Saturn Aura Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2007 Saturn Aura XR 3.6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.6 Automatic
Distance when acquired204 miles
Most recent distance13505 miles
Previous carAudi A6

Summary:

Spend a little more money and get a reliable car

Faults:

Steering shaft had to be replaced

Air bag sensor had to be replaced

Gas Cap had to be replaced

Front Suspension Noise (clunks/rattles) unable to find cause after several attempts to fix

Refinish front rotors

Replace rear brake pads and rotors

Service Traction control sensor had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This is my first Saturn and I have had nothing but problem with the 2007 Aura XR. I also did a lot of reviewing before choosing the Aura and was looking at the Camry and the Altima. I chose the Aura because it had all of the features that I wanted and priced lower than the other cars that I was comparing. I guess it's true when they say you get what you pay for.

Aside from other problems listed above I too am having problems with noise (other than normal suspension noise) when going over bumps. Although this noise is occasional is has been persistent. The dealership has tried several times to fix the problem and even suggested that I pursue filing a Lemon Law claim; which I have.

Very disappointed in this car and will never buy another Saturn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th June, 2008

22nd Aug 2008, 12:27

Don't feel too bad that you spent less and got a problematic GM. I was just reading Altima reviews for the later years and they are plagued with major problems. One person had to replace the engine in their brand new Altima. Hey, at least you paid less than them.

2007 Saturn Aura XE 3.5 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired76 miles
Most recent distance280 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

Great so far; will post with more when needed

Faults:

We haven't had the car a week yet, so no time for anything to go wrong yet.

The only gripe we have so far is the factory window tint on the back window has bubbles in it already. We will be taking it in to have them take care of it. That will give use a chance to rate the service department. (Fixed no hassle)

We now have 3563 miles and have had it in four times for tire leaks. It's not the tire but the valvestem that leaks. The valvestem has the electronic tire pressure sensor built into it, so it's not a four dollar part, and it seems to have a hard time sealing the air in. They didn't get it fixed last time so we'll have to figure out our next step, taking my time so I don't go in and make an A$$ out of myself over this. Dealer got it taken care of and have not had problem for a long time.

7-06-08, 12,000 miles and change now on the clock and we still love the car. There have been no problems with it at all so far.

04-25-09, 25,000 miles and counting now. We are still very happy with the car and have had no more problems. The only gripe I would have with the car is how high the window opening is. I am 6'1" and the window opening is just an inch or two below the top of my shoulder, at that height it gets in the way when I reach out of it at drive throughs. It's not the most comfortable if you want to drive with an arm out the window either. Not a deal breaker on a car, but something to think about.

General Comments:

This car has lots of room for its size. I'm 6'2" and I can get in the front seat and adjust it to where I have all the room I need, then get out and get in the back seat,right behind where I was just sitting up front, and have plenty of room in back also.

MPG has averaged 23.9 so far for in town driving with a little highway mixed in.

Interior is nice and quite. Dash and door panels are covered in a rubbery plastic. It looks good to me for the money that we paid, but some might say it's cheap. But like I said it looks good for the money, and I think you could clean anything off of it without leaving a mark.

Ride and handling are great, but I drive a 68 Chevy PU daily, a 97 Jeep Grand Cherokee on some days, and we traded in a 02 Grand Caravan on this car, so my idea of great handling are to be weighed with that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2007

12th Dec 2007, 12:54

Congrats on the Aura. Before throwing good sense and practicality to the winds and buying a Mustang (a very sporty, but impractical car) I gave serious consideration to the Aura because I like its styling much better than its sister, the Pontiac G-6.

The 3.5 is a reliable and bullet-proof engine that normally delivers WAYYY better mileage than you report (yours should improve with more miles and a switch to a K&N high-flow air filter and full synthetic oil).

Our GM's have been 100% trouble-free, and my God son's old Saturn ran flawlessly for many years. I hope you enjoy your car and please do keep us updated on your beautiful new ride.

8th Jan 2008, 06:29

I am glad you like your car. I think you should be very careful how you treat your 3500 v6, it is based on GM's 3400 v6 that was put into the Grand Am. Many many people I know have complained about the head gaskets and I have had one problem personally. But with GM's 100k warranty on your 2007 you should be fine. I agree that it's a beautiful car, but I am a truck person. Good luck and enjoy.

2nd Feb 2008, 17:42

To the last commenter, the 3500 is supposedly a completely re-designed engine, (a version of the 3.4L, with the intake manifold flaws corrected.)

11th Mar 2008, 14:46

Hey there.

Thanks for your and the other comments made on the page. I am serious considering buying the Aura because of looks and the value in money it presents. I heard some really awful problems about another newer bigger Saturn... can't remember the name. but I am being cautious. Sadly, only 2 reviews so far on this car. Anyway, thanks again. I will check back again.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 8 reviews