7th May 2001, 20:55

I first got my '91 9000 four years ago and probably spent $7000 on its 120,000 mile life with me - one new 5 speed tranny, new Di motor mounts, complete custom exhaust (huge improvement), CVs yearly.

The car is possessed and moody, but it's seen hell and back and can still (after 200k miles) out run any Honda I've come across.

Don't buy highprice aftermarket crap from SAAB dealers - fabricate it yourself! - Nate

30th Apr 2004, 09:26

I too had a Saab 9000 which absorbed money like a sponge. I posted a review on this website to warn others that Saab's can be expensive to repair and they do breakdown, sometimes more often than people are prepared to accept!!. Sadly my honest review, in which all I did was state the facts must have upset somebody because my review has been removed. So beware Saab's breakdown and cost a lot to repair!!

30th Sep 2008, 21:35

Hi, I'm new to this site. I'm picking up a 1993 9000 SCE this week, and guess what?...the A.T. is out... but it's so cheap I have to do it.

I've always been impressed with the cars from afar, and maybe it's my half Swede genes wishing that I'd own one.

Next Saab? A turbo five speed. Any recommendations?

20th May 2009, 15:42

I purchased a 1993 Saab 9000 CSE and have had 1 major issue and a few minor issues.

First and foremost, the tensioner broke while I was stopped at a light, it cost me $380 to repair.

Then the fuses kept blowing for the front windows every time I turned on the headlights.

Now I hear a loud rattling sound when I step on the gas (maybe the timing chain?) as well when I'm driving the car, every time I hit even the slightest hole or bump, it makes a loud noise like something is loose. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what may be causing the rattling noise? The mechanic told me it's going to cost about 800 dollars to repair everything, but failed to tell me what the problem is.

15th Jul 2009, 08:37

I bought a 1994 saab 9000 and I drove it down the street, to my amazement the car caught on fire and exploded within minutes.

26th Sep 2009, 19:31

Hi, I have just bought a Saab 1993 CS, but I have just replaced the radiator and now there is a sign on the dash saying check fluid??? Anyone know??

Also I would like to know, is it worth keeping the car or cutting it loose while I'm still ahead??? It's a great car and goes well, but if it's going to cost me more and more, I'll just sell?? Please tell what would be best, thanks.


12th Nov 2009, 19:55

My Saab 9000 CSE turbo, which has had replacements and repairs galore, runs like no other and is my third Saab. Now, the headlights go off whenever, turning the switch on and off one headlight goes on, or parking lights, or all go on or none. The high beam lever may or may not work.. it is getting to the point of... do I keep it? Another headache...

13th Nov 2009, 08:37

I've owned a Saab 9-3 since July of 2006, and thus far it has been extremely reliable.