD) has some reel kick (Sony).

It handles fine and it can eat miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th May, 2007

1998 SAAB 900 SE 2.0 turbo from North America

Summary:

Dependable, good drive, watch for lemons

Faults:

Purge Valve Failure 111000m

Leather Seats Wearing when purchased.

LED Readout of information display losing pixels.

General Comments:

Driver's seating and cabin excellent layout and comfort.

Seats are very comfortable. Driving for 4-6 hours is comfortable.

Seating Position may be awkward for some American drivers. Upright.

Power is good, turbo lag and throttle response are drawbacks.

Body roll more is high and car tends to plow into turns under braking.

Acceleration is slow at low speeds. Great at highway speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2005

11th Dec 2009, 23:25

Is your Saab Information Display still not displaying all the pixels? I found a website by the name of www.saabusaparts.com that can rebuild your SID for $145.80. You just take it out of your car and send it to them. Hope this helps!!!

1998 SAAB 900 S 1.7 from North America

Summary:

Good car, lousy manufacturer support

Faults:

Engine noise after starting, a zip for a second.

General Comments:

Engine light on (6/2000) no default found, therefore nothing wrong.

First repair for above: no noise found.

Second repair: replaced battery.

Third repair: replaced starter.

Fourth repair: sludge in the engine, warranty void. Saab will not help with a solution for repair or replacement, and the dealer is not interested either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2001

25th Jun 2001, 15:25

Just curious you mention the engine size... the smallest engine Saab makes is a 2.0 litre. Also you mention sludge in the engine and the dealer will not help, I could be wrong but sludge usually refers to the oil not being changed. If it was not changed regularly, i.e. at least every 5,000km, then yes, your engine will knock and eventually seize. This is definitely not a manufacturer or dealer problem, and they are well within their right to refuse to help (if this is the case)... maybe there's more to this story, but the information given doesn't say much.

28th Oct 2006, 00:02

Engine sludge in the 2.0 Turbo of this vintage is quite common, even with the most rigorous maintenance schedule.

13th Jun 2014, 14:48

Actually the 2.0 turbo in the 900 SE did not have sludge issues; if I remember correctly, it was the 2.3 naturally aspirated engine in the 900 S (which the poster has, not a 1.7L) which did have some sludge issues.

Later engines in the 9-5 from 1999 - 2003 had terrible sludge issues. This was finally resolved in 2004 model year 9-5s.

1998 SAAB 900 iS Coupe 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A superb all rounder - highly recommended

Faults:

Some rubber gating or something with the suspension which caused leaking - this was pointed out when it had its first service... at 14,000 miles.. but I had no idea of this problem as the car drove perfectly well, the rubber thing was fixed under warranty.

And the other problem being driving on city roads it does guzzle petrol but on the motorway a treat.... This car has the best seats ever, I have driven a lot of cars on long journeys and this has performed the best.

General Comments:

Since I bought the car it has had two services, I was unable to get the car serviced at 6k as stated in handbook but had it done at 14k and at 30k. One point to note is that a dealer's full service will set you back £300 odd. I went to a Vauxhall Lex service centre and the same service cost exactly £89.00. The quality of that service was just as good if not better. Although they do state that certain things such as the self adjusting clutch if faulty etc I would have to go to a Main dealer.

But I do love my car it is very solid as I found out. A Ford Fiesta went into the back of me whilst waiting at a junction, my car had slight scratches, the Fiesta was a write off. I will be getting a 9-3 Coupe next.

At the moment I have a coupe, the handling is very good though it does go through tyres (front mainly) and being P6000's they're not cheap. Also the boot space is huge... unlike the convertible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2000

1998 SAAB 900 SE Conv 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Faults:

General squeaks and rattles from the roof.

General Comments:

An excellent open top car, which I consider to be the best looker on the market. Surprisingly quiet on the road. Economical averaging 32.1mpg on trip computer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 1999